User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    This game is just wow! The graphics are wonderfull, I really like all charakters. They are all so cute and cool, the battles are awesome and some of them were really difficult. I really love that game. Sure, you can do so much after the story but for me it's sad that the story is over now because that was a real cool and unique story. There should be more games like this! And the best is,This game is just wow! The graphics are wonderfull, I really like all charakters. They are all so cute and cool, the battles are awesome and some of them were really difficult. I really love that game. Sure, you can do so much after the story but for me it's sad that the story is over now because that was a real cool and unique story. There should be more games like this! And the best is, it's from the same people who created Harvest Moon and Rune Factory. Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    Definitely one of the best DS games. All the negatives this game get in other reviews is just because it does not is the "hash n' slash" type of RPG. Awesome is all that i can say
  3. Jun 7, 2011
    4
    this game is so annoying,when you fight most of the boss battles even if you level up its hard to beat them.
    and all the puzzles and things you have to solve broke my thought of finishing the game.when i saw this game i had this urge to get it but i got it i was so disappointed that i did'nt play the game anymore.a few years later i tried playing it again i got farther than before but
    this game is so annoying,when you fight most of the boss battles even if you level up its hard to beat them.
    and all the puzzles and things you have to solve broke my thought of finishing the game.when i saw this game i had this urge to get it but i got it i was so disappointed that i did'nt play the game anymore.a few years later i tried playing it again i got farther than before but ended up the same way.
    Expand
  4. WallidK
    Mar 30, 2009
    8
    Wow, this really is an experimental game. It's almost like the developers threw whatever they thought on the wall and hoped it would stick. However, these were the developers of the DS Final Fantasy remakes, so most of the stuff they threw were good ideas. However, there are some really obvious flaws in the system, like a 1,490 page book of prophecy that is a pain in the butt to Wow, this really is an experimental game. It's almost like the developers threw whatever they thought on the wall and hoped it would stick. However, these were the developers of the DS Final Fantasy remakes, so most of the stuff they threw were good ideas. However, there are some really obvious flaws in the system, like a 1,490 page book of prophecy that is a pain in the butt to navigate and the fact that you have to juggle enemies into space to get a decent recovery item. Either way, this game is so much that these flaws really don't mean much to me. If you like Action RPG's and like experimental games like The World Ends With You, this is a msut-buy for you guys. Expand
  5. JoseC
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    It is one of the RPG's we've been waiting for to come out on the DS. Its cool and long, most like Runefactory and Harvest Moon with Zelda Graphics, or so the critics say. Its nice to have this game for the DS. I mean, its the most fun I had after The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass.
  6. DanG.
    Mar 15, 2009
    9
    It has a unique take on the concept of a world-making game. You can re-define the meaning of anything in the game.
  7. MatthewW.
    Mar 12, 2009
    8
    It's not a perfect game, but definitely something to try if you are an RPG fan of any kind. The new system with changing the attributes of your friends and enemies, as well as having to customize your own weapon lays out HOURS of game time in itself, just trying to find the right combination. I can't wait to see if they refine this new style.

Awards & Rankings

56
26
#26 Most Discussed DS Game of 2009
54
#54 Most Shared DS Game of 2009
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Nintendo Gamer
    75
    Worth a look if you're a connoisseur of action RPGs. [Apr 2010, p.66]
  2. GamePro
    70
    Avalon code is a pretty linear game with lots of hidden things to find, and some fun little side tasks. [Apr 2009, p.83]
  3. 83
    Avalon Code offers a unique experience among action RPGs. Capturing people and objects in the Book of Prophecy and playing with their attributes is a compelling mechanic you won't find anywhere else. The interface isn't perfect, but it's definitely engaging.