Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Apr 12, 2013
    90
    If written words don't scare you, Virtue's Last Reward is one of the best interactive books to date. Chunsoft's game mixes a great narrative with the hardest moral choices you can find in a game. Will you be a traitor or a betrayed?
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    88
    If you want a suspenseful crime story with sci-fi flair, dramatic conflicts and puzzles that are as varied as they are challenging, look no further. This is a grand adventure.
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    It’s a near flawless narrative experience wrapped in a bog-standard but necessary adventure game.
  4. Jan 3, 2013
    100
    VLR builds on a pre-existing universe a new layer with new characters and sets the stage for the probably last volume of a series that messes with the heads of all who are involved.
  5. Dec 26, 2012
    90
    Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward may lack the initial punch delivered by its predecessor, but still brings an engrossing tale to the table, with a story that players will have to explore completely before finally putting the game back on the shelf. With a smattering of smart puzzles tying everything together, it will take something truly special to trump this superb visual novel experience.
  6. Dec 17, 2012
    60
    If you like seeing stories from various personal angles, Virtue's Last Reward offers many hours of value, but you might feel betrayed by the storytelling grind of this longwinded horror adventure.
  7. Dec 13, 2012
    90
    Virtue's Last Reward is a quality game that will surprise you. It will make you want to speak about it to people months after you have finished it. They aren't many game stories that make you do that, but the ones that do are normally exceptionally well-written with stimulating plots and shocking twists.
  8. Nov 25, 2012
    88
    This is smart, powerful storytelling and one of 2012's shiniest hidden gems. [Christmas 2012, p.91]
  9. In an industry embarrassed by brains, this is a shining beacon of measured character work, deep-rooted ideas and whip-smart dialogue.
  10. Nov 21, 2012
    100
    Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward is nothing short of a masterpiece. Riveting from beginning to end, it sets a new standard for interactive storytelling, and demands an emotional investment from the player that ultimately pays off with one of the most satisfying endings in recent video gaming memory. Unless you have yet to experience its prequel 999, there is simply no excuse for you not to play this game.
  11. Nov 15, 2012
    90
    The excellent story hooked me in from the opening minutes and I didn't want to let go. With branching paths, multiple endings, and truly mysterious characters to interact with, Virtue's Last Reward will keep you thrilled for hours on end.
  12. 80
    Under the guise of a video game, Virtue's Last Reward unfolds an intricate story in which your participation is consistently worthwhile. In spite of the interruptions caused by its less engaging puzzle segments, this game stands out as an exceptional narrative experience unlike anything else on 3DS.
  13. Nov 12, 2012
    95
    Virtue's Last Reward is a worthy follow-up in the Zero Escape series. You need to play it. Just, you know, play 999 first.
  14. Nov 11, 2012
    85
    Anyone expecting a definitive conclusion will likely be unsatisfied. Fortunately, the bulk of Virtue's Last Reward is so darn good that ultimately it may not matter. [Nov 2012, p.82]
  15. Nov 7, 2012
    85
    Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward is a memorable and enthralling sci-fi/horror adventure that will have you glued to the small screen.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I don't think I could love this game more if I tried. This game is the visual novel/puzzle sequel to the DS game '999: 9 Hours 9 Persons 9 Doors', and after loving the first game, this one completely surpassed my expectations. This one included increasing text speed and also being able to go to different points in the game, which were very frustrating in the original. This means you won't have to play a room twice if you don't want. It's heavily text based, but there are lots of good puzzles and escape the room type scenarios to enjoy. As far as the storyline goes, it's confusing at times, requires some thinking, but it's completely captivating. I enjoyed all the characters, and it managed to be funny and touching. There's only one save slot, but I can understand why, so it wasn't an issue for me at all. There's also a noted bug in the 3DS version where if you save in certain rooms the game becomes corrupted, this did not happen to me, as I followed advice to not save while in an active puzzle room. I totaled about 45 hours with the game and all paths completed. This is THE 3DS game for me. Full Review »
  2. May 19, 2013
    10
    A game that lives up to the standard it's predecessor 999 set. Anyone who loves a good mystery story and some puzzle solving should get this game immediately.

    Only bad thing about it is that long time VN fans will inevitably notice some similarities between this game and earlier titles like Ever17 and Remember11, but other than that it's a stellar experienc all the way through.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Obviously one of the best 3DS games out there. Words cannot even describe how great, but mind-boggling the story is. Finishing this game makes me want the sequel even more now. Full Review »