User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 97
  2. Negative: 13 out of 97

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Tomodachi Life is a fun game. Overall, I enjoy the feel of it. Its happy, silly and fun! 10/10. Also, don't mind the social justice warriors. They tried too hard to hurt the game.
  2. Jun 7, 2014
    8
    Fun game and enjoying watching the everyday interactions of miis. But sad to say you will either love or hate this game. The game is fun, silly, funny but can also be shallow, weird, and bizarre at times, I cannot really recommend it to everyone.
  3. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    This game is probably going to get a lot of hate because of all the social warriors. The fact is, this is a great game. It's very funny and random, like an ultimate tamagotchi. It's also uncanny how easily this game puts a smile on your face! Tomodachi Life is both more and less than just a game, and I believe it's worth trying it out to see what could happen to your Mii's. There's notThis game is probably going to get a lot of hate because of all the social warriors. The fact is, this is a great game. It's very funny and random, like an ultimate tamagotchi. It's also uncanny how easily this game puts a smile on your face! Tomodachi Life is both more and less than just a game, and I believe it's worth trying it out to see what could happen to your Mii's. There's not much to hate in this game, unless you expected something completely different. Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2014
    9
    It's kind of hard to call it a game but, as an experience, Tomodachi Life is fantastic. Being able to watch your friends and family develop individual lifestyles independent from the real world is extremely entertaining. While you don't have a lot of input on their lives, the interaction doesn't seem all that limited and you're able to influence a lot of their decisions, mainly involvingIt's kind of hard to call it a game but, as an experience, Tomodachi Life is fantastic. Being able to watch your friends and family develop individual lifestyles independent from the real world is extremely entertaining. While you don't have a lot of input on their lives, the interaction doesn't seem all that limited and you're able to influence a lot of their decisions, mainly involving connections with other islanders. There is an overwhelming amount of content in this game; from mini games, to dreams the islanders can have, to the amount of different context that shows up from your islanders, it consistently feels fresh. There are many different places to visit on the island, each with their own events that take place at certain times of the day. The item catalog is quite impressive as well, and the trial-and-error process of finding out which food each islander likes and doesn't like is addicting and worthwhile. You can also trade items with friends in an attempt to collect everything that the game has to offer, and you get one special "export item" that you can distribute to other islands via StreetPass. The sense of humor is very wacky and the game never ceases to put a smile on my face. It's difficult to put into words, but this game just has that Nintendo charm to it; you know it when you see it. Everything from the humor to the art style just gives it a unique feel and creates an atmosphere that makes me feel like a kid. This is an excellent 3DS title and a quintessential Nintendo title, and I strongly encourage anyone who's looking for something hilariously offbeat to give this one a shot. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    Tomodachi Life is one my fav games by Nintendo i love the things and taking care of miis as well it may feel like a sims game but it different towards then that it more a "friendly game" of The Sims,
    i hope that we get more Tomodachi here in the future. the game was fun play and very relaxing game just to play
  6. Jun 7, 2014
    7
    Kind of feels like an extremely limited animal crossing. Can't control the characters, only suggest things to them. There is a real lack of things to do. Even so, it has a certain charm to it..
  7. Jun 9, 2014
    9
    Tomodachi Life is a great game. It may not appeal to every kind of gamer but if it clicks with you, it will be a fun experience. I think you're able to enjoy the game much more if you have a lot of real life friends or a lot of favorite famous people/characters to add. The game has made me laugh so many times and even when I've played more than 10 hours it I still want more, though I'mTomodachi Life is a great game. It may not appeal to every kind of gamer but if it clicks with you, it will be a fun experience. I think you're able to enjoy the game much more if you have a lot of real life friends or a lot of favorite famous people/characters to add. The game has made me laugh so many times and even when I've played more than 10 hours it I still want more, though I'm starting to feel it a bit repetitive. I'd recommend adding few characters first, specially if you want a special pairing/relationship, cause the more characters you have the hardest is for them to "find" each other. Then you should add tons for more random relationships. I'd recommend this game to everyone who isn't really into violent or action games. Expand
  8. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    This isn't a game I would see myself getting but I love the Sims and I NEEDED This. I love this game. I had so much fun while I played and I love how it gives you the feeling of a classic sims game. Its way better than My Sims. You are going to want to go back and replay a lot to see what else you can do with different Mii characters. I also loved how it was possible for your Mii's to haveThis isn't a game I would see myself getting but I love the Sims and I NEEDED This. I love this game. I had so much fun while I played and I love how it gives you the feeling of a classic sims game. Its way better than My Sims. You are going to want to go back and replay a lot to see what else you can do with different Mii characters. I also loved how it was possible for your Mii's to have feelings. I really liked how they took Tomodachi Life just like real life or the Sims. The only flaw is that after you unlock everything there isn't much to do. You also cannot control what your Mii's do. If you like the Sims, you will like this and it is a MUST BUY for the 3DS.

    Tomodachi Life gets a 9/10
    Expand
  9. Aug 9, 2014
    9
    Addicting, entertaining and well designed, Tomodachi Life is a fun way to integrate all the people you know into the game in a way that actually adds to the game play, and a great way to spend your time.
  10. Jun 9, 2014
    10
    Very fun game. If you can challenge yourself and let the game make experiences for you, you'll have a great time. It's a fishbowl game, you don't really do chores in the same way you would in Animal Crossing.
  11. Jun 10, 2014
    10
    This game is oozing charm and character. Some of the things your miis do are downright hilarious, and it's great fun adding characters from videogames, books, movies, etc and seeing how they interact
  12. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    I've been following this game for a while before it released so I thought it looked cool and put my pre-order in, at first I didn't know what to think of the game when I started playing it. But After a few hours of playing it it grew on me and I really love Tomodachi Life it's very fun and addicting, hours past in mere seconds I don't think I've ever had so much fun with a video gameI've been following this game for a while before it released so I thought it looked cool and put my pre-order in, at first I didn't know what to think of the game when I started playing it. But After a few hours of playing it it grew on me and I really love Tomodachi Life it's very fun and addicting, hours past in mere seconds I don't think I've ever had so much fun with a video game before but in the end that's all that matters in a video game the fun factor.

    The only CON for me was there were a couple of scenarios, characters, story elements that were weird and I didn't understand at all and the game makes no attempt to explain it, I won't spoil it buy the game to find out :P it's strange, amazing and weird. But it doesn't affect the overall game.

    Tomodachi Life is a lot of fun and addicting, I highly recommend it.
    Expand
  13. Jun 15, 2014
    8
    Überraschend gutes Spiel hatte es eigentlich aus der Laune heraus für meine freundin als kleine Überraschung gekauft da sie sims animal crossing etc schon gut fand
    Als ich die Packung geöffnet hab lagen 2 demo download codes mit dabei, ach testen kann ja nicht schaden
    Die demo fand ich schon so dermaßen sympathisch und voller charm das ich direkt nochmal zum laden bin und mir das game
    Überraschend gutes Spiel hatte es eigentlich aus der Laune heraus für meine freundin als kleine Überraschung gekauft da sie sims animal crossing etc schon gut fand
    Als ich die Packung geöffnet hab lagen 2 demo download codes mit dabei, ach testen kann ja nicht schaden
    Die demo fand ich schon so dermaßen sympathisch und voller charm das ich direkt nochmal zum laden bin und mir das game für mich selbst nochmal gekauft hab.
    Ich spiele es jetzt sozusagen mit meiner Freundin seit ca ner Woche und hab Mittlerweile wohl mehr stunden damit verbracht wie mit so manchem Mega Blockbuster aaa Titel

    Es gibt einfach so viele Momente wo absolut in der art einfach einmalig sind
    Und auch wenns kein spiel ist was man stundenlang aktiv zockt , nehm ich den ds alle halbe Stunde zur hand um zu sehen ob wer hunger hat oder ob ich meinen Schützlingen beim verkuppeln helfen kann

    Ich bin gespannt wie lange es mich noch motiviert allerdings hat mich das game absolut überrascht
    Da ich immer dachte das es mir zu schräg ist, wirkt auch absolut so
    Kann aber nur jedem raten mal die demo zu testen und sich ein paar Männchen zu erstellen ( bei mir zb freunde und verwandte oder bekannte)
    Ein herrlicher zeit vertreib den man mehrmals am tag zur hand nimmt
    Ich mags nicht mehr missen :)
    Expand
  14. Jul 3, 2014
    9
    This is a very good game showing Nintendo at it's very best. It has some love it or hate it humour (I get the wackiness of the various situations while my friend/classmate doesn't) so if you're on the former side of the fence you'll love the game but if you're on the latter, then good luck not wanting to break the game! But everybody will agree that it's one flaw is the repetitive natureThis is a very good game showing Nintendo at it's very best. It has some love it or hate it humour (I get the wackiness of the various situations while my friend/classmate doesn't) so if you're on the former side of the fence you'll love the game but if you're on the latter, then good luck not wanting to break the game! But everybody will agree that it's one flaw is the repetitive nature of the game and the lack of control over the Miis actions! Otherwise, a good game that multiple people will love! Expand
  15. Jul 16, 2014
    7
    Tomodachi Life is a very fun little game. I have played around 30 hours so far. It's really good to waste a few minutes here and there. There is enough content to keep you entertained for a few hours, but after that, it just gets a bit boring. The same stuff happens over and over again. There is not really much to do after the initial 'check all islander's problems, make people fall inTomodachi Life is a very fun little game. I have played around 30 hours so far. It's really good to waste a few minutes here and there. There is enough content to keep you entertained for a few hours, but after that, it just gets a bit boring. The same stuff happens over and over again. There is not really much to do after the initial 'check all islander's problems, make people fall in love, get married, have babies' sequence. It has got a bit dull for me. Expand
  16. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    I've been gaming for most of my life and this is easily my favorite game. Good gameplay, easy to enjoy, and filled with new surprises. Plus I've only played the demo!
  17. Aug 7, 2014
    0
    Is repetitive, all time you do it the same like this: speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak
  18. Aug 15, 2014
    6
    Tomodachi Life is a life sim. you can put your MII's in the game and give them food, cloths and songs they can preform. you might think to put your friends in the game but don't i made the mistake and now my one friend fell in love with someone he dosent know in real life. but after 10 days Tomodachi life gets really boring and that really holds this game back. Tomodachi Life gets a 6/10
  19. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    Tomodachi life is a (you gessed it) a life simulator where you look after mii's on your island you can get married go into space, eat food or even play on the wii u. If a married couple has a baby you can choose it's gender, look and name so overall it's my favourite 3DS game.
  20. Aug 29, 2014
    9
    For some reason I never get tired of this game. I have basically filled my entire apartment with family and friends. The endless stuff you can do is amazing. The best part has to be the songs.
  21. Oct 3, 2014
    8
    People have been saying that this is the Sims meets Animal Crossing. I wouldn't go that far, but I can certainly see the connection. It's a simulation of life and relationships with Japanese charm and quirkiness. You don't really have power over what your people do but you do influence them by giving them incentives and approve or disapprove their decisions. Though sometimes I got a bitPeople have been saying that this is the Sims meets Animal Crossing. I wouldn't go that far, but I can certainly see the connection. It's a simulation of life and relationships with Japanese charm and quirkiness. You don't really have power over what your people do but you do influence them by giving them incentives and approve or disapprove their decisions. Though sometimes I got a bit annoyed that a character of mine disliked a food they actually liked in real life or in fiction. And that's really the only thing wrong with this game is that they are too free willed. I can't freely set their likes and dislikes, it's all on chance. Also getting people to be friends or lovers takes a long time, mainly because again it happens on chance whether or someone will talk to the person you want and whether or not they like them. Not only that but you've also got no option to make a character gay or bi, so if you have a gay friend or you like a character that's gay, either you have to deal with them being straight by default or you can cheat and make a female looking guy character or vice versa.
    Other than that it's a game that really should be played in short bursts or every once in awhile, it's a quick game where you pass time by playing the little minigames, sorting out each of the islanders life problems, buy the new clothing items and food, see what else is happening on the island then check the next day and do the same thing (which is where the Animal Crossing parallel comes into play).

    Overall it's a game with a lot of potential if Nintendo change up the formula a bit and fix the frustrating things. It's the type of game where either you'll have fun or won't, and if you can ignore the control of little people being taken away from you and you don't mind playing in short bursts. (fingers crossed) If there is a sequel, hopefully it'll also get a Wii U release because this would be a great game for the Wii U also.
    Expand
  22. Sep 26, 2014
    6
    The game is funny because of how Miis of your friends, family, and celebrities interact. However, there is limited appeal because of its lack of features and variety, and because of how repetitive it can be. Not for players who want challenges or objectives in their games.
  23. Sep 27, 2014
    7
    It's fun i guess but you have very little control over what happens so if you wanted like one of your mii's to be friends with another you have no control and also the baby's are really amazingly annoying
  24. Oct 20, 2014
    6
    I must say it intrigued me for about 4 days. I made my town and added people but then I realised....Is that it?
    The concept of this game is good fun but not for a very long time because it simply gets boring.
    When I got it I was super happy and then I'm like I want more than going to a house looking at their cat ,buying groceries and waiting ages to level up to unlock more things. It
    I must say it intrigued me for about 4 days. I made my town and added people but then I realised....Is that it?
    The concept of this game is good fun but not for a very long time because it simply gets boring.
    When I got it I was super happy and then I'm like I want more than going to a house looking at their cat ,buying groceries and waiting ages to level up to unlock more things. It needs more attractions.
    Expand
  25. Oct 23, 2014
    8
    this game is super fun, its a bit like sims. i had really enjoyed it in the beginning, but after a hwile of playing it, i kinda got bored due to the repetitiveness that it was showing. i later sold the game, got bored. but the cool thing about the game is that you can have kids and you can dress up your residents to whatever you want, and also you can get whatever mii you want due to miithis game is super fun, its a bit like sims. i had really enjoyed it in the beginning, but after a hwile of playing it, i kinda got bored due to the repetitiveness that it was showing. i later sold the game, got bored. but the cool thing about the game is that you can have kids and you can dress up your residents to whatever you want, and also you can get whatever mii you want due to mii qr codes. its neat. Expand
  26. TSW
    Oct 29, 2014
    7
    People might say it's weird to have your girl friend marry Mario's creator. Some might say that having Armin and your mother marry it's demented and sick. well they can be quiet. Buy this game
  27. Nov 5, 2014
    7
    I would not call Tomodachi Life much of a video game. It's a time waster life sim, but it's really good at this. It's very funny at times and it's cool to jump on and update all the Miis living on your island; but when it's all said and done, there's no end or ultimate goal that you're trying to accomplish; you're merely playing with Miis and putting them in funny situations. TheI would not call Tomodachi Life much of a video game. It's a time waster life sim, but it's really good at this. It's very funny at times and it's cool to jump on and update all the Miis living on your island; but when it's all said and done, there's no end or ultimate goal that you're trying to accomplish; you're merely playing with Miis and putting them in funny situations. The street pass function is good, and I would say that this is better in this then other games. When two Miis have a baby, the baby grows into a child and can then travel to other people's islands via street pass. You also receive new clothing items via street pass. Expand
  28. Nov 10, 2014
    9
    I like this game i played about 5 days on it and i think its worth buying. If you think you're going to be interested in playing it buy it and if you think its not for you then i would suggest to take something else.
  29. Nov 29, 2014
    7
    Tomodachi Life is an engaging game that enables endless creativity. You can create anybody you like, and simply sit back and let the drama unfold! I enjoyed playing this game, and I intend on playing it for a whole lot longer.
  30. Nov 29, 2014
    7
    Tomodachi Life has the charm that I look in video games these days, but the charm breaks off half way.

    In Tomodachi Life, you first make the role as you, making your Mii and moving in the apartment building, and after that you can create any character to populate your island; being it a fictional character, friends, family, enemies, and more. Even though the game revolves around real
    Tomodachi Life has the charm that I look in video games these days, but the charm breaks off half way.

    In Tomodachi Life, you first make the role as you, making your Mii and moving in the apartment building, and after that you can create any character to populate your island; being it a fictional character, friends, family, enemies, and more.

    Even though the game revolves around real time, it doesn't feel like it, as for trips/honeymoons, the trips only last that day, so the novelty of being in real time shatters over small aspects of the game.

    The game is flawed at certain parts, but the charm shows, and I definitely recommend it to 3DS players.
    Expand
  31. Dec 10, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This used to be one of my favourite games of 2014. After I got it in July, I've been slowly drifting away from the game. But something keeps bringing me back. Whether it's the endless charm, endless character customization, endless clothing option, (about 500) or the events that occur over time. This game is almost endless. Sure, it's a bit repetitive, but if you give it a try, you might just love it to! But if you don't think you'll like it, you probably won't. Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Aug 21, 2014
    50
    Tomodachi Life tries to be fun, and it sorta is. The problem is that it only lasts for an hour or three, and then the magic’s gone forever.
  2. Aug 19, 2014
    60
    There is plenty to philosophize about regarding Tomodachi Life. It’s an alienating product of its own time: we’re dealing with a game where the player is forced, passive-aggressively, to take the role of voyeur. But as a game, Tomodachi Life is never really fun. Tomodachi Life is no more than a stiff repetition exercise that is intriguing, yet kind of boring.
  3. Stop reading and play: you'll have more fun if you don't know what's coming. [Aug 2014, p.68]