Grandia II Dreamcast
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 4 out of 44

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    One of the most unique RPG's I've ever had the pleasure of playing, Grandia II, along with Skies of Arcadia, were really the RPG flagships for the Dreamcast, a system not really known for RPG's. Both games were excellent, with both getting re-releases down the road on other systems when the Dreamcast went belly up. Grandia II was always my favorite as it had a very mature storyline andOne of the most unique RPG's I've ever had the pleasure of playing, Grandia II, along with Skies of Arcadia, were really the RPG flagships for the Dreamcast, a system not really known for RPG's. Both games were excellent, with both getting re-releases down the road on other systems when the Dreamcast went belly up. Grandia II was always my favorite as it had a very mature storyline and really started the whole semi-free flowing battle system seen in alot of games today. There was so much to love about this game for an aspiring RPG fanatic that I had to play it multiple times. And the battle with Melphis is still, to this day, one of the hardest bosses I've ever had to fight. If you can find a copy of this game for either the Dreamcast or PS2, go ahead and get it and give it a play through. You certainly won't regret it. Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2015
    9
    Grandia II is one of my favorite RPGs of all time. The combat system is one of the best ever developed, the storyline was heavy with anime influence, but still managed to throw in a few genuine surprises, and often took the rather light-hearted mood along a much darker path. The ending is rather contrived and totally cliche-anime... but overall the journey was worth it, and mastery of theGrandia II is one of my favorite RPGs of all time. The combat system is one of the best ever developed, the storyline was heavy with anime influence, but still managed to throw in a few genuine surprises, and often took the rather light-hearted mood along a much darker path. The ending is rather contrived and totally cliche-anime... but overall the journey was worth it, and mastery of the combat system will likely give players the incentive for another playthrough. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2014
    9
    Well what can I say this is one of the best RPGs that I have ever played if you have never played this one before and you own a sega dreamcast and you are looking for one of the best games on this system then I highly recommend this one
  4. Eddurdr.obed
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    Great graphics, awesome battle sysytem , cliche story and esspecially great charme!
  5. SegaGuides
    Mar 25, 2003
    9
    One of the greatest RPG's for dreamcast. Grandia II provides excellent graphics, characters, and battle modes. Aside from a few minor plot holes, this game has everything a great RPG needs.
  6. Yunk
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    The game seriously rocks. The battle system's unique and very addictive and the character development is far beyond what many games have accomplished. At the end of the game you'll feel like you've known the characters all your life.
  7. RobertW.
    Mar 22, 2002
    10
    This game is great! I do not see how any other game can beat this. (Sword of The Berserk Guts Rage comes close though)
  8. BobS.
    Jul 1, 2002
    10
    Honestly it's my favorite dreamcast game out of all the 1's i have played 4 the system.
  9. KeithE.
    Aug 15, 2002
    10
    Despite that accursed mazes you find throughout the game, its still an awesome title. A very deep storyline and the surely some of the best characthers you will ever see. The storyline is extremely touching, deep, ingenious, sad and humurous. This is surely one of the greatest RPGs up to date, even if you have already played FFX like me you will surely be not disappointed. I cant wait for Despite that accursed mazes you find throughout the game, its still an awesome title. A very deep storyline and the surely some of the best characthers you will ever see. The storyline is extremely touching, deep, ingenious, sad and humurous. This is surely one of the greatest RPGs up to date, even if you have already played FFX like me you will surely be not disappointed. I cant wait for the next title *-*!! Expand
  10. Mr.Chicken
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    It's more addicting than crack!
  11. WillB
    Dec 26, 2008
    8
    A very good game, despite it's age. While I typically dislike traditional turn-based rpgs, this game really won me over with it's unique, entertaining battle system. The graphics are pretty good for a game from it's time. The only issues I have with it are it's rather linear nature and story, which is a bit on the generic side. All in all though, it's a very fun, A very good game, despite it's age. While I typically dislike traditional turn-based rpgs, this game really won me over with it's unique, entertaining battle system. The graphics are pretty good for a game from it's time. The only issues I have with it are it's rather linear nature and story, which is a bit on the generic side. All in all though, it's a very fun, engaging game that holds up quite well even today. Expand
  12. BrittonC.
    Nov 28, 2001
    10
    A great RPG, with an awesome battle system, and equally awesome graphics.
  13. LaurenL.
    Dec 16, 2004
    10
    This game was amazing with beautiful graphics a compelling story and totally unique combat style.
  14. R.T.
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    Even years after its original release date, the fast-paced combat makes it stack up against other RPGs.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. The great combat system and engaging story truly make the game a gem, not only on the Dreamcast but in the RPG genre as a whole.
  2. What you have here is simply the greatest RPG that has ever been created. And while I put "Skies of Arcadia" right up with it, it's still a big number 2.
  3. 96
    If you love RPGs and are looking for a compelling story with well-written characters, good graphics and a strong soundtrack, Grandia II is about as good as it gets!