Burnout Legends DS

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 59
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 59
  3. Negative: 24 out of 59
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 30, 2015
    7
    hmm the playability of the game is well done, the graphics are good but seem half ps1 XD music is not as good as having your meltijugador the PSP is good .... I give July 1, 10
  2. DME
    Jul 22, 2011
    2
    Terrible graphics, watered-down gameplay, pathetic crashes, and collision problems and glitches make this the worst Burnout in the series. The new game mode 'Pursuit' is nothing more than Road Rage with only one opponent. And Single-Card multiplayer is seriously boring, as there is no traffic or AI and you can only race on one track. The music in the game is tolerable but very limited.Terrible graphics, watered-down gameplay, pathetic crashes, and collision problems and glitches make this the worst Burnout in the series. The new game mode 'Pursuit' is nothing more than Road Rage with only one opponent. And Single-Card multiplayer is seriously boring, as there is no traffic or AI and you can only race on one track. The music in the game is tolerable but very limited. Reviewer "Mike S." says it all. I'm returning this and buying Mario Kart. Expand
  3. BrendanC.
    Jun 29, 2006
    2
    Terrible game, check out reviews on gamespot as well. This shouldn't even have the burout name.
  4. NickJ.
    Apr 25, 2006
    10
    I say 10 out of 10 because its definately the best DS game your going to find out there, i've read many reviews about "Oh its horrid the graphics arent good" or "I hate this, the crashes arent realistic" hello! wake up its the DS its not going to have PSP or Xbox graphics. this is the best racer on the DS by far. But it does let me down a little when you blow up, you turn black and I say 10 out of 10 because its definately the best DS game your going to find out there, i've read many reviews about "Oh its horrid the graphics arent good" or "I hate this, the crashes arent realistic" hello! wake up its the DS its not going to have PSP or Xbox graphics. this is the best racer on the DS by far. But it does let me down a little when you blow up, you turn black and polygon shrapnel just flies out. other than that, it is a must have. Collapse
  5. GarrettG.
    Jan 26, 2006
    7
    It should be more realizetec it goes in slow motion it takes up a lot of time.
  6. TreParker
    Jan 3, 2006
    2
    I do have to give this game props on its graphics, but it just seems that since PSP came out, EA doesn't care about the DS. Let's see... NFS: Most Wanted, horrible. Marvel Nemisis, embarrising. Madden 2006, could have been a lot better. The only good games from EA are NFSU 2 and the 2 Sims games. EA is a great company when it comes to console and PSP, but is a completeI do have to give this game props on its graphics, but it just seems that since PSP came out, EA doesn't care about the DS. Let's see... NFS: Most Wanted, horrible. Marvel Nemisis, embarrising. Madden 2006, could have been a lot better. The only good games from EA are NFSU 2 and the 2 Sims games. EA is a great company when it comes to console and PSP, but is a complete embarrasment on the DS, and this game proves it. Expand
  7. ZaimK.
    Dec 14, 2005
    9
    Where to begin this has to be the best DS game I have ever played. There are classic and new cars in the game. the only thing that lets the game down a bit is the graphics. Otherwise this game is a must Buy
  8. AsirM.
    Dec 10, 2005
    0
    the worst racing game yet for any platform. I think the crashes are horrible, gameplay sux, and kinda reminds me of the pre-school racer toys where the backround moves and not the car. very bad design makes for a very bad game. not at all recommended. (unless your my enemy)
  9. Andrew
    Dec 8, 2005
    0
    The DS is not made for 3D games you can tell this by just looking at all the other 3D games it has the quality of the 3D graphics on all DS games are just terrable the DS is no diffrent to the N64, im off to get a proper handheld consol that can play 3D graphics.
  10. GregH.
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    A very good racing game for the DS :-)
  11. JerryF.
    Dec 5, 2005
    9
    After playing a while I really enjoyed this one. I only believe my own eyes... and this fluent racer is very decent. If you compare it to the PS2 or PSP of course it can't compete, but it looks very good. The handling is a bit wierd but you really go around fast. The crashes are not very fun to play, least I can say, but the other modes are quite good. Ok, I'll spend more time After playing a while I really enjoyed this one. I only believe my own eyes... and this fluent racer is very decent. If you compare it to the PS2 or PSP of course it can't compete, but it looks very good. The handling is a bit wierd but you really go around fast. The crashes are not very fun to play, least I can say, but the other modes are quite good. Ok, I'll spend more time playing Mario Kart, but I'll keep this one for fast moving action. The worlds really look good and speed by real fast. Expand
  12. PinkFloyd
    Dec 2, 2005
    8
    Don't know what everyone is complaining about. I think this game is great. The car controls LIKE A CAR, i.e. one flick of the controller will not make it swerve all the way in that direction like Need for Speed: Underground. There is a 'dead zone' like there should be. Graphics are not like the PS2, but why would anybody expect that from the DS? Yes, Mario Kart is better Don't know what everyone is complaining about. I think this game is great. The car controls LIKE A CAR, i.e. one flick of the controller will not make it swerve all the way in that direction like Need for Speed: Underground. There is a 'dead zone' like there should be. Graphics are not like the PS2, but why would anybody expect that from the DS? Yes, Mario Kart is better and very similar to the N64 version, but that system is very old at this point, and not hard to emulate on a portable like the DS. Bottom line: this game is much better than either NFS gameand about on par with Ridge RacerDS, which had the twitchy controls like I mentioned before, and annoying collison detection, i.e. your car comes to a complete stop if it hits anything. The graphics were better, though. Anyway, Burnout is mindless arcade racing fun and exactly what I expected. Don't let paid off game sites tell you what to think and try it for yourself. Expand
  13. NickyP.
    Dec 2, 2005
    0
    This game is the worst game I have ever played, on any system, in the 25 years of gaming I know! this ds version is horrible. Shame on ea for releasing this game to the public and wasting our hard earned money let alone time! it deserves a zero! and should only be played with a labotomy! greg H below deserves 10 slaps for his review. Since when is a 10 very good? must work for EA, or just This game is the worst game I have ever played, on any system, in the 25 years of gaming I know! this ds version is horrible. Shame on ea for releasing this game to the public and wasting our hard earned money let alone time! it deserves a zero! and should only be played with a labotomy! greg H below deserves 10 slaps for his review. Since when is a 10 very good? must work for EA, or just got a labotomy! Expand
  14. GregH.
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    A very good racing game for the DS :-)
  15. TonyG.
    Dec 2, 2005
    0
    i took a chance at a game coming from an amazing series, and said how bad can it be? it's burn out. oh my god it is the worst racing game of all time!! i would rather play need for speed most wanted, which is also horrible, or better yet an atari racer would be alot better and fun. the only positive thing i did with burnout ds is throw it out of my window. biggest waste of money i took a chance at a game coming from an amazing series, and said how bad can it be? it's burn out. oh my god it is the worst racing game of all time!! i would rather play need for speed most wanted, which is also horrible, or better yet an atari racer would be alot better and fun. the only positive thing i did with burnout ds is throw it out of my window. biggest waste of money ever! steer clear of this one. ea I am shocked, you should be ashamed of letting this one out. Expand
  16. MikeS.
    Nov 30, 2005
    2
    UGH...what a travesty of a game. It's taken everything good that was Burnout and thrown it out, leaving a weak driving game with poor controls, weak graphics, and abysmal gameplay. We've seen through Mario Kart that the DS is capable of MUCH better than this. I'm just glad my boss let me return this one.
  17. NintendoFan
    Nov 2, 2005
    3
    Nintendos problem is that when they created the
    DS they had no competetion and they got lazy with there handheld systems, The DS may be able to do 3d Graphics but surly they could have at least done something with the textures, and this is where Burnout legends falls flat on its face. Imigine racing a coloured box in a blury world. The DS is just not up to these type of games, if you
    Nintendos problem is that when they created the
    DS they had no competetion and they got lazy with there handheld systems, The DS may be able to do 3d Graphics but surly they could have at least done something with the textures, and this is where Burnout legends falls flat on its face. Imigine racing a coloured box in a blury world. The DS is just not up to these type of games, if you want fast hand held racing games go and get a PSP,in the meantime let those of us blessed with the intelegence to get a DS thank the makers for our other great titles that those on the PSP will never see.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#17 Most Discussed DS Game of 2005
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 9 out of 12
  1. 35
    The only positive that can be said about this game: at least it runs at 60 frames per second. We’ve played some bad racing games, but Burnout Legends takes the cake. Really.
  2. 20
    Then we come to the control, which is also shot up quite horrendously. The vehicular turning is pretty lofty at best, where you have to maintain an incredible sense of steering. This, combined with the so-called tactics for scoring takedowns on opponent vehicles, just leads to remarkably bad frustration.
  3. The racing is pathetically underwhelming, the crashes are so painfully halfhearted that they might as well not even exist, and a wide variety of graphical glitches and collision problems turn the whole thing into a serious mess.