Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward has players taking on the Nonary Game again, as it's back and more deadly than ever.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    100
    VLR builds on a pre-existing universe a new layer with new characters and sets the stage for the probably last volume of a series that messes with the heads of all who are involved.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    100
    Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward is nothing short of a masterpiece. Riveting from beginning to end, it sets a new standard for interactive storytelling, and demands an emotional investment from the player that ultimately pays off with one of the most satisfying endings in recent video gaming memory. Unless you have yet to experience its prequel 999, there is simply no excuse for you not to play this game.
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    95
    Virtue's Last Reward is a worthy follow-up in the Zero Escape series. You need to play it. Just, you know, play 999 first.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    90
    The excellent story hooked me in from the opening minutes and I didn't want to let go. With branching paths, multiple endings, and truly mysterious characters to interact with, Virtue's Last Reward will keep you thrilled for hours on end.
  5. Mar 14, 2013
    88
    If you want a suspenseful crime story with sci-fi flair, dramatic conflicts and puzzles that are as varied as they are challenging, look no further. This is a grand adventure.
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    88
    This is smart, powerful storytelling and one of 2012's shiniest hidden gems. [Christmas 2012, p.91]
  7. Dec 17, 2012
    60
    If you like seeing stories from various personal angles, Virtue's Last Reward offers many hours of value, but you might feel betrayed by the storytelling grind of this longwinded horror adventure.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I don't think I could love this game more if I tried. This game is the visual novel/puzzle sequel to the DS game '999: 9 Hours 9 Persons 9 Doors', and after loving the first game, this one completely surpassed my expectations. This one included increasing text speed and also being able to go to different points in the game, which were very frustrating in the original. This means you won't have to play a room twice if you don't want. It's heavily text based, but there are lots of good puzzles and escape the room type scenarios to enjoy. As far as the storyline goes, it's confusing at times, requires some thinking, but it's completely captivating. I enjoyed all the characters, and it managed to be funny and touching. There's only one save slot, but I can understand why, so it wasn't an issue for me at all. There's also a noted bug in the 3DS version where if you save in certain rooms the game becomes corrupted, this did not happen to me, as I followed advice to not save while in an active puzzle room. I totaled about 45 hours with the game and all paths completed. This is THE 3DS game for me. Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Great game. Very strategic. Characters and environments are fun. IGN has reviewed the 3DS version but it had not posted to metacritic!? Is metacritic's 3DS person on strike?! Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best games of the year. Virtue's Last Reward is one of the best stories ever told in video games. I clocked in just over 32 hr to complete everything the game has to offer. It is an incredible value. Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Pros: - Excellent Story on all Counts - Wonderful Character Development - Well Thought Out Puzzles - Tons of Replay Value Cons: - None that I can think of Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    This game improves on many of the things 999 did. It is fully voice acted and it allows you to easily move between points in the story. However, the story and characterization aren't as good (still great) and it feels (while your playing through) like when you solve a puzzle it isn't as urgent or important or relevant as it was in 999 (after completing the game, it makes much more sense.) Collapse
  6. Mar 7, 2014
    8
    I found it thrilling enough for me while playing at night. Long game play and story lines. Definitely for players who love story-line based game as well as solving puzzles. Recommend to play 999 first, though it is not mandatory. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    0
    Fun up until the point it freezes, corrupts your save data, and makes you start all the way over from the beginning. DO NOT play this game on the 3DS if you value your time and money. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.