Tomodachi Life Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: What happens when friends, family, and celebrities become Mii™ characters and live together on an island? Tomodachi Life happens! Start by creating Mii characters and customizing everything about them. Have fun recreating your best friend, your favorite actor, mom and dad, co-workers...whoever! Then watch as they rap, rock, eat donuts, fall in love, break up, go shopping, play games, and live their crazy Mii lives. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. 90
    Endlessly charming and unusually engaging, Tomodachi Life is a fantastic diversion.
  2. Jun 20, 2014
    83
    This is the sort of game that open-minded players will love if they give it a chance.
  3. Jun 6, 2014
    80
    The latest of Nintendo's experiments to create games with appeal beyond the usual clichés of the medium, Tomodachi Life may actually be the most humanistic creation the company has ever put together. While it could (somewhat notoriously) stand to be more inclusive, its focus on the concrete personalities and tangible interactions of tiny digital people make it one of the most addictive and fascinating life sims ever made.
  4. Jun 6, 2014
    70
    Tomodachi Life is not what you can call a Nintendo masterpiece but it's a good alternative to Animal Crossing: New Leaf. The Mii's become endearing with time and classic scenes of life come alive in a very smart way. It's always getting funnier and offers some great moments, but we can't ignore the lacking elements that make Tomodachi only a challenger.
  5. Tomodachi Life might not have the lasting appeal of a title like Animal Crossing: New Leaf, but the game certainly offers up an interesting experience — one that will probably appeal for a longer period of time to a much younger audience.
  6. Jun 6, 2014
    66
    Playing Tomodachi Life is no different than life in its purest sense, but it makes one wonder: who’s playing you? Should we care?
  7. Jun 5, 2014
    50
    The abundance of surreal moments make for game that's fun to tell others about, but dull to play.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Tomodachi Life is a fun game. Overall, I enjoy the feel of it. Its happy, silly and fun! 10/10. Also, don't mind the social justice warriors. They tried too hard to hurt the game. Collapse
  2. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    Tomodachi Life is one my fav games by Nintendo i love the things and taking care of miis as well it may feel like a sims game but it different towards then that it more a "friendly game" of The Sims,
    i hope that we get more Tomodachi here in the future. the game was fun play and very relaxing game just to play
    Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    This game is probably going to get a lot of hate because of all the social warriors. The fact is, this is a great game. It's very funny and random, like an ultimate tamagotchi. It's also uncanny how easily this game puts a smile on your face! Tomodachi Life is both more and less than just a game, and I believe it's worth trying it out to see what could happen to your Mii's. There's not much to hate in this game, unless you expected something completely different. Expand
  4. Jul 3, 2014
    9
    This is a very good game showing Nintendo at it's very best. It has some love it or hate it humour (I get the wackiness of the various situations while my friend/classmate doesn't) so if you're on the former side of the fence you'll love the game but if you're on the latter, then good luck not wanting to break the game! But everybody will agree that it's one flaw is the repetitive nature of the game and the lack of control over the Miis actions! Otherwise, a good game that multiple people will love! Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    This isn't a game I would see myself getting but I love the Sims and I NEEDED This. I love this game. I had so much fun while I played and I love how it gives you the feeling of a classic sims game. Its way better than My Sims. You are going to want to go back and replay a lot to see what else you can do with different Mii characters. I also loved how it was possible for your Mii's to have feelings. I really liked how they took Tomodachi Life just like real life or the Sims. The only flaw is that after you unlock everything there isn't much to do. You also cannot control what your Mii's do. If you like the Sims, you will like this and it is a MUST BUY for the 3DS.

    Tomodachi Life gets a 9/10
    Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2014
    9
    Tomodachi Life is a great game. It may not appeal to every kind of gamer but if it clicks with you, it will be a fun experience. I think you're able to enjoy the game much more if you have a lot of real life friends or a lot of favorite famous people/characters to add. The game has made me laugh so many times and even when I've played more than 10 hours it I still want more, though I'm starting to feel it a bit repetitive. I'd recommend adding few characters first, specially if you want a special pairing/relationship, cause the more characters you have the hardest is for them to "find" each other. Then you should add tons for more random relationships. I'd recommend this game to everyone who isn't really into violent or action games. Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2014
    7
    Tomodachi Life is a very fun little game. I have played around 30 hours so far. It's really good to waste a few minutes here and there. There is enough content to keep you entertained for a few hours, but after that, it just gets a bit boring. The same stuff happens over and over again. There is not really much to do after the initial 'check all islander's problems, make people fall in love, get married, have babies' sequence. It has got a bit dull for me. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews