SoulCalibur Dreamcast
  • Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Sep 8, 1999
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 152

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    The first real 3-D fighting game -- Soulcalibur is one of the most valuable titles on the DC. Pros: Beautiful graphics; great audio; variety of characters, weapons, and level designs; near-perfect controls. Cons: It's on the Dreamcast, one of the most forgotten video game consoles.
  2. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    It is one of my favorite fighting games of all time. Who doesn't love this game? It had incredible graphics back in 1999. you gotta love the fluidity moves and attacks of each character. the mission is battle is awesome that you can play various minigames like tournaments, fighting lizard men, training with edgemaster, poison modes, etc. the soundtrack makes this game more epic and hasIt is one of my favorite fighting games of all time. Who doesn't love this game? It had incredible graphics back in 1999. you gotta love the fluidity moves and attacks of each character. the mission is battle is awesome that you can play various minigames like tournaments, fighting lizard men, training with edgemaster, poison modes, etc. the soundtrack makes this game more epic and has great atmosphere. this game is never wounded and its soul never burns in my book. Collapse
  3. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    This has to be one of the best fighting games of all times. At least in the top 5, easily. It was the main reason I got myself a Dreamcast, even though I was "waiting" for the PS2. Great game that you can never forget.
  4. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    The best fighting game on the DC and one of the best fighting games to date. Pros: It practically invented 3-D fighting movement in fighting games; stunning graphics; lovable characters; striking combos. Cons: Easy; annoying soundtrack.
  5. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Absolutely perfect. Outstanding graphics, addictive gameplay, awesome rewards, magnificent storylines. This game is the true standard of a masterpiece. Period.
  6. May 24, 2013
    10
    Although the series took a little dive in recent releases, we all know how great it made it's stay. The graphics at the time we're amazing, the gameplay is better then some games today, and this is the golden era of fighting games, along with Battle Arena Toshinden, which is an underrated rival.
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Quite simply the best fighting game ever made. Extremely well-balanced, fast-paced with great visuals and a diverse range of characters. Addictive gameplay.
  8. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    SoulCalibur isn't only a pretty important mark for the gaming industry, but a masterpiece fighting game, with unbelievable physics for the time, nice and challenging combos and great weapons, as well as a superb story for a fighting game, SoulCalibur is an 11/10 game.
  9. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    It is one of my favorite fighting games of all time. Who doesn't love this game? It had incredible graphics back in 1999. you gotta love the fluidity moves and attacks of each character. the mission is battle is awesome that you can play various minigames like tournaments, fighting lizard men, training with edgemaster, poison modes, etc. the soundtrack makes this game more epic and hasIt is one of my favorite fighting games of all time. Who doesn't love this game? It had incredible graphics back in 1999. you gotta love the fluidity moves and attacks of each character. the mission is battle is awesome that you can play various minigames like tournaments, fighting lizard men, training with edgemaster, poison modes, etc. the soundtrack makes this game more epic and has great atmosphere. this game is never wounded and its soul never burns in my book. Collapse
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 100
    I guarantee you'll be amazed at how phenomenal this game looks, and you won't be able to put it down.
  2. It blows away every 3D fighting game I've ever played (even "Virtua Fighter 3," and by a much bigger margin than I expected!), so go buy it when you get your Dreamcast, or feel like a total fool when it's sold out the next day.
  3. 100
    This is - or was - bleeding edge technology; the 'Sole Calibre' of Dreamcast's Distinction, and it shall remain so... until Namco's elite inevitably trump themselves.