Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Jan 6, 2012
    55
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3: Defiance is a competent though flawed handheld shooter.
  2. Nov 25, 2011
    70
    It's not as extravagant, thrilling, or exciting as the main series it's based on, however frame rate and control issues aside, this is a good option for those who want a similar experience on the go.
  3. Dec 17, 2011
    40
    A feeble impersonation of the main event, let down by ageing hardware. [Jan 2012, p.93]
  4. Nov 23, 2011
    65
    I enjoyed Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3: Defiance on the DS though there are a few things that bring it down. The graphics are still rough and they totally missed an opportunity to use the now affordable 3DS's power.
  5. Nov 24, 2011
    78
    N-Space did the best possible job porting Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 to Nintendo DS. The game is fun, it's got a good number of missions and the online multiplayer works good. You can also use classic controls instead of the awkward stylus ones.
  6. 60
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3: Defiance isn't going to win any awards, but as a DS port of a popular franchise, it does a decent job making the experience portable.
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    60
    A solid portable shooter crippled by rapidly aging hardware. It's tough going from even an iPad shooter like Modern Combat 3: Fallen Nation to this. Of course, if all you own is a DS, it's one of the better first person titles for the system, but that's not saying much.
  8. Not without its flaws but an impressive shooter given the limitations of the hardware.
  9. Jan 14, 2012
    40
    N-Space's reach exceeds DS's grasp. Give this nonsense a miss and wait for their excellent Heroes of Ruin on 3DS instead. [Christmas 2011, p.68]
User Score
1.0

Overwhelming dislike- based on 260 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 26 out of 33
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    I have played all previous Moder warfare titles including black ops and world at war (in between cod4 and modern warfare 2). I knew from that start the multiplayer looked the same but to my surprise they changed almost nothing. Even the sound effects are the same! are you kidding me!? Still running the quake III engine from 1999! All the texture models are the same expect shiner. However i dident fret i figured the campian is always epic right! NO! They basically held my hand down a straight path and then spoon fed me explosions. Sadly disappointed. If your a fan id wait for the bargain bin Full Review »
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Turd in a case.

    same old campaign which is a relief when it finishes after only 3 hours. Complete and utter garbage I could not believe they
    had the cheek to even call it MW3 when I was sure I was playing MW2.

    RENTAL if curious about this skid mark stain on the gaming industry
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    The best game I've ever played for the Nintendo DS! Forget these haters writing reviews. One of these guys is complaining about the PS3 version, which is a completely different game altogether. The other guy is obviously is just one of those guys who hates anything that isn't Battlefield. Forget the console version of MW3. You ain't %^&$ unless you're defending Baltimore. Full Review »