Shenmue II Dreamcast

Shenmue II Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is the sequel to Shenmue, and was directed by Yu Suzuki of Sega AM2.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. More action-packed than the original was.
  2. Shenmue II literally is 5 times the game Shenmue: Chapter 1 is...an incredible experience for me, from start to finish. The core gameplay formula isn’t much different from the first game, just packed with more action and improvements.
  3. The big improvement for me is that everything is a lot less linear then before; it really does feel that your actions directly influence Ryo’s progress through the adventure.
  4. Shenmue II is so much better than its predecessor, refining nearly every aspect of the original. It's a polished game that serves as a showcase for the DC and the evolution of the RPG genre, and fans should definitely find a way to play it.
  5. A disappointing sequel; it’s just not as good as the original which was in my opinion one of the greatest games of all time, it really was magical. Graphically it’s superior, but gameplay-wise, it’s just more of the same, albeit at a considerably slower pace.
  6. Fans of the original Shenmue will be delighted with the sequel while gamers new to the series should be able to get into the game's deep atmosphere with little difficulty.
  7. A breathtaking visual experience. X-Box, PS2, and GameCube may have titles that push more polygons, but it's Sega's attention to detail, quality of texture mapping, and the overall scale of the game world that makes Shenmue 2 stand out.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. PeterW.
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    Awesome,one of the greatest games i have ever played.....a masterpeice.cant wait for the third instalment, if it ever comes.
  2. MikeT.
    Feb 4, 2002
    10
    It's too good to be on the x-box!!!
  3. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Quite simply the greatest game ever made. Amazing story, amazing characters, great gameplay and graphics. Something truly special. WorthQuite simply the greatest game ever made. Amazing story, amazing characters, great gameplay and graphics. Something truly special. Worth buying a Dreamcast just for this one game. Expand
  4. PeetC.
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Despite the someimes odd dialogue and constant load time, it is the most immersive, entertaining experience in gaming.
  5. May 25, 2015
    10
    Those who played shenmue, surely will put this game on their top ten list of "best games of all time"!!! Don't know if the current generationThose who played shenmue, surely will put this game on their top ten list of "best games of all time"!!! Don't know if the current generation will love this game, but I am sure that a remastered edition and eventually Shenmue 3 would bring happiness to a legion of fans. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    This is a game that took me beyond, it has no rival to date.
    I played this on the Dreamcast when it first came out, I was a lad back then,
    This is a game that took me beyond, it has no rival to date.
    I played this on the Dreamcast when it first came out, I was a lad back then, and wow, the sheer scope, the advancement in gameplay and graphics, it hit me deep and hard, and brings me joy and great memories to this day.
    An amazing game that is unforgettable.
    10/10
    Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2014
    4
    First off, the things this game did well or innovated. Shenmue pioneered QTE as we know it today. It's arguable that previous games had QTE orFirst off, the things this game did well or innovated. Shenmue pioneered QTE as we know it today. It's arguable that previous games had QTE or were based on such mechanics. But Shenmue coined the term and did it exactly like you've seen it done for the next 10-15 years.

    You could practice your combative moves in order to gain more strength. I know of no precursor to Shenmue that worked this way. SImilar to the way you level up in San Andreas and Elder Scrolls Oblivion. You level up by practice.

    At the time, Shenmue had the best graphics ever produced for consoles or PC. As such it created an amazing atmosphere. There are day-night sequences, rain, snow, dates change, and different events will be triggered due to the passing of time.

    If you ever wanted to live an average life as a Japanese man in an average town. This game is for you.

    As for the bad, some QTE events couldn't be retried. The game wasn't easy to save and some of the QTE events would happen out of no where and you'd fail them unable to retry or reload. There were a handful of combat scenes in the game. Combat was a moot point. Shenmue didn't use the analogue stick for whatever reason so turning was stiff and ridiculous. More often than not you'll see Ryo stop in his tracks and do a 90 degree turn. Because the graphics were so good, things like audio quality, bad voice acting, and stiff animations when using items fell to the bottom of the uncanny valley.

    The majority of the game you'll spend randomly talking to people in the streets trying to find the next place to go. I remember my uncle commenting on it saying, "Wow, that's like real life, people don't want anything to do with you." 90% of the story progression will be you randomly talking to people, with no dialogue options, and them giving you a dull rejection. If that sounds fun to you, by all means.

    When you're not randomly talking to people, you can pick up an orange, or a change purse from inside your house. There are so many things you can touch and pick up but most of them are there for the sole fact it's there. Other activities include using capsule machines to acquire and collect Sega related toys, throwing darts alone, or playing Space Harrier.

    The Space Harrier port alone gives this game one of those 4 points for me. It's really the best part and the only -game- part of this game.

    As far as the story goes, it has to be said, this is an introduction and nothing more. This can't be seen as a full story or stand alone in any respect. There's no character development among any of the characters and the ending has no resolution. Yu Suzuki planned for Shenmue 1-2 to be one game. As such, Shenmue 1 was broken off into it's own game and was stretched to it's breaking point. Arguably the characters are interesting and unique.

    As an introduction, it's pretty good. As a standalone story it's awful, even by a trilogy standard. Even in movies like LOTR, Star Wars, or Mass Effect. The story gives you a resolution to a major problem in its first installment. While also leaving you on a cliff hanger for a more important conflict. Shenmue gives you no resolution. It was a straight introduction and nothing more.
    Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.