User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 55
  2. Negative: 8 out of 55

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    i love this game and i still play it the battles are awsome the campaign modes are fun to play and challenging and it is a great time killer i cannot think of any thing bad to say about it
  2. Dean
    Jun 5, 2006
    6
    The Age of empires, age of kings for DS is not the best strategy game I ever played. There is no difficultly level to pick. Couple times, the game froze for some reason. If you save couple times or play for next 2 hours, the game will freeze. This only can mean one thing, the game is not worthy to buy. Strategy games for DS can never compete with those of PC. Age of empires 2, Age of The Age of empires, age of kings for DS is not the best strategy game I ever played. There is no difficultly level to pick. Couple times, the game froze for some reason. If you save couple times or play for next 2 hours, the game will freeze. This only can mean one thing, the game is not worthy to buy. Strategy games for DS can never compete with those of PC. Age of empires 2, Age of Mythology and Age of Empires 3 have more features and story mode is logner. It allows you to pick difficulty level, and days are not included. Workers,army, buildings and production of your units takes one day, and same goes for advancing. All I have to say is " Don't buy the game, it is not worth of your time." You want to play real strategy games, buy Age of mythology or Age of Empires. These are better explained, and has better graphics. In age of mythology, you can use the god powers, produce myth units and do much more. These are the real strategy games, and it should be worth to play. Ask your self couple of questions: 1) Does your game freeze or do you have to restart your computer for some reason. 2) Are you having any technical problems. 3) How hard is the game 4) How many times do you have to play the level in order to beat it. I had the same problem with Star Wars Battle front 2. Levels are harder, some missions are impossible to beat, and I had some technical problems. Most of the games today suck. They make them harder, and mission are impossibleto beat . Making games more complicated loses their value. Simple games are more effective and more playable. For example, Super Mario is classical games and everyone loves it. There is no question asks, and I never had a single problem. Creating strategy games for DS, which has limited feature makes the game more frostrating. Some games doesn't work as good as those for computers. Some army units in the game are suppose to be affective, but they aren't. For example, last campaign in this game, anti-cavalry doesn't work well with the Saladins camels. I had to use 3 of them in order to kill the cavalry. If your unit has higher health , the unit can perform better. If you disagree with me, that is just fine. Playing this game is not worth my time neither should be yours. The created wanted to get quick rich with this game. He didn't think this games will have bunch of holes in it. If you want to play real strategy games, you should buy Age of Mythology. It was created couple years age, the game is well created. The best tutortial in any strategy game I ever played. The game will walk you through 3 different civilization and 9 different Gods( each civilization has 3 of them). After you beat 35 levels, then you can play online or start immediately. You can pick difficulty level and there won't be any disappointment. Most of the time, Microsoft game are well design. Expand
  3. DM.
    Nov 5, 2007
    1
    Killer bug is a major problem. I'm on my 3rd game - they all gave me the blue screen of death.
  4. TheplayMaster
    Mar 14, 2007
    8
    The play is really good, but there's many bugs. E.G the game freeze. If the bugs don't was there, i'll give the game 9.
  5. EZ
    Mar 8, 2007
    9
    Superb game. Not for young kids requires a bit of thought. Lovely Medievil illustrations. Quite different from the pc game.
  6. JimiK.
    Jul 1, 2008
    9
    This is a fun game that requires thought. I don't think that the touch screen works as well as the control buttons but use a combination of the two methods that works for me. The bug isn't bad; make sure you have more than 3 letters to your name and save often. It would be a ten if the touch screen was easier to navigate (it can be a pain in the butt trying to activate the This is a fun game that requires thought. I don't think that the touch screen works as well as the control buttons but use a combination of the two methods that works for me. The bug isn't bad; make sure you have more than 3 letters to your name and save often. It would be a ten if the touch screen was easier to navigate (it can be a pain in the butt trying to activate the character you want when they are grouped) and if there were no bug at all. Expand
  7. ChristineK.
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    Awesome game! It's totally addictive... Still haven't found the Robin Hood hero, tho.
  8. RaulB.
    Mar 7, 2006
    8
    this game is pretty good... I think, I haven't play it yet, but it looks good. PS: Juan Orozco from Libertyville, Illinois likes cacaito and loves men.
  9. RolL.
    Apr 3, 2006
    9
    A very cool little game if you like Real-Time Strategy, Turn-Based Strategy gaming. I do not like playing with the DS touch screen options, so I play exclusively with the buttons The double DS screens is a major plus here. I've spent so may hours on this game I've lost count. Bravo for a terrific game!!
  10. T.Money
    May 11, 2006
    9
    This game is really fun, very smart and challenging, 2nd best RTS on the system (although there are only two that's still a huge compliment). I have trouble deciding if I like this or advance wars better - apart from a few issues with bugs and unit visibility, very addicting and awesome. Add another point if you have a DS Lite, the graphics are 10x better with the clearer screen and This game is really fun, very smart and challenging, 2nd best RTS on the system (although there are only two that's still a huge compliment). I have trouble deciding if I like this or advance wars better - apart from a few issues with bugs and unit visibility, very addicting and awesome. Add another point if you have a DS Lite, the graphics are 10x better with the clearer screen and brighter colors. Expand
  11. JasonB.
    May 24, 2006
    10
    Great game. Maybe widen the screen.. make the characters a bit smaller. other than that... the graphis and gameplay are 10 / 10.
  12. MitchK.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Age on empires, age of kings is a brilliant strategy game which requires allot of thought. At the start it is quite hard to 'pick up and play' but after time this game will grow on you.
  13. NateM.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    I played the first 2 AOE games and loved them.This ranks right up there with them. Complex gameplay, many twists and turns, and good graphics for a DS game combine for an excellent product.
  14. TommyR.
    Nov 15, 2006
    8
    Since I completed Advance Wars I have been suffering from withdrawal symptoms. I was hoping that this game would sort me out, and in some ways it has. It isn't perfect, but the graphics are pretty good and the battling isnt too confusing if you think before you move. The developers clearly took notes from A.W. and then pitched Age of Empires at "grownups" (eg those too snobby to like Since I completed Advance Wars I have been suffering from withdrawal symptoms. I was hoping that this game would sort me out, and in some ways it has. It isn't perfect, but the graphics are pretty good and the battling isnt too confusing if you think before you move. The developers clearly took notes from A.W. and then pitched Age of Empires at "grownups" (eg those too snobby to like leading a kid with a walkman into battle, preferring real historical figures instead). Those people who compare the DS with a PC are missing the point. I love my DS because it is little, and I can curl up on the sofa with it when I am tired. I dont want to sit at my desk at these times. NB_ This game isn't as good as Advance Wars, so if you haven't got it , go and buy that instead.. Even if the dialogue is cheesy. But if you were wanting some more turn based action having completed A.W , go and trade in your copy of Brain Training to get this and kill some time before Panzer Tactics comes out.. Just make sure you get some mindless puzzling in as well as the turn based stuff (Meteos, Mr Driller etc). DS heaven. Expand
  15. DuncanB.
    Dec 12, 2006
    0
    Good game but gets a zero from me because of the unacceptable number of bugs for a console release.
  16. NickG.
    Dec 27, 2006
    8
    It's a really nice kingdom-builder strategy game for the DS. My only complaints are over the lack of a multi-player save option which makes winning by conquest virtually impossible unless you leave your DS's on and connected for (potentially) days, and also annoying is the lack of a simultaneous turn-play mode. It's not too bad for just two player, but do three or four and It's a really nice kingdom-builder strategy game for the DS. My only complaints are over the lack of a multi-player save option which makes winning by conquest virtually impossible unless you leave your DS's on and connected for (potentially) days, and also annoying is the lack of a simultaneous turn-play mode. It's not too bad for just two player, but do three or four and everyone's going to be spending a good deal of time twiddling their thumbs. Expand
  17. ColinC.
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    Just finished this game and I loved it. I haven't played Age of Empires since the first one, but this game has made me want to go pick up the latest for the PC. As for which is better, Advance Wars or Age of Empires DS, tough one. I will say that some of the battles in Age of Empires seemed much bigger than anything in Advance Wars. I think Advance Wars is easier to get into right Just finished this game and I loved it. I haven't played Age of Empires since the first one, but this game has made me want to go pick up the latest for the PC. As for which is better, Advance Wars or Age of Empires DS, tough one. I will say that some of the battles in Age of Empires seemed much bigger than anything in Advance Wars. I think Advance Wars is easier to get into right away, but Age of Empires rewards you over the long term. If you like turn based strategy games, I strongly recommend it. Expand
  18. DrewF.
    Feb 19, 2006
    8
    Very cool little game. If you liked "Advance Wars", give this one a go. You won't be disappointed.
  19. DylanH.
    Mar 14, 2006
    9
    Coolest Portable Strategy Game Ever!
  20. KalinF.
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    This game rocks. It is very easy to understand how to play with barley reading the insructions.
  21. JacobHobbs
    Jan 25, 2007
    8
    At school my friend brought his DS lite and I told him I have one too. So he said "Jake. You can have the game. I hate it!". I really liked how he gave it to me, so in my excitement I ran home turned on my DS and played. Boring at first. But then the day after I did empire map instead of campaign. Goog idea! You can build your village without all the interuptions from Campaign mode. TheAt school my friend brought his DS lite and I told him I have one too. So he said "Jake. You can have the game. I hate it!". I really liked how he gave it to me, so in my excitement I ran home turned on my DS and played. Boring at first. But then the day after I did empire map instead of campaign. Goog idea! You can build your village without all the interuptions from Campaign mode. The glitches screw you up sometimes so always save before you end the day. The turn base can get annoying. I own the 1st AOE so I'm used to real time AOE. Anyways, I give this game an 8 because of great gameplay, but glitches and the boring multy-player mode.
    For multi-player, who would want to wait for somebody to end their turn (I take long turns) witch may be long ones, and play empire mode without the fast computer generated moves? Not me.
    Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. If you've got the patience to wrangle units, Age of Kings is a most worthy addition to your game library. [Mar 2006, p.85]
  2. 80
    Age of Empires: The Age of Kings beautifully leverages the DS's unique strength--its interactive touchscreen--to create a truly worthwhile handheld strategy game. With any luck, we're looking at the dawn of a golden age in DS strategy games.
  3. Missions are quite interesting, as you seek out holy relics or protect besieged cities. They can also be very difficult, and there were times when after an hour of desperately trying to wipe out the enemy my army would be decimated and my general slain, forcing me to start over with a fresh approach. Fortunately, the varied strategic choices can make a mission play out quite differently a second time.