Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. A Witch's Tale is the teacher who says 'look, but don't touch.' [Sept 2009, p.97]
  2. I honestly can’t think of any kind of gamer that would genuinely enjoy this underwhelmingly over-the-top tribute to everything you’d see if Hot Topic made a video game.
  3. This Japanese role-playing game is made of equal parts dull combat and insipid story, A Witch's Tale isn't worth the time it takes to play.
  4. Attempting to bring in new RPG gamers by having lower difficulty isn't enough to save A Witch's Tale from a plodding story, and slow game play.
  5. As cute as A Witch's Tale is, its weak gameplay and slopped-together feel aren't to be appreciated by anyone. [Nov 2009, p.86]
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    7
    The trailer seemed much more convincing, that's for sure. First I'd give this game 10/10 sound. Instantly. The music is absolutely enchanting and really gets you inside the game, the introduction is great the character's designs are great, The story was okay, but that's as good as it gets. The gameplay, whether you walk or battle is entirely stylus based. Buttons in this game are almost useless. You get random battle encounters like in final fantasy, which is pretty annoying here since the stages are huge and are entirely puzzle based, so you want to avoid battles as much as you can, and get to the boss cutscenes for more story since after the introduction you rarely get any talking. This may be one of the easiest RPG's ever, just the "use the same effective spell until the target dies" strategy. To get the real ending of the game you have to beat it twice, which will be significantly faster on your second run, more than twice as fast but still, it is kind of unlikely that the player will have patience to beat such a repetitive game twice=s That was my honest review, all n' all it's an okay game, definitely one I must say is "NOT for anyone". Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    5
    Gameplay - 3/10. Graphics - 6.5/10. Sound - 4.5/10. Overall - 4.7/10. Really just not a good game. 4.7 speaks for itself: Just below average. I had a good time playing it, but I will seriously never play it again. There Full Review »
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    I personally love it. It has great artwork as well as a story. A++++. The way it is played is better than may games i like to play. It is almost like a "cat-and-mouse" game. Many tasks to complete and very difficult to find them depending on what it is. You need to find things to complete other things also. Full Review »