User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 44
  2. Negative: 16 out of 44

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 18, 2013
    1
    A bad game. N Space totally ruined the game and put it on a horrible Console. I hate the graphics, multiplayer wont work and I hate the touch screen controls.
  2. Apr 14, 2013
    6
    Okay for younger gamers. Campaign was okay, (Didn't play multilayer) Zombies was harder with a one hit =downed rule, overall, not as good as console version, but still okay!
  3. Jan 19, 2013
    6
    This game is ok. Its what you expect a very weak version of Call of Duty Black Ops. The campaign like any other Call of Duty game was short and boring. The mutilplayer was ok. Overall the game is boring and standard nothing special.
  4. Sep 3, 2012
    4
    They should stop making these for ds. The graphics are pretty bad, the gameplay is just un-fun and it doesn't seem to find a suitable control scheme, despite having many options. The campaign is boring, repetitive, and made even worse by slower gameplay then consoles paired with the bad controls and too much touch screen controls. Multiplayer is ok, but isn't as addictive as consoles, andThey should stop making these for ds. The graphics are pretty bad, the gameplay is just un-fun and it doesn't seem to find a suitable control scheme, despite having many options. The campaign is boring, repetitive, and made even worse by slower gameplay then consoles paired with the bad controls and too much touch screen controls. Multiplayer is ok, but isn't as addictive as consoles, and zombies was just a joke. The maps in zombies were way too small, the zombies were too powerful, and guns and doors costs too much to open. For the next CoD portable, don't put it on ds. THis was very dissapointing when it had so much potential. Put it on 3ds or vita next time. Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2011
    8
    The people who made this DS port put more effort into this than the crap we got on the consoles.... Everything is fresh and new unlike the console ports. A great FPS for the DS and i would recommend this.
  6. Jun 15, 2011
    8
    It's a portable Call of DUTY! The game is getting far better than the first couple. However it is nowhere near as good as it's console counterparts. Graphics are my biggest concern; the pixel sizes could be reduced to help the graphics intensly. The mulitiplayer is great, but the single player needs work. The zombie mode is just as tough as the console versions, only without a destructableIt's a portable Call of DUTY! The game is getting far better than the first couple. However it is nowhere near as good as it's console counterparts. Graphics are my biggest concern; the pixel sizes could be reduced to help the graphics intensly. The mulitiplayer is great, but the single player needs work. The zombie mode is just as tough as the console versions, only without a destructable environment, or the raygun. The servers are still booming, so get this game NOW if you haven't played Call of Duty on ds before. Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    This game is fricken amazing! Halo what? Metal Gear what? Call of Duty Black Ops is the greatest game ever made. The single player campaign is simply spectacular, so much so that many times I was playing I forgot that I was playing a game and thought that I was watching a Hollywood blockbuster! Every character is expressive and convincing. By the time the game is done, you will care forThis game is fricken amazing! Halo what? Metal Gear what? Call of Duty Black Ops is the greatest game ever made. The single player campaign is simply spectacular, so much so that many times I was playing I forgot that I was playing a game and thought that I was watching a Hollywood blockbuster! Every character is expressive and convincing. By the time the game is done, you will care for all of them. Reznov is the epiphany of the word badass! The multiplayer is incredibly simple, but rewardingly difficult to master. It'll suck you in and you'll get thousands of hours out of this game. Expand
  8. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played Call of Duty and for Ds is a very good game when you learn how to play the game how to control, etc. I really want to play Call Of Duty : Black ops, because what I have been seen in the game, has more dynamic and more things to do , so i think that game is better than others ! Expand
  9. Dec 24, 2010
    10
    Just for the sake of the rating of this game, this game is not that terrible with a 77% so I am giving this a 10 to raise the score of this excellent FPS game of its new features that keeps the fun going on and on for a long time. This game is obviously a great game more than a simple average, and I made it pass the control problems making me have a great time playing it for a month soJust for the sake of the rating of this game, this game is not that terrible with a 77% so I am giving this a 10 to raise the score of this excellent FPS game of its new features that keeps the fun going on and on for a long time. This game is obviously a great game more than a simple average, and I made it pass the control problems making me have a great time playing it for a month so far. The multiplayer options are simply amazing that you really got to do multiplayer with a friend or worldwide. Unfortunately, people do not see how great this game is so please support this game for everyone to buy to experience a great FPS game of such a marvelous game play. Do not think this is a joke because this game requires great skills of tactics, stealth, and assault. Expand
  10. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    incredible achievement on the nintendo ds. Fun game play. Accurate controls. Excellent story. Rating based on single player campaign--have not tried multiplayer yet. Awesome, I play this after School everyday, until 11pm. With each installment, Call of Duty just gets better and better on the DS. Black Ops continues this trend, and in fact goes above and beyond the improvements made in pastincredible achievement on the nintendo ds. Fun game play. Accurate controls. Excellent story. Rating based on single player campaign--have not tried multiplayer yet. Awesome, I play this after School everyday, until 11pm. With each installment, Call of Duty just gets better and better on the DS. Black Ops continues this trend, and in fact goes above and beyond the improvements made in past games. From an all new interface, the addition of perks online and zombie mode makes it extremely fun for the boys aged 14-21, this game keeps getting better and better. Awesome game guys and girls for making COD: Black Ops. Expand
  11. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Every year N-space has improved the DS Call of Duty games and Black Ops is no exception. Unlike the other games though, Black Ops has improved EVERYTHING, seemingly without having to compromise any features. Single player feels a lot more engaging, multiplayer is more awesome (Especially online), and the new zombie mode is great. Also, the new leader boards, awards, perks and multiplayerEvery year N-space has improved the DS Call of Duty games and Black Ops is no exception. Unlike the other games though, Black Ops has improved EVERYTHING, seemingly without having to compromise any features. Single player feels a lot more engaging, multiplayer is more awesome (Especially online), and the new zombie mode is great. Also, the new leader boards, awards, perks and multiplayer titles all work flawlessly. N-space seems to have really listened to their fans and if you've ever had any complaints with the DS Call of Duty games, it's probably been fixed or done a lot better this time around. And considering how underpowered the DS is, what N-space has accomplished is not only extremely fun, it feels like playing Call of Duty on one of the big consoles and is well worth your money. I feel sorry for anyone with a DS that doesn't buy this game. It really is awesome.


    Overall, I highly recommend Black Ops on the DS.
    Expand
  12. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    Incredible achievement on the nintendo ds. Fun game play. Accurate controls. Excellent story. Rating based on single player campaign--have not tried multiplayer yet.
  13. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    With each installment, Call of Duty just gets better and better on the DS. Black Ops continues this trend, and in fact goes above and beyond the improvements made in past games. From an all new interface, the addition of perks online and zombie mode every refinement, improvement, and new addition makes Black Ops completely, epicly amazing. Write this game off at your own expense.
  14. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    This game is so very cool and has to be the best fps on the ds! There are so many improvements made to multiplayer and it is so fast to connect. I really like all the host options and perks. The single player mode is challenging and has some awesome looking levels. I can't believe this is a ds game. I think this is a must buy for anyone looking for an action packed handheld game. You willThis game is so very cool and has to be the best fps on the ds! There are so many improvements made to multiplayer and it is so fast to connect. I really like all the host options and perks. The single player mode is challenging and has some awesome looking levels. I can't believe this is a ds game. I think this is a must buy for anyone looking for an action packed handheld game. You will definitely get your money worth from this game. Co-op zombie mode, 6 player multiplayer, an excellent single player campaign, challenge mode, and a leader board system that I hope to improve my standings on very soon. Buy this game! It's a MUST BUY! Collapse
  15. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    I have played through the campaign mode so far and now having a blast playing multiplayer. I really love the zombie mode too. I mean that says it all. Mobilized didn't have zombie mode so that alone is a reason for me to give this game way more props. Zombie's FTW!!
  16. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    This game is so very cool and has to be the best fps on the ds! There are so many improvements made to multiplayer and it is so fast to connect. I really like all the host options and perks. The single player mode is challenging and has some awesome looking levels. I can't believe this is a ds game. I think this is a must buy for anyone looking for an action packed handheld game. You willThis game is so very cool and has to be the best fps on the ds! There are so many improvements made to multiplayer and it is so fast to connect. I really like all the host options and perks. The single player mode is challenging and has some awesome looking levels. I can't believe this is a ds game. I think this is a must buy for anyone looking for an action packed handheld game. You will definitely get your money worth from this game. Co-op zombie mode, 6 player multiplayer, an excellent single player campaign, challenge mode, and a leader board system that I hope to improve my standings on very soon. Buy this game! It's a MUST BUY! Collapse
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 65
    Despite its bells and whistles, Black Ops just can't escape the fact that the core gameplay just isn't fun.
  2. Feb 6, 2011
    62
    Fiddly controls. [Christmas 2010, p.72]
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    80
    The numerous modes and options may not be hot across the board, but the strong campaign and bountiful multiplayer options provide a memorable blast through the Cold War.