Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward 3DS

Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward has players taking on the Nonary Game again, as it's back and more deadly than ever.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    100
    VLR builds on a pre-existing universe a new layer with new characters and sets the stage for the probably last volume of a series that messes with the heads of all who are involved.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    100
    Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward is nothing short of a masterpiece. Riveting from beginning to end, it sets a new standard for interactive storytelling, and demands an emotional investment from the player that ultimately pays off with one of the most satisfying endings in recent video gaming memory. Unless you have yet to experience its prequel 999, there is simply no excuse for you not to play this game.
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    95
    Virtue's Last Reward is a worthy follow-up in the Zero Escape series. You need to play it. Just, you know, play 999 first.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    90
    The excellent story hooked me in from the opening minutes and I didn't want to let go. With branching paths, multiple endings, and truly mysterious characters to interact with, Virtue's Last Reward will keep you thrilled for hours on end.
  5. Mar 14, 2013
    88
    If you want a suspenseful crime story with sci-fi flair, dramatic conflicts and puzzles that are as varied as they are challenging, look no further. This is a grand adventure.
  6. Games Master UK
    Nov 25, 2012
    88
    This is smart, powerful storytelling and one of 2012's shiniest hidden gems. [Christmas 2012, p.91]
  7. Dec 17, 2012
    60
    If you like seeing stories from various personal angles, Virtue's Last Reward offers many hours of value, but you might feel betrayed by the storytelling grind of this longwinded horror adventure.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 41
  2. Negative: 4 out of 41
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I don't think I could love this game more if I tried. This game is the visual novel/puzzle sequel to the DS game '999: 9 Hours 9 Persons 9I don't think I could love this game more if I tried. This game is the visual novel/puzzle sequel to the DS game '999: 9 Hours 9 Persons 9 Doors', and after loving the first game, this one completely surpassed my expectations. This one included increasing text speed and also being able to go to different points in the game, which were very frustrating in the original. This means you won't have to play a room twice if you don't want. It's heavily text based, but there are lots of good puzzles and escape the room type scenarios to enjoy. As far as the storyline goes, it's confusing at times, requires some thinking, but it's completely captivating. I enjoyed all the characters, and it managed to be funny and touching. There's only one save slot, but I can understand why, so it wasn't an issue for me at all. There's also a noted bug in the 3DS version where if you save in certain rooms the game becomes corrupted, this did not happen to me, as I followed advice to not save while in an active puzzle room. I totaled about 45 hours with the game and all paths completed. This is THE 3DS game for me. Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2015
    10
    I give the 3ds version of this game a 9.4 to be more exact

    Pros: - Amazing Story - Great Gameplay - Good Bad Graphics (this makes sense
    I give the 3ds version of this game a 9.4 to be more exact

    Pros:
    - Amazing Story
    - Great Gameplay
    - Good Bad Graphics (this makes sense if you played it)
    - Complexity
    - Ability to blow your mind
    - Lovable and hatable characters
    - Has funny, sad, confusing, mysterious, scary, shocking moments

    Cons:
    - 3ds version has a game breaking glitch DON'T SAVE IN THE ESCAPE ROOMS
    - Has a few weird character animations
    - Annoying map you can't skip
    - Could've explained To Be Continued Better
    - Spelled "DUNNO" "DONNO" (Yeah, I ran out of things bad about this game)
    Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best games of the year. Virtue's Last Reward is one of the best stories ever told in video games. I clocked in just over 32Easily one of the best games of the year. Virtue's Last Reward is one of the best stories ever told in video games. I clocked in just over 32 hr to complete everything the game has to offer. It is an incredible value. Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    This is by far the best game on the 3ds even succeeding Fire Emblem:Awakening and Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds. It combines some ofThis is by far the best game on the 3ds even succeeding Fire Emblem:Awakening and Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds. It combines some of the hardest puzzles I've ever solved with a phenomenal story that has many unexpecting turns. By the way to get the true ending you have to complete each characters ending. By uncovering the characters endings plot twists will unfold and they are truly intense and can only be pulled together by the true ending. I did not play the first game "999", but VLR wrapped it up nicely and explained the contents of "999". It is one of my favorite games of all time and is a must play for anybody who owns a 3ds. Expand
  5. Jul 12, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this game. I had not played 999 before and I don't think it is necessary. I consider giving it a try now though.If someone had described the mechanics to me beforehand, I would have never thought I was going to like it. Lots of read couple of sentences+press 'a' button+repeat. But as the characters and the story were very interesting and compelling, it did not feel burdensome. I also liked a lot the contents of gold files. I find them very charm, . In my opinion, puzzles are too easy. I only looked the tangram up, because I suck at that and the response of the pieces in the touch screen was driving me nuts. Apart from that, I left only one puzzle unsolved. In general, I think they are too mechanical, you don't need to be imaginative or anything. I also felt a little bit disappointed about how easy getting some information was. Specifically the id and pass for the two computers you log in. I thought I was going to have to think a lot and review stories to find clues..... No, they are just given away at some point of the story. I guess the puzzles can't be hard, or the flow of the story would stall.
    Anyway, great game. Took me 60 hours to beat it (english is not my mother tonge).
    Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2014
    8
    I found it thrilling enough for me while playing at night. Long game play and story lines. Definitely for players who love story-line basedI found it thrilling enough for me while playing at night. Long game play and story lines. Definitely for players who love story-line based game as well as solving puzzles. Recommend to play 999 first, though it is not mandatory. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    0
    Fun up until the point it freezes, corrupts your save data, and makes you start all the way over from the beginning. DO NOT play this game onFun up until the point it freezes, corrupts your save data, and makes you start all the way over from the beginning. DO NOT play this game on the 3DS if you value your time and money. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.