Tomodachi Life Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: What happens when friends, family, and celebrities become Mii™ characters and live together on an island? Tomodachi Life happens! Start by creating Mii characters and customizing everything about them. Have fun recreating your best friend, your favorite actor, mom and dad, co-workers...whoever! Then watch as they rap, rock, eat donuts, fall in love, break up, go shopping, play games, and live their crazy Mii lives. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. 90
    Endlessly charming and unusually engaging, Tomodachi Life is a fantastic diversion.
  2. Jun 20, 2014
    83
    This is the sort of game that open-minded players will love if they give it a chance.
  3. Jun 7, 2014
    80
    Tomodachi Life is more toy than game, but it’s an intriguing, colorful, and consistently surprising one.
  4. Jun 6, 2014
    70
    Tomodachi Life is a trip into a world where your Miis live out a never-ending series of bizarre and amusing adventures. While I’m glad that Nintendo of America decided to take a chance in bringing it our way, those adventures are unfortunately tainted somewhat due to a few gameplay decisions that really should be rectified in a future sequel.
  5. Jun 6, 2014
    70
    Tomodachi Life is not really a life simulator. If you were expecting a sort of Animal Crossing with Miis, you are going for a huge disappointment. As it is, Tomodachi Life is a fun game to play for a few minutes once in a while: it gets pointless and repetitive fast, but it's always fun to see Miis interact and do weird things.
  6. Jun 27, 2014
    65
    It could've been perfect as a 3DS integrated experience, but, as a standalone game, it lacks the depth of other simulations.
  7. Jun 5, 2014
    50
    The abundance of surreal moments make for game that's fun to tell others about, but dull to play.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Tomodachi Life is a fun game. Overall, I enjoy the feel of it. Its happy, silly and fun! 10/10. Also, don't mind the social justice warriors. They tried too hard to hurt the game. Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    I've been gaming for most of my life and this is easily my favorite game. Good gameplay, easy to enjoy, and filled with new surprises. Plus I've only played the demo! Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    Tomodachi Life is one my fav games by Nintendo i love the things and taking care of miis as well it may feel like a sims game but it different towards then that it more a "friendly game" of The Sims,
    i hope that we get more Tomodachi here in the future. the game was fun play and very relaxing game just to play
    Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2014
    9
    Addicting, entertaining and well designed, Tomodachi Life is a fun way to integrate all the people you know into the game in a way that actually adds to the game play, and a great way to spend your time. Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    This isn't a game I would see myself getting but I love the Sims and I NEEDED This. I love this game. I had so much fun while I played and I love how it gives you the feeling of a classic sims game. Its way better than My Sims. You are going to want to go back and replay a lot to see what else you can do with different Mii characters. I also loved how it was possible for your Mii's to have feelings. I really liked how they took Tomodachi Life just like real life or the Sims. The only flaw is that after you unlock everything there isn't much to do. You also cannot control what your Mii's do. If you like the Sims, you will like this and it is a MUST BUY for the 3DS.

    Tomodachi Life gets a 9/10
    Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2014
    8
    Fun game and enjoying watching the everyday interactions of miis. But sad to say you will either love or hate this game. The game is fun, silly, funny but can also be shallow, weird, and bizarre at times, I cannot really recommend it to everyone. Expand
  7. Aug 7, 2014
    0
    Is repetitive, all time you do it the same like this: speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak Expand

See all 19 User Reviews