Tomodachi Life Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: What happens when friends, family, and celebrities become Mii™ characters and live together on an island? Tomodachi Life happens! Start by creating Mii characters and customizing everything about them. Have fun recreating your best friend, your favorite actor, mom and dad,What happens when friends, family, and celebrities become Mii™ characters and live together on an island? Tomodachi Life happens! Start by creating Mii characters and customizing everything about them. Have fun recreating your best friend, your favorite actor, mom and dad, co-workers...whoever! Then watch as they rap, rock, eat donuts, fall in love, break up, go shopping, play games, and live their crazy Mii lives. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. 90
    Endlessly charming and unusually engaging, Tomodachi Life is a fantastic diversion.
  2. Jun 20, 2014
    83
    This is the sort of game that open-minded players will love if they give it a chance.
  3. Jun 7, 2014
    80
    Tomodachi Life is more toy than game, but it’s an intriguing, colorful, and consistently surprising one.
  4. Jun 6, 2014
    70
    Tomodachi Life is a trip into a world where your Miis live out a never-ending series of bizarre and amusing adventures. While I’m glad that Nintendo of America decided to take a chance in bringing it our way, those adventures are unfortunately tainted somewhat due to a few gameplay decisions that really should be rectified in a future sequel.
  5. Jun 6, 2014
    70
    Tomodachi Life is not really a life simulator. If you were expecting a sort of Animal Crossing with Miis, you are going for a huge disappointment. As it is, Tomodachi Life is a fun game to play for a few minutes once in a while: it gets pointless and repetitive fast, but it's always fun to see Miis interact and do weird things.
  6. Jun 27, 2014
    65
    It could've been perfect as a 3DS integrated experience, but, as a standalone game, it lacks the depth of other simulations.
  7. Jun 5, 2014
    50
    The abundance of surreal moments make for game that's fun to tell others about, but dull to play.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    I've been following this game for a while before it released so I thought it looked cool and put my pre-order in, at first I didn't know whatI've been following this game for a while before it released so I thought it looked cool and put my pre-order in, at first I didn't know what to think of the game when I started playing it. But After a few hours of playing it it grew on me and I really love Tomodachi Life it's very fun and addicting, hours past in mere seconds I don't think I've ever had so much fun with a video game before but in the end that's all that matters in a video game the fun factor.

    The only CON for me was there were a couple of scenarios, characters, story elements that were weird and I didn't understand at all and the game makes no attempt to explain it, I won't spoil it buy the game to find out :P it's strange, amazing and weird. But it doesn't affect the overall game.

    Tomodachi Life is a lot of fun and addicting, I highly recommend it.
    Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Tomodachi Life is a fun game. Overall, I enjoy the feel of it. Its happy, silly and fun! 10/10. Also, don't mind the social justice warriors.Tomodachi Life is a fun game. Overall, I enjoy the feel of it. Its happy, silly and fun! 10/10. Also, don't mind the social justice warriors. They tried too hard to hurt the game. Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2014
    9
    This is a very good game showing Nintendo at it's very best. It has some love it or hate it humour (I get the wackiness of the variousThis is a very good game showing Nintendo at it's very best. It has some love it or hate it humour (I get the wackiness of the various situations while my friend/classmate doesn't) so if you're on the former side of the fence you'll love the game but if you're on the latter, then good luck not wanting to break the game! But everybody will agree that it's one flaw is the repetitive nature of the game and the lack of control over the Miis actions! Otherwise, a good game that multiple people will love! Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    This isn't a game I would see myself getting but I love the Sims and I NEEDED This. I love this game. I had so much fun while I played and IThis isn't a game I would see myself getting but I love the Sims and I NEEDED This. I love this game. I had so much fun while I played and I love how it gives you the feeling of a classic sims game. Its way better than My Sims. You are going to want to go back and replay a lot to see what else you can do with different Mii characters. I also loved how it was possible for your Mii's to have feelings. I really liked how they took Tomodachi Life just like real life or the Sims. The only flaw is that after you unlock everything there isn't much to do. You also cannot control what your Mii's do. If you like the Sims, you will like this and it is a MUST BUY for the 3DS.

    Tomodachi Life gets a 9/10
    Collapse
  5. Jun 15, 2014
    8
    Überraschend gutes Spiel hatte es eigentlich aus der Laune heraus für meine freundin als kleine Überraschung gekauft da sie sims animalÜberraschend gutes Spiel hatte es eigentlich aus der Laune heraus für meine freundin als kleine Überraschung gekauft da sie sims animal crossing etc schon gut fand
    Als ich die Packung geöffnet hab lagen 2 demo download codes mit dabei, ach testen kann ja nicht schaden
    Die demo fand ich schon so dermaßen sympathisch und voller charm das ich direkt nochmal zum laden bin und mir das game für mich selbst nochmal gekauft hab.
    Ich spiele es jetzt sozusagen mit meiner Freundin seit ca ner Woche und hab Mittlerweile wohl mehr stunden damit verbracht wie mit so manchem Mega Blockbuster aaa Titel

    Es gibt einfach so viele Momente wo absolut in der art einfach einmalig sind
    Und auch wenns kein spiel ist was man stundenlang aktiv zockt , nehm ich den ds alle halbe Stunde zur hand um zu sehen ob wer hunger hat oder ob ich meinen Schützlingen beim verkuppeln helfen kann

    Ich bin gespannt wie lange es mich noch motiviert allerdings hat mich das game absolut überrascht
    Da ich immer dachte das es mir zu schräg ist, wirkt auch absolut so
    Kann aber nur jedem raten mal die demo zu testen und sich ein paar Männchen zu erstellen ( bei mir zb freunde und verwandte oder bekannte)
    Ein herrlicher zeit vertreib den man mehrmals am tag zur hand nimmt
    Ich mags nicht mehr missen :)
    Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2014
    7
    Tomodachi Life is an engaging game that enables endless creativity. You can create anybody you like, and simply sit back and let the dramaTomodachi Life is an engaging game that enables endless creativity. You can create anybody you like, and simply sit back and let the drama unfold! I enjoyed playing this game, and I intend on playing it for a whole lot longer. Expand
  7. Aug 7, 2014
    4
    Is repetitive, all time you do it the same like this: speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speakIs repetitive, all time you do it the same like this: speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak speak Expand

See all 41 User Reviews