ZEN Pinball 3D Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zen Pinball 3D on Nintendo 3DS will feature four of Zen Studios finest originally designed tables including Earth Defense, Shaman, Excalibur and Eldorado, all in stunning 3D. Zen Pinball 3D on Nintendo 3DS will feature local hot seat multiplayer, online leader boards and table rankings, multiple view points and rewards for playing and accomplishing table specific missions. In addition, players will compete to achieve the greatest Pro Score ranking, which is the sum of a player’s high score across all tables, and a Team Score which is the sum of a player’s score and friends score. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jan 12, 2012
    100
    Zen Pinball 3D is no quick n' dirty port. It's a lovely new way to enjoy Zen Pinball on the go.
  2. There are so many nooks and crannies for your ball to explore and you get awards for hitting certain areas and fulfilling tasks.
  3. Mar 27, 2012
    80
    Zen Pinball 3D is a pretty fantastic representation of modern video pinball, and it's certainly something that fills a noticeable gap in the 3DS library at the moment.
  4. Jan 23, 2012
    78
    I didn't think pinball would work on such a small screen, but I was proven wrong by Zen Pinball 3D. The biggest drawback is the age of the tables, but the core mechanics provide fun and addictive pinball on the go.
  5. Jan 17, 2012
    75
    While not a high water mark for pinball games, Zen Pinball 3D delivers on every one of its promises. This seven dollar 3DS game features four exciting stages, online leaderboards and an achievement system that will keep you coming back for more.
  6. Jan 16, 2012
    70
    Zen Studios knows video game pinball and this release is no exception, though a few rough edges go a long way to dull the shine of the steel.
  7. Dec 19, 2011
    60
    Zen Pinball 3D offers four tables to be played : Excalibur, El Dorado, Earth Defense! and Shaman. Too bad those aren't new from the XBLA and PSN versions, and that the comfort of the 3DS screen isn't really one that suits certain camera angles. But the game still remains a good flipper title, with fair visuals, and once its 3D has been tamed, it's a good companion for nomad players who love to get extra balls.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    The game uses well the 3d effect, and the tables are fun to play. The game is great although low framerates (@30 fps) makes sometimes impossible to follow the ball around the table. So far is one of the best games at eshop. Expand
  2. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Awesomely addictive game; easily my favourite eShop download so far. All the tables are fun and the challenge to beat your previous high scores makes for excellent re-playability. Highly recommended. Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    I'm really happy with the gameplay for the price of this title. I used to be a big pinball arcade fan back in the day when they were still popular. I've also followed the growing genre of video game pinball ever since 3D pinball came with Microsoft Plus! 95 for Windows. Zen Studios is definitely one of the best at creating these fun virtual pinball machines and I am looking forward to their future releases. I highly recommend this if pinball is one of your favorites. My nephew on the other hand isn't much of a pinball fan and this didn't change his mind about it. So I recommend to just try a demo or read more about it before purchase if you're not a big fan of pinball in general. Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    Zen Pinball 3D brings classic pinball gameplay to the small screen in 3D. It adds a lot of depth to the intricate detail in the tables. Zen have done an excellent job with the graphics, with every nook and cranny beautifully done. Where Zen Pinball falls short is in the sound effects- I hate hearing that same annoying voice going on all the time. On each table, there are several secrets, which is great, but it's hard to know what's going on while you reach these special areas, especially when you control additional flippers in a minigame. This isn't helped by the distant camera. As would be expected, there are online leaderboards, which greatly increase the replayability. Zen Pinball 3D doesn't do much to make pinball appeal to wider audiences, but it is very much quality pinball, and a must-have for pinball fans. Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    I have never been a pinball fan, but this game is addictive. I think its the best game in the e shop. Pinball work great in 3d. The only two flaws I saw were 1) only four tables, and 2) pinball is confusing (maybe just because Im new to it) and the scoring is weird and seems to be more about luck. Still, its a fairly fun, very addictive game that works well on the 3ds. Collapse