Weapon Shop de Omasse 3DS

  • Publisher: Level 5
  • Release Date: Feb 20, 2014
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Mar 9, 2014
    90
    If you’re looking for something new, this is the perfect time to pick up your hammer, start a fire, and get crafting.
  2. Mar 3, 2014
    90
    Between its nods to the RPGs with which we grew up, memorable characters, and moreish gameplay components, Weapon Shop de Omasse is the shining gem of the Guild series.
  3. Feb 20, 2014
    85
    Weapon Shop de Omasse is a breezy rhythm game, brimming with humor targeted at JRPG fans. I realize that's a niche within a niche, and it certainly won't be for everyone, but I loved it. And if that bizarre concept sounds even vaguely interesting, I bet you'll love it too.
  4. Feb 20, 2014
    80
    Weapon Shop de Omasse is sort of what you’d expect from a game made by a comedian, which is to say, really funny and awfully clunky.
  5. Feb 20, 2014
    80
    While some in the industry decry Japanese game development as stagnant, Level-5 has proven them wrong with some of the most experimental, creative, and interesting games to come from any studio anywhere in the world.
  6. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Apr 13, 2014
    71
    One of the funniest, most interesting games on 3DS, but also one of the most bloated. There's nothing else like it, which is both to its credit and its detriment. [Apr 2014, p.81]
  7. Apr 12, 2014
    70
    Definitely a good game experiment which could have been on the level of a fantasy Papers Please, but in its own right it is great fun apart from the small amount of activities to do and the lack of replayability
  8. Mar 11, 2014
    70
    Weapon Shop in Omasse is a game that leaves mixed feelings. It has primitive mechanics and lacks a demanding challenge, but is a very satisfactory experience within the genre of rhythm games that shines for its originality.
  9. Mar 3, 2014
    70
    If you relish the thought of idly polishing a sword while reading through a stack of cleverly-written in-jokes based around RPGs, then don't hesitate to open shop.
  10. Feb 27, 2014
    70
    Weapon Shop de Omasse is a neat twist on the jRPG formula which makes fun of the most common tropes to deliver a fun ryhthm game plagued by a weird pace and too much repetitiveness.
  11. Feb 25, 2014
    68
    It is aimed to a very specific audience, but those who understand its concept will find something fresh and engaging, with a particular sense of humor that will definitely make us laugh.
  12. Feb 26, 2014
    65
    Unique and well designed rhythm game plenty of humour and RPG-like touches. A bit weird and bland in some instances, though.
  13. Feb 24, 2014
    63
    I liked the quirkiness of Weapon Shop De Omasse, but I was never truly captivated by it.
  14. Apr 11, 2014
    60
    You get a sense that if they had focused more on one of the mechanics or the other, they’d have made a better game; it was just too difficult to balance. But the idea of an interactive sitcom is kind of novel, and the writing is fine enough that in the spots you can actually read it, you can get a good bit of entertainment out of it.
  15. 60
    Weapon Shop de Omasse is a deeply intelligent game, and it's certainly part of a fine heritage of philosophy that has made for compelling experiences in the past. But we can chalk this one up to the collective learning experience of the game development industry; it's fine to feature philosophy and to shoot for comedy, but you simply can't rely on that carrying the game.
  16. Mar 7, 2014
    60
    Weapon Shop de OMASSE is like a funny sitcom dedicated to JRPGs with some basic gameplay elements... but too basic!
  17. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    A charming homage to JRPG that lacks depth and variety.
  18. Feb 27, 2014
    60
    Weapon Shop de Omasse boasts a great premise and for the most part it succeeds at its JRPG sitcom goals.
  19. Feb 26, 2014
    60
    Another amusing look behind the veil of role-playing conventions, although it’s a shame the experience feels so slight and insubstantial.
  20. Feb 25, 2014
    60
    Thankfully, even when the blades are dull, the writing is sharp. Even so, many jokes are of the family-friendly sitcom variety, and play off of RPG tropes. If you've never laughed at the convoluted plots, overdramatic heroes or NPC behavior seen so often in the role-playing genre, this weapon may not be for you.
  21. Feb 21, 2014
    60
    Anyone with only a passing interest in epic hundred-hour tales of good and evil should stay away. With the game costing only $7.99 as a digital download, those steeped in the Japanese role-playing games will love mixing a massive adventure and Weapon Shop during long gaming sessions.
  22. Feb 20, 2014
    60
    The charm of Weapon Shop de Omasse is truly what saves the game from mediocrity, keeping the experience interesting even hours after its core mechanic reached its full potential.
  23. Feb 27, 2014
    58
    It’s certainly different, but it’s also throwaway.
  24. 55
    With super simple gameplay, the only rewarding part of Weapon Shop de Omasse is its lighthearted story that isn’t all that memorable.
  25. Mar 12, 2014
    50
    On a console where tried and tested ideas continue to dominate, it would be wrong to entirely dismiss an experiment like this, even if the result is only fleetingly worthwhile.
  26. Mar 10, 2014
    50
    Weapon Shop de Omasse may start off in a funny and compelling way, but it quickly gets overrun by an overall feeling of repetitiveness. After getting immersed into the mechanics, it becomes apparent that this game has little to offer and will disappoint the fans of both rhythm and management games.
  27. Mar 7, 2014
    40
    As part of the Guild portmanteau it's a curio that earns its place, an eccentric exercise whose existence you can't help but be grateful for. Torn away from its more substantial partners, though, it never does enough to stand out on its own.
  28. Feb 20, 2014
    40
    Weapon Shop de Omasse is an infuriating, boring game. Only RPG enthusiasts who snigger at jokes about stereotypical Evil Lords, grinding against rats, and “Tutorial Caves” will care to play it — and even then, they would be wise to reconsider.
  29. Feb 20, 2014
    35
    Weapon Shop de Omasse is an interesting idea that doesn’t go anywhere — a humorless, flat, and repetitive package that squanders its unique concept in almost every respect.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Feb 26, 2014
    7
    A novel concept with some real potential. Rhythm game aspect is probably the best part, it's a shame there is so little of it. Combined withA novel concept with some real potential. Rhythm game aspect is probably the best part, it's a shame there is so little of it. Combined with an obtuse design, it's not obvious why sometimes a weapon you feel like you botched turns out to be a masterpiece and another comes out dull. The most frustrating part is the lack of communicate from the game's part on why a certain spot will not yield points when struck.

    The overall meta-game is also somewhat poorly thought out. Weapons you craft early on are almost immediately obsolete as your weapon shop levels up, making the weapon level system completely useless until you are crafting your ultimate weapon. Hard for players to care about transient, throw-away items.

    One thing I found annoying in the game is the constant interruption by customers. I understand the real-time nature of this game, but it's often jarring when I'm studying my inventory when I get kicked out by a customer and then I have to go back to my previous menu only to be kicked out again by yet another customer. An option to select WHEN to greet the customer would have been appreciated.

    Despite my gripes, I still enjoyed Weapon Shop de Omasse. It could have reached the heights of Papers, Please but ends up falling far short due to questionable design choices.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 22, 2014
    8
    This should not be considered a rhythm game by any means. If you go in thinking that you will come away extremely disappointed!! The rhythmThis should not be considered a rhythm game by any means. If you go in thinking that you will come away extremely disappointed!! The rhythm parts are extremely easy and the tunes they use are generic and you won't be humming any of them.

    Now that that is out of the way this should be considered a narrative style game first and for most. Lots of funny parts and mostly like-able cast. Could do without the audience though. The main problem i've seen so far is even though the grindcast provides most of the enjoyment out of the game , the game doesn't give you a whole lot of time to read it. You can be reading multiple peoples adventures at the same time and you get interrupted quite often while you are doing stuff. If a customer walks in the door while reading, trying to search out a weapon to forge, or looking over requests it will take you out of what your doing to go talk to them. That's my biggest complaint about the game and it's also day based and doesn't tell you when the day is over either. In other-words no game clock.

    The weapon forge although easy can be deep if you so choose. There is a good variety to choose from. The customer/adventurer will place a order. You will see what they like for a weapon style and the enemy/enemies they will encounter. They will also display the weakness of the enemies and it's your job to craft a weapon as powerful as you can to help them defeat the monsters and come back with you weapon and money. They will also find various materials to craft with to add to making the weapons even stronger ie a special attack like thunder will be added.

    There really isn't much more to it then that. The last weapon i crafted was a baseball bat. Wonder where they got the inspiration for that one lol!

    Bottom line is if you're a rpg fan you will like it. If you're not sure it's for you then wait for a sale and minimize the risk. It is repetitive for sure but can be fun if you go in wanting to forge the best weapons to get the adventurers to complete a successful quest.
    Full Review »
  3. May 23, 2014
    5
    Not a bad game, but not great either. It easily could have been better. The "crafting" is enjoyable, but easy and lacking any sort of depth.Not a bad game, but not great either. It easily could have been better. The "crafting" is enjoyable, but easy and lacking any sort of depth. The Grindcast is kinda cool, but the fact that it often has 5 or 6 random people talking on it, including individuals you've never met, makes it hard to follow at times. I can put up with these items though, it's the "audience" sounds and the real time interruptions that just drop the game hard. The audience clapping and laughing ground on my mind every time I heard it and I was really wanting a way to turn it off. Checking menus and looking for things to make was also always a frantic mad search through multiple screens, hoping to find what I needed before the next customer broke in and forced me to interact with them. It turned what should have been the least stressful part of the game into the most stressful part of any game.

    TLDR: Inventive and with so much more potential but some very poor choices were made in the end that just detract from the whole thing.
    Full Review »