Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the creative minds behind Rune Factory and Harvest Moon with the development studio responsible for the Final Fantasy III and Final Fantasy IV DS remakes comes Avalon Code, an action RPG boasting a deep and engrossing story and innovative game play mechanics. Using the main character’s "Book of Prophecy", players can modify the rules of engagement during battle as well as weapon and monster attributes. The player even has control over the story as it changes depending on which gender the player chooses to play as, enhancing the ability to immerse themselves into the story. [XSEED] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. It is a game that rewards those players willing to dedicate it the many hours its learning curve requests.
  2. 83
    Avalon Code offers a unique experience among action RPGs. Capturing people and objects in the Book of Prophecy and playing with their attributes is a compelling mechanic you won't find anywhere else. The interface isn't perfect, but it's definitely engaging.
  3. Simultaneously walking the beaten path and wildly straying from it, Matrix Software has created a diverse action-RPG that’s very satisfying. The blend of both familiar and completely new gameplay elements in Avalon Code improves the experience rather than detracting from it.
  4. 70
    Avalon code is a pretty linear game with lots of hidden things to find, and some fun little side tasks. [Apr 2009, p.83]
  5. The Book of Prophecy is poorly designed; it turns an innovative concept into an annoying, tedious, headache-inducing chore.
  6. Collecting codes and manipulating them is engaging, but the rest of the experience is merely functional.
  7. Since the combat is so shallow, and the story is rather bland in spite of how different it is, Avalon Code never really sucked me in.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    Definitely one of the best DS games. All the negatives this game get in other reviews is just because it does not is the "hash n' slash" type of RPG. Awesome is all that i can say Expand
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    This game is just wow! The graphics are wonderfull, I really like all charakters. They are all so cute and cool, the battles are awesome and some of them were really difficult. I really love that game. Sure, you can do so much after the story but for me it's sad that the story is over now because that was a real cool and unique story. There should be more games like this! And the best is, it's from the same people who created Harvest Moon and Rune Factory. Expand
  3. JoseC
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    It is one of the RPG's we've been waiting for to come out on the DS. Its cool and long, most like Runefactory and Harvest Moon with Zelda Graphics, or so the critics say. Its nice to have this game for the DS. I mean, its the most fun I had after The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass. Expand
  4. DanG.
    Mar 15, 2009
    9
    It has a unique take on the concept of a world-making game. You can re-define the meaning of anything in the game.
  5. WallidK
    Mar 30, 2009
    8
    Wow, this really is an experimental game. It's almost like the developers threw whatever they thought on the wall and hoped it would stick. However, these were the developers of the DS Final Fantasy remakes, so most of the stuff they threw were good ideas. However, there are some really obvious flaws in the system, like a 1,490 page book of prophecy that is a pain in the butt to navigate and the fact that you have to juggle enemies into space to get a decent recovery item. Either way, this game is so much that these flaws really don't mean much to me. If you like Action RPG's and like experimental games like The World Ends With You, this is a msut-buy for you guys. Expand
  6. MatthewW.
    Mar 12, 2009
    8
    It's not a perfect game, but definitely something to try if you are an RPG fan of any kind. The new system with changing the attributes of your friends and enemies, as well as having to customize your own weapon lays out HOURS of game time in itself, just trying to find the right combination. I can't wait to see if they refine this new style. Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2011
    4
    this game is so annoying,when you fight most of the boss battles even if you level up its hard to beat them.
    and all the puzzles and things
    you have to solve broke my thought of finishing the game.when i saw this game i had this urge to get it but i got it i was so disappointed that i did'nt play the game anymore.a few years later i tried playing it again i got farther than before but ended up the same way. Collapse