Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Duty: Black Ops for the Nintendo DS will feature six-player online multiplayer mode with a new Perks System, as well as a unique two-player Co-Op mode and Arcade and Challenge Modes that allow gamers to replay the single-player missions to earn extra points to unlock additional achievements.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 16, 2010
    90
    On the whole, Call of Duty: Black Ops for the DS is a genuinely solid little shooter.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    88
    Call of Duty: Black Ops was implemented really well to the handheld. The game convinces with a lot of good features like the zombie-mode or the multiplayer possibilities.
  3. Dec 16, 2010
    82
    Call of Duty Black Ops is the most complete First Person Shooter on the DS at the moment.
  4. Dec 10, 2010
    80
    While the visuals are nowhere on par with the Xbox 360 or the PS3 version of the game and the shooting mechanics can leave you begging for your controller at times, shooter fans looking for a genuine Call of Duty experience on the DS should give this game a serious look.
  5. Dec 10, 2010
    79
    The Call of Duty offering here, is a substantial one, and for the target audience, presumably younger gamers with parents averse to horrendous amounts of neck stabbing (a prominent feature of Black Ops on the console, but one mysteriously absent on the DS), this game is perfect.
  6. Jan 2, 2011
    75
    n-Space has been meticulous in its efforts to keep the Call of Duty franchise interesting on DS. Rather than trying to revolutionize the genre with every release, it has slowly been adding features and honing the gameplay to make each entry noticeably better.
  7. Dec 16, 2010
    60
    Despite the game's many other successes, everyone else should approach this with caution.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Every year N-space has improved the DS Call of Duty games and Black Ops is no exception. Unlike the other games though, Black Ops has improvedEvery year N-space has improved the DS Call of Duty games and Black Ops is no exception. Unlike the other games though, Black Ops has improved EVERYTHING, seemingly without having to compromise any features. Single player feels a lot more engaging, multiplayer is more awesome (Especially online), and the new zombie mode is great. Also, the new leader boards, awards, perks and multiplayer titles all work flawlessly. N-space seems to have really listened to their fans and if you've ever had any complaints with the DS Call of Duty games, it's probably been fixed or done a lot better this time around. And considering how underpowered the DS is, what N-space has accomplished is not only extremely fun, it feels like playing Call of Duty on one of the big consoles and is well worth your money. I feel sorry for anyone with a DS that doesn't buy this game. It really is awesome.


    Overall, I highly recommend Black Ops on the DS.
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    With each installment, Call of Duty just gets better and better on the DS. Black Ops continues this trend, and in fact goes above and beyondWith each installment, Call of Duty just gets better and better on the DS. Black Ops continues this trend, and in fact goes above and beyond the improvements made in past games. From an all new interface, the addition of perks online and zombie mode every refinement, improvement, and new addition makes Black Ops completely, epicly amazing. Write this game off at your own expense. Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    This game is so very cool and has to be the best fps on the ds! There are so many improvements made to multiplayer and it is so fast toThis game is so very cool and has to be the best fps on the ds! There are so many improvements made to multiplayer and it is so fast to connect. I really like all the host options and perks. The single player mode is challenging and has some awesome looking levels. I can't believe this is a ds game. I think this is a must buy for anyone looking for an action packed handheld game. You will definitely get your money worth from this game. Co-op zombie mode, 6 player multiplayer, an excellent single player campaign, challenge mode, and a leader board system that I hope to improve my standings on very soon. Buy this game! It's a MUST BUY! Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played Call of Duty and for Ds is a very good game when you learn how to play the game how to control, etc. I really want to play Call Of Duty : Black ops, because what I have been seen in the game, has more dynamic and more things to do , so i think that game is better than others ! Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2011
    8
    The people who made this DS port put more effort into this than the crap we got on the consoles.... Everything is fresh and new unlike theThe people who made this DS port put more effort into this than the crap we got on the consoles.... Everything is fresh and new unlike the console ports. A great FPS for the DS and i would recommend this. Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2013
    6
    Okay for younger gamers. Campaign was okay, (Didn't play multilayer) Zombies was harder with a one hit =downed rule, overall, not as good asOkay for younger gamers. Campaign was okay, (Didn't play multilayer) Zombies was harder with a one hit =downed rule, overall, not as good as console version, but still okay! Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    1
    A bad game. N Space totally ruined the game and put it on a horrible Console. I hate the graphics, multiplayer wont work and I hate the touchA bad game. N Space totally ruined the game and put it on a horrible Console. I hate the graphics, multiplayer wont work and I hate the touch screen controls. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.