Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    70
    It may be simple and it may rely far too heavily on its lush 8-bit visuals, but Witch & Hero provides you with some simple, silly fun on your 3DS in short bursts.
  2. May 30, 2013
    34
    A disaster. [July 2013, p.79]
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    50
    Variety could have really done wonders here. Even with a small budget, tiny nuances like sword animations, items in the shop, and mini-boss depth could have gone a long way. Witch and Hero takes a simple, charming concept and somehow manages to make it repetitive, dry, and unfun.
  4. Apr 9, 2013
    20
    Witch & Hero is a bad game, and in some senses reminds us of the worst of DSiWare's legacy. Even if a title tries to sell over-simplicity and crudity by adopting an 8-bit aesthetic, that doesn't excuse lazy, unimaginative design and execution. This lacks strategy and skill, and is as mindless as they come; playing Witch & Hero feels like a chore, and it would be served better as a free PC flash game than a paid-for 3DS eShop release.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    I don't know why but this game is so much fun! Its a game to play when your board and it has amazing controls. The graphics for some reason make me love the game even more. Maybe the story is lacking but the gameplay is wonderful. I love the game and hope to see more games from the publishers Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2014
    8
    I downloaded the demo when it came out, and didn't like/understand it. When I upgraded my SD card, I downloaded every eShop demo, and tried it again, specifically to show somebody how bad it was. I ended up eating my own words. Actually playing the game, I found it surprisingly enthralling. Full Review »
  3. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    For what it is, this game is very fun when you want to play a cute little indie game to pass the time. The leveling system is decent, and it provides enough frustration to want to keep playing, but not so much that it's annoying. I recommend if you've got some extra money in your 3DS wallet. Full Review »