Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    Urban Trial Freestyle’s greatest strength is that it’s available for just around $5. With 20 levels, an entertaining course editor, and a console-comparable experience available on the go, Urban Trial Freestyle is a great value for the competitive gaming souls among us.
  2. Jul 25, 2013
    Urban Style Freestyle isn’t just a cosmetic trip to the urban environments. It adds a whole new dimension to the addicting gameplay with the added Stunt Mode. Unfortunately the impact of this addition isn’t as big as you’d expect. Because of the lower difficulty and the low amount of levels the game can be finished in under four hours, completely. Even the track editor can’t change that.
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    It’s simple but deceptively deep and addictive. It’s not the definitive title in the series that will turn naysayers into fans, but at a modest $6.99, it’s a good distraction to have on the go.
  4. Jul 11, 2013
    My skepticism regarding "Urban Trial Freestyle" was remedied quickly by its easy-to-pickup-and-play nature and the fair amount of challenges it offered in both of its primary game modes. It's not the prettiest title on the platform, but what it lacks in appearance it makes up for in style and personality. "Urban Trial Freestyle" is a gritty little game with a lot to like. Sacrifice your next combo meal and give it a go.
  5. Games Master UK
    Sep 1, 2013
    A worthy addition to any eShop purist's game library. [Oct 2013, p.75]
  6. Hazards are sometimes more Urban Trial and Error, but this is a fun, if slightly shameless, physics-based platformer for £5. Shame it only lasts two hours.
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    Urban Trials Freestyle is no Trials by RedLynx, but it's a competent clone: fun and challenging game perfectly, suitable for Nintendo 3DS, with easy-to-pickup-and-play nature and a fair amount of challenges.
  8. Jul 15, 2013
    Urban Trial Freestyle is no Trials HD, but it's a competent clone, than can be very amusing at times.
  9. Jul 7, 2013
    Urban Trial Freestyle could definitely have been a better game with better in-game explanations and online features. Perhaps it should have been called "Urban Trial-and-Error Freestyle", as this is a solid pick up and play game harmed by its ironic learning curve.
  10. Jul 5, 2013
    Urban Trial Freestyle is a good game with a few blemishes that keep it from greater things. It’s nowhere near as good as the Trials series on XBLA, but it’s a solid handheld alternative that offers up plenty of fun for the price.
  11. 70
    Urban Trial Freestyle may not be the best thing you will play on your handheld, but it doesn't do many things extremely bad either.
  12. Jul 12, 2013
    A solid Trials Evolution clone with challenging level design and an underutilized editor.
  13. Jul 12, 2013
    All in all, I think Urban Trial Freestyle is worth a look. It won’t top something like Trials HD, but if you keep your expectations in check you’ll have some fun with it.
  14. Sep 4, 2013
    If you’re looking for a portable Trials game, Urban Trial Freestyle isn’t a bad alternative. However, the track designs could have been a little better, and I’m appalled at the lack of multiplayer. A motocross game is a perfect example of a game to play with friends, but apparently the developers didn’t think so.
  15. Jul 11, 2013
    Urban Trial Freestyle isn’t Trials HD, but it can have its moments: when you’re flying through the levels, landing after huge falls, and getting super fast times the game is quite fun.
  16. Jul 16, 2013
    Not too bad while it lasts, but it doesn't last long.
  17. Aug 19, 2013
    Urban Trial Freestyle hardly supplants the best games in the genre, but it's still a game that deserves attention if you are looking for a different game.
  18. Jul 24, 2013
    It may not be especially creative or unique, but Urban Trial Freestyle makes for a welcome distraction while RedLynx plans its next move. It may be a wannabe, but it’s a decent one all the same.
  19. Jul 18, 2013
    The actual game has smooth and responsive controls, an appropriate soundtrack and a particular lean-back quality that I do enjoy, allowing me to quickly jump into a game that is pretty relaxed and simple to play. But that is just enough.
  20. Jul 12, 2013
    The game’s challenge is non-existent, the longevity is severely lacking, the scoring system is a mess, and going through each track to get high ratings is a chore.
  21. Jul 16, 2013
    Nothing stands out in a positive way in Urban Trial Freestyle. It is a cheap clone of the much better Trials games and not worth your time and money.
  22. Sep 13, 2013
    I really enjoyed the previous versions of this game but the 3DS version is sadly just not worth anyone’s time.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jul 15, 2013
    So far the best game I've played on my 3DS. I always like this sort of obstacle-bike games. Graphics and controls are great and the levelSo far the best game I've played on my 3DS. I always like this sort of obstacle-bike games. Graphics and controls are great and the level editor extends its replay value. 3D effects are really good. It's got that addictive quality about it, making me try just one more time. Full Review »
  2. Mar 22, 2015
    Urban Trial Freestyle follows a very simple concept that has been used before in flash games, but includes more detailed levels and betterUrban Trial Freestyle follows a very simple concept that has been used before in flash games, but includes more detailed levels and better graphics. I started playing it without any expectations, and really enjoyed it. It can be completed in four or five hours, but collecting all the money, getting 5 stars on all missions, and beating your friends' scores can keep you playing for longer.

    The graphics are good, and the 2.5D design works well with the dynamically changing levels. Each level responds as you drive through it, usually with police getting in your way or structures collapsing to form ramps. The one level design element that I found annoying is the jumping platforms, which are introduced later in the game, and seem to be designed to kill the rider repeatedly rather than propel him to new areas.

    There are four tracks in each of the five worlds, and also two brief tutorials and five challenges (each of which has its own rules and its own track). Each track also has two modes, race and stunt, which are unlocked separately.

    In race mode, you'll race against the fastest ghost of whichever leaderboard you have selected: global, friends, or self. I felt that global was out of my league, but I had a lot of fun trying to beat my friends' fastest records.

    The stunts consist of long jumps, high jumps, precision jumps, and speed checks at certain parts of each track. The rider will do tricks during many of the stunts, but these are purely cosmetic and happen automatically. You can instantly return to the previous checkpoint with no direct penalty, which is great for trying to beat your friends' high scores in stunt mode.

    Each track has $5000 in bags of $500, $1000, or $2000 hidden along it. This money can be used to buy functional upgrades for your bike or cosmetic upgrades for your rider. There aren't many customization options, so I found the bike upgrades and rider appearance system lacking.

    The bike's engine noise gets repetitive quickly, but you can turn the sound down in the options menu. The soundtrack is decent, but nothing outstanding.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 11, 2014
    Great motocross trials game on the go. Looks really great on 2DS screen, has some very solid level design and I really liked the urban-theme,Great motocross trials game on the go. Looks really great on 2DS screen, has some very solid level design and I really liked the urban-theme, with rough music and sound effects. The only things lacking are actual content (only 20 courses plus some extremely wicked challenges; only basic customization options) and some missing multiplayer features (lack of rankings, high scores integrated with friends list, etc.), but the game is cheap and with its rock solid physics engine the 3 hours I spent with to complete all the courses passed in no time. Highly recommended! Full Review »