User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 70
  2. Negative: 8 out of 70

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    VVVVVV is a 2D retro platformer with a difference. In this day and age, there are many different takes on the core platforming idea, but VVVVVV stands out as two things: 1, a very innovative platformer, and 2, the one with the weirdest name. There is no jump button- instead, you must flip gravity. This adds a different level of thinking to the challenges. Among the most frequentlyVVVVVV is a 2D retro platformer with a difference. In this day and age, there are many different takes on the core platforming idea, but VVVVVV stands out as two things: 1, a very innovative platformer, and 2, the one with the weirdest name. There is no jump button- instead, you must flip gravity. This adds a different level of thinking to the challenges. Among the most frequently appearing obstacles are platforms that disappear after you touch them, moving enemies, and... that's it. It may sound very simple, but VVVVVV manages to do a hell of a lot with some very basic ideas. Remember, you're flipping gravity, not jumping, so your tecnique will be different to a normal platformer. But VVVVVV does suffer from a lack of different obstacles. Too soon it starts getting old. Clearly, the developer thought this would be made up for by a ridiculously high difficulty level. And that's the big problem: VVVVVV just gets so hard that you're dying hundreds of times on one little segment. Sure, there's an invincibility option, but then, you find yourself in a situation where you have to quit. This could have been an awesome game without the stupidly high difficulty. Now I'm stuck halfway through with no way of proceeding, and wondering if it really was worth the price. The visuals are also where VVVVVV lacks- Mutant Mudds is an example of a retro platformer that can still look good- and VVVVVV's graphics are even worse with 3D on. You can hardly make out any 3D at all, but what's instantly visible is a weird ghosting effect. So the visuals aren't good, but the soundtrack is excellent classic videogame music. Considering all, VVVVVV is a good game held back by unnecessarily difficult design. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. VVVVVVV is a wonderful game. It may be 8-bit and simplistic in its graphics, but the sheer insanity that is its difficulty level in some respects makes it probably, in my opinion, one of the hardest video games ever created in history. The music was really well done, (my hat goes off to Magnus for a splendid track of chiptune revival) and the level design was hard, but fun...annoyingly so. Gravitron for the win! Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    When I saw this game on Steam, I was hooked. 8-bit era Gravity Guy for $5!? I took the bait, hook, line, and sinker. Unfortunately, I didn't have money to cough up for it, so I wallowed in self-misery. Then I realized I still had money in my 3DS E-Shop account. Within minutes, I had shelled out $8 and downloaded it. I put on my headphones, set the 3D to max, and started playing. The gameWhen I saw this game on Steam, I was hooked. 8-bit era Gravity Guy for $5!? I took the bait, hook, line, and sinker. Unfortunately, I didn't have money to cough up for it, so I wallowed in self-misery. Then I realized I still had money in my 3DS E-Shop account. Within minutes, I had shelled out $8 and downloaded it. I put on my headphones, set the 3D to max, and started playing. The game feels like it was made for the 3DS. The Gravity Guy/Mario style platforming was easily controlled with the circle pad. Tricky sections requiring a deft touch reverted to the old d-pad. I frequently died, but [thankfully] there was no life limit, so I respawned at the last checkpoint I touched. After finishing the story, I cried. No game has ever captivated me this thoroughly in my life. After that emotional moment, I went to the menu. Imagine my surprise when I found extra levels, ripe for the picking. Overall, the game lasted less than 10 hours, but this is one of the few games I will pass on to my [future] children and say "You have to play this." Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    An amazing game, with retro-esque plataforming and a great difficulty, newbies must stay away from it, they should go play something more of their level like CoD. For seasoned gamers or one who enjoys a challenge, you can't go wrong with this game!
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic. As someone who never played it on PC, I decided I absolutely NEEDED to play it on 3DS. I was blown away. As someone who never grew up with the Atari and Activision games of yesterday, I can still tell that this game is a loving tribute to all things of that nature, with an incredible soundtrack and love put into practically every piece of the game. If youThis game is absolutely fantastic. As someone who never played it on PC, I decided I absolutely NEEDED to play it on 3DS. I was blown away. As someone who never grew up with the Atari and Activision games of yesterday, I can still tell that this game is a loving tribute to all things of that nature, with an incredible soundtrack and love put into practically every piece of the game. If you own a 3DS and haven't bought VVVVVV, you have made a huge mistake. Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2012
    7
    VVVVVV is an awesome game for what it is, but the 3D version has too little to set it apart from the original release.

    The Good: The same from the original PC version: a compelling hardcore-retro blast. The Bad: Nothing special about 3D effects; a bit overpriced. VVVVVV was released a couple years ago as an indie PC project and it's been praised (rightfully) everywhere ever since
    VVVVVV is an awesome game for what it is, but the 3D version has too little to set it apart from the original release.

    The Good: The same from the original PC version: a compelling hardcore-retro blast.

    The Bad: Nothing special about 3D effects; a bit overpriced.

    VVVVVV was released a couple years ago as an indie PC project and it's been praised (rightfully) everywhere ever since as a nice example on how simple concepts can be put to good use when it comes to making an interesting game regardless of its assumed low profile.

    Now it's up to the fight again as a downloadable good at the Nintendo eShop and here's the question: does the new version deserve a try?

    Well, if you're not familiar with the game (more details in the original review) here's what VVVVVV IS: a hardcore-retro-action-platformer blast that achieves a rare balance in the challenging/compelling combo. A single action button allows you to flip your character from the ground to the ceiling through manipulating gravity, and that's the core mechanic of an Atari 2600-like Metroid (given the maps and characters/items to find) with plenty of spikes for you to get pierced in the way.
    Despite being short (it takes around 2 hours to finish with all items) it's easy to recommend VVVVVV for its own merits to anyone with a retro/hardcore itch to scratch.

    But... What's up with the 3D version? Well, the visual rehash is nothing more that a simple coat of paint--the dialogue boxes and a couple menus pop-up from inside the screen but that's it; aside that there are a bunch of new player levels outside the main campaign... but they feel just like more of the same since in most cases the designers' approach was only to push the hardcore boundaries of the challenges even further.

    After all, is this VVVVVV worth or not? As said at the beginning of the review it is a good game for its own merits; but given the eShop steep price tag (60% higher than the Steam version) this version is only a good option for those who have the 3DS as their platform of choice or would like to try it in short bursts on the go.
    Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    5
    Definitly fun for a while, and then that fun turned in a torture chamber that slowly fed me to the wolves. I mean i just GENERALLY didn't like the game after a awhile- I mean, come'on developers throw me a bone. What? my score is gonna drop the average a bit? Well make a better game the next time.
  8. May 7, 2012
    9
    If you have a 3DS, and it's connected to the eShop, get VVVVVV! GAMEPLAY: the games controls are very tight, responsive, and never once let me down. Instead of jumping to get from place to place, the game has you flipping gravity (ceiling becomes floor, floor becomes ceiling). The idea feels fresh, and forces you to think a little more creatively when it comes to overcoming obstacles.If you have a 3DS, and it's connected to the eShop, get VVVVVV! GAMEPLAY: the games controls are very tight, responsive, and never once let me down. Instead of jumping to get from place to place, the game has you flipping gravity (ceiling becomes floor, floor becomes ceiling). The idea feels fresh, and forces you to think a little more creatively when it comes to overcoming obstacles. DIFFICULTY: the game has a retro feel, and that's reflected in it's difficulty. You will die, a lot, but the difficulty always seems to feel like it stems from devious planning rather than cheap tricks (and there are a generous amount of checkpoints), so it never gets too maddening, and no matter how many times you fail, you feel compelled to try it 'just one more time'. LENGTH: the main game lasts about 2-3 hours (depending on whether or not you go for the collectables), and while that would normally be quite short for the price, the game includes 16 additional "Player Levels" that really flesh out the experience. Whether it's through an even tougher difficulty, new obstacles, lack of checkpoints, or greater emphasis on story, each of these special levels do something that sets them apart from each other (and the main game), so it never feels old. There is also a "Flip Mode" that allows you to play everything from a flipped perspective, if that's your thing. GRAPHICS: I'll tell you right now that I'm not quite old enough to truly appreciate the nostalgia they were trying to get at with this one, but I still enjoyed the game's colorful charm. If I found one flaw with the game, it's that it doesn't make full use of the 3DS's widescreen support, and the 3D is a bit weak. With that said, it is a PC port, so those issues were a bit expected, and never once hampered gameplay, so it was a very minor annoyance at worst. SOUND: this game's soundtrack is simply beautiful. I can't post any links here to to the site's rules, but I urge you to find a way to listen to the game's music, it's that good. STORY: because of the retro design of the game, it does take a minimalist approach to storytelling, but that seemed to suit it just find. If you are however, really eager to find out exactly why you're doing all this, there are numerous computers scattered throughout the game world, which will give you more insight into the game's happenings, which is a nice touch. CONCLUSION: this game is a must own for any 3DS owner (unless you don't have eShop access for whatever reason). It has a few minor graphical issues, but the game is simply a masterpiece in the gameplay department. Expand
  9. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    It has all the charm of the 80s and all the after thought of being released after the turn of the millennium. The personality is charming sci fi goodness. You'll love it. Just be patient.
  10. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    A really fun game to play but its invincibility mode is a cheat to the game. If you do not use this mode it is a pure adventure game. It can be a hard game for young gamers due to its difficulty.
  11. Feb 27, 2012
    6
    I liked the novel feeling that I got from this game. But, and maybe I'm just old, it wasn't long before I wasn't enjoying the endless deaths while I tried to do some of the puzzles. So I reduced the speed. And some of the rooms were still infuriating. So then I reduced the speed all the way. And now I'm still stuck in some room. Now I haven't played the game in a couple weeks and kindaI liked the novel feeling that I got from this game. But, and maybe I'm just old, it wasn't long before I wasn't enjoying the endless deaths while I tried to do some of the puzzles. So I reduced the speed. And some of the rooms were still infuriating. So then I reduced the speed all the way. And now I'm still stuck in some room. Now I haven't played the game in a couple weeks and kinda wish I'd just saved my $6 or whatever it was. Expand
  12. Feb 21, 2012
    7
    This game brings back memories of nostalgia from the 9-Bit graphics and music. The gameplay was awesome and fun...until you get to the point of staleness. After playing for a bit the music gets SOOOOO annoying and the constant dying gets to you :'(... ;). However, this game is definitely worth $7.99. I recommend you pick this eShop title up :) 7/10
  13. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    I first bought and played this game on PC and I LOVED it. I love old school games so the raw difficulty of this game, the neo-old school atari-esque graphics, the brilliant music, and the charming short 'n' sweet dialog all make this game perfect for a gamer like myself. The game boasts quite a few challenges that will cause you to die repeatedly, but the action starts back up the momentI first bought and played this game on PC and I LOVED it. I love old school games so the raw difficulty of this game, the neo-old school atari-esque graphics, the brilliant music, and the charming short 'n' sweet dialog all make this game perfect for a gamer like myself. The game boasts quite a few challenges that will cause you to die repeatedly, but the action starts back up the moment you die at the nearest check point. I purchased this game again because I loved it so much I thought I might as well have it on the go. Expand
  14. Feb 9, 2012
    9
    Definitely a good game at a great price. It's filled with tons (the story mode plus some user created levels) of very hard platforming goodness.
    BE WARNED: Very challenging, there are many checkpoints but be prepared to die. Again. And again. If you're not the type that enjoys a tough challenge (but again, MANY checkpoints) then you should think hard before getting this. If you enjoy a
    Definitely a good game at a great price. It's filled with tons (the story mode plus some user created levels) of very hard platforming goodness.
    BE WARNED: Very challenging, there are many checkpoints but be prepared to die. Again. And again. If you're not the type that enjoys a tough challenge (but again, MANY checkpoints) then you should think hard before getting this. If you enjoy a platforming challenge like I do, it's a very great buy.
    Expand
  15. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    I absolutely loved this game on PC and the 3ds port is awesome too with lots of user based levels (which are much harder) to keep you busy even if you already beat the game. The 3D effect is very lacking in this game though and the aspect ratio is off but putting that aside this is a title worth picking up
  16. Jan 17, 2012
    7
    meh, go buy a real game, or a better downloadable game like pushmo, should be a doller cheaper. this review should be longer, la la la, up in smoke pop goes the culture, the tension blew it up
  17. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    An amazing game, with retro-esque plataforming and a great difficulty, newbies must stay away from it, they should go play something more of their level like CoD. For seasoned gamers or one who enjoys a challenge, you can't go wrong with this game!
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    Take away anyone of its gameplay elements, and VVVVVV will crumble. But, as it is, it's one hell of a game, difficult but not frustrating, innovative but simple.
  2. Jun 25, 2012
    90
    Razor sharp platforming and toe-tapping chiptunes keep you coming back. [Aug 2012, p.80]
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    90
    As thrilling to complete the first time as the fifth. [July 2012, p.105]