Marvel vs. Capcom 2 Dreamcast

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 44
  2. Negative: 3 out of 44

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. kingwilly
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    one of, if not the best 2d fighting game of all time. the best comic related game of all time. pure fun.
  2. RobertC.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    An oustanding pinnacle for all 2d fighters and a flat-out great game...even if it is one of the last great ones of a fallen dynasty that is 2D fighting.
  3. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    this is the best fighting game on the system a huge cast of 56 characters with lots of unlockables like new characters stages costumes a lot of replay value and hours of fun alternate choices are xmen vs street fighter on saturn or marvel vs street fighter but those are both imports
  4. RobH.
    Nov 9, 2001
    10
    It's the best 3 on 3 battle in Marvel vs. Capcom history.
  5. DanC.
    Apr 14, 2002
    10
    Good karate fun!!!!
  6. KennethW.
    Apr 1, 2002
    9
    Where's the story
  7. SeanS.
    May 31, 2002
    10
    This game is better than every game i played.
  8. KevinB
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    This game is one of the greatest fighting games ive played. Hard to come by now...
  9. MichaelJ.
    Nov 26, 2002
    10
    56 characters, 3 on 3 title matches,3D stages, and great music this is brbobaly the last but best 2D fighter ever this game will not soon be forgotten.
  10. ChristopherM.
    Dec 29, 2001
    10
    The best 2D fighting game ever made. But sadly I think this is the end of the versus series. So much was put into this game I belive it has reached the end of its road.
  11. Fighter17
    Dec 25, 2004
    10
    You can do a 100 hit combo attack, 56 fighters, freestyle fighting system, great game.
  12. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    This is easily the best version out of the, seemingly, hundreds of versions that this game has now. The reason why it is the best version is that this was released back in a day when single-player actually meant something to a fighting game. The dozens of characters you had to unlock had me glued to this game for days on end. Plus getting the extra stages and music pieces was easily theThis is easily the best version out of the, seemingly, hundreds of versions that this game has now. The reason why it is the best version is that this was released back in a day when single-player actually meant something to a fighting game. The dozens of characters you had to unlock had me glued to this game for days on end. Plus getting the extra stages and music pieces was easily the best part of this game for me. Now with a sequel out, which I feel is nowhere near as good as this, this game is definitely showing its age. But make no mistake, this was easily one of the best fighting games ever made and the best version of this game was made for the dreamcast. Collapse
  13. Nov 3, 2013
    0
    This is easily the best version out of the, seemingly, hundreds of versions that this game has now. The reason why it is the best version is that this was released back in a day when single-player actually meant something to a fighting game. The dozens of characters you had to unlock had me glued to this game for days on end. Plus getting the extra stages and music pieces was easily theThis is easily the best version out of the, seemingly, hundreds of versions that this game has now. The reason why it is the best version is that this was released back in a day when single-player actually meant something to a fighting game. The dozens of characters you had to unlock had me glued to this game for days on end. Plus getting the extra stages and music pieces was easily the best part of this game for me. Now with a sequel out, which I feel is nowhere near as good as this, this game is definitely showing its age. But make no mistake, this was easily one of the best fighting games ever made and the best version of this game was made for the dreamcast. Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. If you've been searching for the ultimate 2D fighting game, your search may be over.
  2. Showcasing incredible gameplay, fabulous animations and an unthinkable amount of playable characters, Marvel vs. Capcom 2 shows us why it's a good time to be a Dreamcast owner.
  3. This is a title that rewards all comic book store jockeys and supplies unending gameplay for those aching for a fighter fix.