Tomodachi Life Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: What happens when friends, family, and celebrities become Mii™ characters and live together on an island? Tomodachi Life happens! Start by creating Mii characters and customizing everything about them. Have fun recreating your best friend, your favorite actor, mom and dad,What happens when friends, family, and celebrities become Mii™ characters and live together on an island? Tomodachi Life happens! Start by creating Mii characters and customizing everything about them. Have fun recreating your best friend, your favorite actor, mom and dad, co-workers...whoever! Then watch as they rap, rock, eat donuts, fall in love, break up, go shopping, play games, and live their crazy Mii lives. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. 90
    Endlessly charming and unusually engaging, Tomodachi Life is a fantastic diversion.
  2. Jun 20, 2014
    83
    This is the sort of game that open-minded players will love if they give it a chance.
  3. Jun 7, 2014
    80
    Tomodachi Life is more toy than game, but it’s an intriguing, colorful, and consistently surprising one.
  4. Jun 6, 2014
    70
    Tomodachi Life is a trip into a world where your Miis live out a never-ending series of bizarre and amusing adventures. While I’m glad that Nintendo of America decided to take a chance in bringing it our way, those adventures are unfortunately tainted somewhat due to a few gameplay decisions that really should be rectified in a future sequel.
  5. Jun 6, 2014
    70
    Tomodachi Life is not really a life simulator. If you were expecting a sort of Animal Crossing with Miis, you are going for a huge disappointment. As it is, Tomodachi Life is a fun game to play for a few minutes once in a while: it gets pointless and repetitive fast, but it's always fun to see Miis interact and do weird things.
  6. Jun 27, 2014
    65
    It could've been perfect as a 3DS integrated experience, but, as a standalone game, it lacks the depth of other simulations.
  7. Jun 5, 2014
    50
    The abundance of surreal moments make for game that's fun to tell others about, but dull to play.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Tomodachi Life is a fun game. Overall, I enjoy the feel of it. Its happy, silly and fun! 10/10. Also, don't mind the social justice warriors.Tomodachi Life is a fun game. Overall, I enjoy the feel of it. Its happy, silly and fun! 10/10. Also, don't mind the social justice warriors. They tried too hard to hurt the game. Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    I've been following this game for a while before it released so I thought it looked cool and put my pre-order in, at first I didn't know whatI've been following this game for a while before it released so I thought it looked cool and put my pre-order in, at first I didn't know what to think of the game when I started playing it. But After a few hours of playing it it grew on me and I really love Tomodachi Life it's very fun and addicting, hours past in mere seconds I don't think I've ever had so much fun with a video game before but in the end that's all that matters in a video game the fun factor.

    The only CON for me was there were a couple of scenarios, characters, story elements that were weird and I didn't understand at all and the game makes no attempt to explain it, I won't spoil it buy the game to find out :P it's strange, amazing and weird. But it doesn't affect the overall game.

    Tomodachi Life is a lot of fun and addicting, I highly recommend it.
    Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    This isn't a game I would see myself getting but I love the Sims and I NEEDED This. I love this game. I had so much fun while I played and IThis isn't a game I would see myself getting but I love the Sims and I NEEDED This. I love this game. I had so much fun while I played and I love how it gives you the feeling of a classic sims game. Its way better than My Sims. You are going to want to go back and replay a lot to see what else you can do with different Mii characters. I also loved how it was possible for your Mii's to have feelings. I really liked how they took Tomodachi Life just like real life or the Sims. The only flaw is that after you unlock everything there isn't much to do. You also cannot control what your Mii's do. If you like the Sims, you will like this and it is a MUST BUY for the 3DS.

    Tomodachi Life gets a 9/10
    Expand
  4. Jun 7, 2014
    8
    Fun game and enjoying watching the everyday interactions of miis. But sad to say you will either love or hate this game. The game is fun,Fun game and enjoying watching the everyday interactions of miis. But sad to say you will either love or hate this game. The game is fun, silly, funny but can also be shallow, weird, and bizarre at times, I cannot really recommend it to everyone. Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2014
    7
    Kind of feels like an extremely limited animal crossing. Can't control the characters, only suggest things to them. There is a real lack ofKind of feels like an extremely limited animal crossing. Can't control the characters, only suggest things to them. There is a real lack of things to do. Even so, it has a certain charm to it.. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2014
    7
    I would not call Tomodachi Life much of a video game. It's a time waster life sim, but it's really good at this. It's very funny at timesI would not call Tomodachi Life much of a video game. It's a time waster life sim, but it's really good at this. It's very funny at times and it's cool to jump on and update all the Miis living on your island; but when it's all said and done, there's no end or ultimate goal that you're trying to accomplish; you're merely playing with Miis and putting them in funny situations. The street pass function is good, and I would say that this is better in this then other games. When two Miis have a baby, the baby grows into a child and can then travel to other people's islands via street pass. You also receive new clothing items via street pass. Expand
  7. Aug 7, 2014
    0
    Is repetitive, all time you do it the same like this: speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speakIs repetitive, all time you do it the same like this: speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak Expand

See all 40 User Reviews