• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jan 15, 2001
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonathanD.
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    Its the best racing game i ever played.
  2. MaDMaN
    Sep 17, 2003
    10
    Fantastic Game. This Game Made Me Like Racing Games!!! If You Have A DC And Like Racing Games BUY IT!!!!!!
  3. WillJ.
    Sep 7, 2003
    10
    It's a different game.You will enjoy the driving and the places that you drive in.
  4. RoadKill
    Apr 15, 2002
    10
    MSR excels, it is the best racing game I have ever played.
  5. DaRellA.
    Aug 24, 2002
    10
    This game kicks Butt!!!! This game should be rated 100.
  6. Hubert
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    It's the BEST game i've ever played!!!!!!
  7. LanceM.
    Jul 26, 2001
    10
    THIS title is what I was looking for in a game. The driving physics are fun, the cars are foreign, the cities are wonderfully varied (400+variations), and the music for the most part is really great. Plus the amount of details in what you can do with few options is extensive, and yet it doesn't make me feel like I have to be a mechanic to have a good time (like all the options in THIS title is what I was looking for in a game. The driving physics are fun, the cars are foreign, the cities are wonderfully varied (400+variations), and the music for the most part is really great. Plus the amount of details in what you can do with few options is extensive, and yet it doesn't make me feel like I have to be a mechanic to have a good time (like all the options in Gran Turismo... who cares?) If you like driving in the least, this title should be in your collection. Expand
  8. JibboJ.
    Jan 14, 2002
    10
    I had just purchased this game and my dreamcast crapped out a week later. I put the games away and thought that was it until the ps2 came. We got the ps2 and played gt3 A LOT. It had the quality I expected from a new system. But about 2-3 months later I had new roomates move in and they had a working dreamcast. So I started playing MSR again and I havn't touched the ps2 since. the I had just purchased this game and my dreamcast crapped out a week later. I put the games away and thought that was it until the ps2 came. We got the ps2 and played gt3 A LOT. It had the quality I expected from a new system. But about 2-3 months later I had new roomates move in and they had a working dreamcast. So I started playing MSR again and I havn't touched the ps2 since. the game is so incredible. I know that a lot of gt3 fans complain about not being able to modify the cars, but screw that. The high point of this game (and it is very high) is what matters most in any game, the actual gameplay. There is such a definitive feel of driving in this game. This is the driving game that doesn't feel like a game, it feels real. The sensation of speed is so real. It makes 120 mph feel like what 120 mph really feels like. I guess thats what pissed me off about gt3. I never felt the sensation of speed unless I built up my tvr tuscan to a stage 4 turbo and I was going 250mph. All the customazation is not needed when the gameplay itself is so perfect. The only thing that upsets me about this game is when I can't see where I'm supposed to turn when the track is at night. This game, a video projector and a steering wheel IS the closest thing to actually doing the real thing. Its beautiful. Expand
  9. TobiasC.
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    Keeps you playing for ages!
  10. StoneyM.
    Sep 14, 2003
    8
    Certainly the best feeling racer on the market, even with the X-Box sequel on the market now falling flat on it's gameplay face, and while some people moan about the difficulty and scoring system, I think it makes the game actually challenging, despite it's sometimes less than amazing rewards. Very VERY good racing, but not quite as long lasting as some would have you think - Certainly the best feeling racer on the market, even with the X-Box sequel on the market now falling flat on it's gameplay face, and while some people moan about the difficulty and scoring system, I think it makes the game actually challenging, despite it's sometimes less than amazing rewards. Very VERY good racing, but not quite as long lasting as some would have you think - despite have almost 300 tracks, it does become chore-like after ten levels or so. Expand
  11. Lance
    Dec 31, 2001
    10
    This was the first racing game i've played that could actually occupy me for more than 20 minutes at a time. it has great graphics, and the kudos system is ingenious.
  12. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    I had the chance to play the game back in 2000. It was mindblowing. All the cities, the details, the music. A very arcade game, very challenging. This game paved the way for Microsoft and the PGR franchise.

    Sadly it wasn't enough to save the Sega Dreamcast !
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. It is not only the best racing game on Dreamcast, it's the best racing game ever.
  2. Pick this game up today and you'll still be playing it months from now, without ever once feeling bored. How many games can you say that about?
  3. Quite simply brilliant. I have not been held by a game like this for a long time, it is addictive, compelling and quite marvellous to play.