Shenmue II Dreamcast
Shenmue II Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.5

Universal acclaim- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is the sequel to Shenmue, and was directed by Yu Suzuki of Sega AM2.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. More action-packed than the original was.
  2. Shenmue II literally is 5 times the game Shenmue: Chapter 1 is...an incredible experience for me, from start to finish. The core gameplay formula isn’t much different from the first game, just packed with more action and improvements.
  3. The big improvement for me is that everything is a lot less linear then before; it really does feel that your actions directly influence Ryo’s progress through the adventure.
  4. Shenmue II is so much better than its predecessor, refining nearly every aspect of the original. It's a polished game that serves as a showcase for the DC and the evolution of the RPG genre, and fans should definitely find a way to play it.
  5. A disappointing sequel; it’s just not as good as the original which was in my opinion one of the greatest games of all time, it really was magical. Graphically it’s superior, but gameplay-wise, it’s just more of the same, albeit at a considerably slower pace.
  6. Fans of the original Shenmue will be delighted with the sequel while gamers new to the series should be able to get into the game's deep atmosphere with little difficulty.
  7. A breathtaking visual experience. X-Box, PS2, and GameCube may have titles that push more polygons, but it's Sega's attention to detail, quality of texture mapping, and the overall scale of the game world that makes Shenmue 2 stand out.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. [Anonymous]
    Mar 20, 2002
    10
    Radical!!! 100% awsome!!!! Nothing wrong about it!!!
  2. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Quite simply the greatest game ever made. Amazing story, amazing characters, great gameplay and graphics. Something truly special. WorthQuite simply the greatest game ever made. Amazing story, amazing characters, great gameplay and graphics. Something truly special. Worth buying a Dreamcast just for this one game. Expand
  3. HuguesB.
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    Really good sequel, if you loved the first one you won't be desapointed. If dreamcast version is hard to find, Xbox got it.
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Shenmue 1 is at the top of my favourite games of all time. Once I picked the controller up, I couldn't put it down until the game ended. ThereShenmue 1 is at the top of my favourite games of all time. Once I picked the controller up, I couldn't put it down until the game ended. There is so much to do, I used to spend hours upon hours in the YOU Arcade, collecting toys, buying sodas trying to get a winning can.. Ah, memories. The story is extremely engaging & immersive, the world is absolutely stunning and it's the first game to use dynamic-weather in a 3D world. This game was ahead of it's time, and laid the foundation for many current-gen games. If you love video games, japanese culture, or just love an adventure, don't look any further than Shenmue. Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    easily the best game ever produced. even though it had its flaws, it was simply revolutionary in many aspects. most importantly of course theeasily the best game ever produced. even though it had its flaws, it was simply revolutionary in many aspects. most importantly of course the back then STUNNING graphics. i remember when i was watching one of those 320x240 clips of the intro before it was released and somebody was standing a couple of feet away and asked "what movie is that?". i watched that clip again and again for probably half an hour, drooling.
    and then the open world concept, the overall cinematic feeling, all the little things one could do, the epic feeling of the story, the incredibly well-done fighting system (i was skeptical whether it would work well at first but it really did...), the music which was just as beautiful as the graphics...
    it was just amazing and i'm afraid i will never experience anything like it ever again in my lifetime. graphics these days suck in comparison (obviously always in respect to current times) and the scope of games is fairly minuscule. from a pure conceptual point of view, i guess one could compare GTA to it. but there, the graphics and story are lacking.
    Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Crazy depth to this game, great story, stunning graphics for it's time and amazing attention to detail. In my opinion, one of the moreCrazy depth to this game, great story, stunning graphics for it's time and amazing attention to detail. In my opinion, one of the more overlooked classics of all-time. Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2014
    4
    im not saying its bad, but when i play a game im looking for gamplay, which is something this game doesn't do well, its literally a whole gameim not saying its bad, but when i play a game im looking for gamplay, which is something this game doesn't do well, its literally a whole game based on quick time events, one of the major sins of video games, not to Mention its high production value is one of the many reasons the dreamcast died. the only thing that's good here is the story Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.