Tennis 2K2 Dreamcast

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2001
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mila
    Feb 24, 2002
    10
    Great game! I can't imagine why Hingis, Capriati and Kournikova are not on here - nor Sampras or Agassi - but other than that it's an excellent game. Great graphics and real action!
  2. JuanJ.V.
    Nov 6, 2001
    8
    Great graphics, Easy start-up, Very difficult to master.
  3. JamesM.
    Apr 29, 2002
    9
    I love how you can play 2 on 2 with this game. I even got my girlfriend to stop bickering my to get off my Dreamcast and pick up a controller. I also like the fact that you can make your own player... nice! 2 thumbs up... although I will agree that it can get pretty difficult.
  4. LukeB.
    Dec 10, 2002
    10
    Just AMAZING! Soooo many good points about this game. It looks realisitc, it doesn't play that realistic, but its amazing action. SOOO many things to unlock and so many things to do. Around 30 courts, and loads of top male and female players. This is my favourite Dreamcast game EVER, and in my view Virtua Tennis is the best sports title ever made. Very addictive, easy to play, hard Just AMAZING! Soooo many good points about this game. It looks realisitc, it doesn't play that realistic, but its amazing action. SOOO many things to unlock and so many things to do. Around 30 courts, and loads of top male and female players. This is my favourite Dreamcast game EVER, and in my view Virtua Tennis is the best sports title ever made. Very addictive, easy to play, hard to master. You will keep comming back to it, whether to level up your create tennis player, to play doubles or to become world number 1 in season mode as well as unlocking new courts, new clothes, rackets, and King and Queen. It's a MUST, MUST buy! Expand
  5. ChrisJ.
    Nov 29, 2001
    9
    Just needs more big name players to choose from.
  6. Mar 2, 2014
    5
    Ugh, what a missed opportunity. Take one of the all time great sports games and add the women's draw and Patrick Rafter, what could possibly go wrong? This represents the rapid decline of once great developer am3( Hitmaker) terminating with the horrendous crazy taxi 3. For starters there's no Roddick or Federer, of Agassi and Sampras, though Sampras would apear in later Virtua TennisUgh, what a missed opportunity. Take one of the all time great sports games and add the women's draw and Patrick Rafter, what could possibly go wrong? This represents the rapid decline of once great developer am3( Hitmaker) terminating with the horrendous crazy taxi 3. For starters there's no Roddick or Federer, of Agassi and Sampras, though Sampras would apear in later Virtua Tennis games. Then there's the name change from Virtuia Tennis 2 to Tennis 2K insinuating that VC developed the game, as well as the fact that the female players looked considerably worse than their male counterparts, although this is forgivable considering the male models are reused from the 1st game and the short development time and work load. Am3 made VT2 and Crazy Taxi 2, Virtual On Force(arcade) and a port of Confidential Mission all came out in 2001. The cherry on top of this sundae is the terrible season mode. Ditching the 1st games mode where you chose a real tennis player and took on opponents who were much weaker than you in the beginning. Working you way up to the fiendishly difficult Arthur Ashe clone(grand master) while purchasing gear and clothes. Instead in Tennis 2K you create 2 characters, which is cool, except their much weaker than your opponents. Making this burn even worse is you have to switch back and forth to build up their stats making it take twice as long too level up. Agony. Stick with the much better prequel. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#11 Most Discussed Dreamcast Game of 2001
#10 Most Shared Dreamcast Game of 2001
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 96
    Not only a game anyone can fall in love with but among the best titles I've played on the Dreamcast.
  2. Game Informer
    95
    Every bit as impressive as anything in the EA Sports stable, and is required playing for anyone who loves sports games. [Jan 2002, p.90]
  3. Brilliant. Fans of the original have to buy this as it’s taken the winning formula and improved it in ever way conceivable.