User Score
1.0

Overwhelming dislike- based on 260 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 260

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    I have played all previous Moder warfare titles including black ops and world at war (in between cod4 and modern warfare 2). I knew from that start the multiplayer looked the same but to my surprise they changed almost nothing. Even the sound effects are the same! are you kidding me!? Still running the quake III engine from 1999! All the texture models are the same expect shiner. However i dident fret i figured the campian is always epic right! NO! They basically held my hand down a straight path and then spoon fed me explosions. Sadly disappointed. If your a fan id wait for the bargain bin Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Turd in a case.

    same old campaign which is a relief when it finishes after only 3 hours. Complete and utter garbage I could not believe they had the cheek to even call it MW3 when I was sure I was playing MW2.

    RENTAL if curious about this skid mark stain on the gaming industry
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    The best game I've ever played for the Nintendo DS! Forget these haters writing reviews. One of these guys is complaining about the PS3 version, which is a completely different game altogether. The other guy is obviously is just one of those guys who hates anything that isn't Battlefield. Forget the console version of MW3. You ain't %^&$ unless you're defending Baltimore.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Seriously? as soon as you have boring battlefield? Have you already bored of BF3 to the point where you have nothing better to do right?,

    Fanboys trolling everywhere :S
  5. Mar 26, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. how can this game hve call of duty written on the cover......seriously.......i played a few levels on my friends game and guess what i wanted to do the on the first level quit....first off the game is horrible that the game has no downlpad play.....theres wi fi but not as mny people ever play on that......this basicly explains why i hate the campaign mode......your team sucks is a first......i mean seriously these guys are so bad they have problems even coming close to hitting a target......these guys might as well be used as human shields.....in this one helicopter level your partner randomly sapzzes out and just aims his machine gun at the water and shoots the water for the whole level.......while your prtners doing that your being targeted by a million enemys who have rifals who decide to constantly shoot at you.....another reason i hate this game is because of what happens when you hate your team and want to ditch them.....when you ditch your team and a sign comes up that says your leaving th mission area you light want to go back to your partner.....if you dont and you bump into an enemy then you die in one shot and trust me cpus wont miss at all.....third reason i hate this game is lack of a few important controls.....they dont have a jump button and you can only cross over something if your team tells you to......another bad reason........the poor poor graphics and the fact that the cpus suck miserably......last reason i hate this game is how half of the time your either in the air protecting and shooti ng little dots....or your running from an enemy as a little dot.....there isnt as much of the call of duty shoot out.....overall i dont even recomend renting this game......take away the call of duty nme on the box you get worthless junk you dont want to waste 30 bucks on....... Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    Hello, this review is for Luke Reilly of IGN AU. I want him to know that he is a turd of a human being, and the world would be better served if he spent his time behind a cash register instead of wasting everyone's time with garbage editorials. Oh yeah, this is getting a 0 because it's the worst game ever, even worse than Superman 64.
  7. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    I'd be saying to much if I were to say this game is MW2.5 It's more Like MW2: The Lost DLC Edition Because it's basically the same game! I can't believe I was tricked into buying $60 DLC. The mulitiplayer maps are the worst in the series, The singleplayer is way to short, and the graphics, same dull texters Instead of getting Skyrim, I wasted my hard earned cash on this pathetic excuse for a game
    Never in my life have I felt like such a dumbass
    Collapse
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    The sentence of ACTIVISION:

    "Normally I do not do that, but if you like MW3 go to Metacritic.com and support Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3. His note is suspiciously low. Be honest, but help us if you agree."

    MW2.1 is a joke!
  9. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Every Call of Duty since CoD4 has tried so hard to out-do its predecessor to the point where its made me look upon some of the greatest FPS games ever made, and think they are obselete. It has made me look at games in new ways, and think, "what is this game doing new, and if its not doing anything new, why play it?"

    Its horrible to think that I used to play marathon sessions of games like
    Counter Strike, CoD 4, and Halo 3, and now I dont even want to think about them. Expand
  10. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Just a blatant copy paste of their previous release, just like activision loves to do. It gets boring very fast, I've never really understood the hype about this game, I rented it and just found out like many other that it wasn't good at all. I don't even see any improvments from the past games, nothing out of the ordinary and mostly nothing that looked like something original and new. Everything is just the same, they just make these games for money seriously... Expand
  11. Mar 8, 2012
    1
    This game fails before you even play.. First of all the genre of FPS can not be pulled off very well on a handheld console, Especially with the graphical limitations of the DS. Don't get me wrong i do not mind the Call of Duty franchise infact i have and own all the CoD games (even the PC based ones) and i have to say playing this made me feel dirty. The gameplay is weak and bland, No story interest or replay value at all. Expand
  12. Dec 8, 2012
    2
    I've pooed out better things to put in my DS in the mornings. But never made the mistake of putting any of them in the machine. This is a poor shooter.
  13. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Badass multiplayer experience, but its single player is flawed. MW3: Defiance based its campaign parallel to the main games where you control British S.F.S.G and American National Guards to fight back against the invading Russian Army. Jumping into action across the U.S from Alaska to Maryland gives various environments and with over 30 weapons to choose from. Giving it a first-person view, it has a decent 3D/2D environment giving you a good sense of being in an open world. The graphics are very slick and decent in a 3D world but pixels are visible if closely looked at giving it a slightly distorted view. A choice of over 30 weapons is impressive, but returning weapons from the 20th century is weird enough to bring it in a modern time world. Varieties of SMG, LMG, assault rifles, sniper rifles, rocket launchers, pistols with attachments of silencers, grenade launchers, and scopes makes the weapons look great and lethal. Characters were reused by previous DS games such as CODMW: Mobilized and COD Black Ops, but there are new additions of characters in snow uniforms too. AI is not too impressive, but that does not mean that they will not mow you down with gunfire, lob grenades, or take cover. Whenever they die, they give out their deathcry but their comrades will care less about it unless they hear unsilenced gunfire or explosions. A slow-motion effect of breaching with a charge, plenty of destructible objects, and using an RC-XD are all great things that contribute to the game. There are some nice music such as rock and tons of dialogue from your fellow soldiers, but some of the sounds from the guns can make you feel like you are shooting a BB gun that can kill people. Depending on how good your DS is, there are mysterious squeaking sounds that can occur whenever there is too much things going on at once. It can go up to 30-45fps but there are moments when it drops to 25fps. There is a glitch where you die from one hit if there are too many foes spawned. Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3: Defiance has THE GREATEST MULTIPLAYER than any other DS games I had ever seen. With up to 6 players (multi-cartridge) in local or Wi-Fi, start dominating the battlefield in 6 game modes and kill to rank up, unlock perks, and more weapons. With 14 maps to choose from and the ability to create your own class with primary and secondary weapons, grenade types (frag and flash), titles, and 2 perks. There are 2 types of controls for people to choose but stylus control is recommended to choose from for precision aiming which may take a few hours to practice. It was expected to have survival mode, arcade mode, and killhouse but there isnâ Expand
  14. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Game is absolute garbage. The campaign just felt absolutely forced and was completely forgettable by the end of it. Spec Ops is trash because zombies in WaW and Black Ops was just so much better. Not to mention you were able to play it with upto 3 other people that you know! Where's the fun in fighting endless enemies with only one other person? There is no fun in that. On to multiplayer... the maps are the worst I have ever seen. The graphics are extremely dated, Battlefield 3 just completely slaughters this game. The textures are also horrendous! Everything about this game is re-used from Modern Warfare 2. This game doesn't feel fresh at all. All of the guns and skins are re-used... the menus as well... even some of the buildings and vehicles. The sounds of the guns are still bad, and some are the same as MW2. Battlefield 3 is just so much better. Sorry if the truth hurts. This game is just a bad DLC to a game that came out two years ago. Save your money! Expand
  15. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Why drop $60 on a game which had hacks and aimbots on the first day and which the developer does nothing to fix? Go to Youtube and lookup "First Ever MW3 Aimbot". Also lookup the number of bots/hacks/cheats for Call of Duty 2 you will see plenty of them that are still active and that the developer has done nothing about. That speaks volumes about this company and its' priorities. It is also sad that they are going to charge you an extra charge for their Elite service when the rankings are already skewed due to aimbots. If I am going to spend $60 on this game I want support that will fix these issues and punish those that it finds cheating. They really dropped the ball on this franchise with this rushed, buggy, hacked piece of junk. Expand
  16. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    i cant believe i wasted my $$$ on this piece of #####.
    game plays the same feeels the same.
    this should be dlc rather than a full game. this is the last time you got my $$$ activition.
  17. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    This game sucks, I can't believe people are still buying this mainstream crap. They make the same game every year, make some new maps for the boring multiplayer, and slap together a linear, run from point a to b campaign. Its as bad as the ea sports games, as its just milking people year after year. If you've never played the games before, you might enjoy this, but if you've sick and tired of the yearly repetitive cod formula save your money and stay away, you'll find little to nothing new. Expand
  18. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    Tired game , Tired engine, Same crap gets put out every single year for four years and people flock to toss their cash away, sad really sad. I have played it it IS THE SAME AS MW2. why would you buy it again ?? Activision is laughing all the way to the bank! This is pathetic ans should have been released as an expansion pack nothing more!
  19. Jul 28, 2012
    0
    Worst Game Of 2011 & 2012!
    I Feel Bad Giving It A 0! But Really? Its So Expensive And Your Barley Getting A "Good Game"
    Very Lazy Graphics.. Really Boring As Hell...
    Modern Warfare Is Fun. On Anyother Syestem But DS!
  20. Feb 18, 2014
    4
    What is this **** Who thought this was a good idea? The 3DS (a undeniably superior console) was out at the time this game released. WHY DIDN'T THEY PUT IT ON THAT! If they had made a 3DS version, they could have made a slightly better game, maybe a 6/10. But no. They put it on the DS. Why? Because more people have the DS, so they had more potential customers. This is a money grabber, and there was no reason for this version to exist. The DS can and does have good shooters, like GTA CTW, so they can't blame the console. Expand
  21. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    The DS versions of the franchise share boxart and basic premise with the console versions of Call of Duty, however the DS series also includes it’s own narrative which is parallel to the console story. The story details a fictional war which happens between Russian forces and the rest of the world. You globetrot across various locations of the world and try to kill the enemy forces, before they kill you. Story mode is exciting and the voice-over work help you get immersed in the story. The music comes in just when the action starts heating up which is very nice.

    Like in the Black Ops DS game, this game features some of the same functionality as the console versions. Attachments are equipment-specific items such as scopes and grenade launchers which add extra functionality to your weapon. You will unlock these in Multiplayer mode (which are listed as separately from the main weapon). There is also a perk system whereby you can equip two separate perks to two different slots. One example is Martyrdom which makes your character drop a live grenade on death, or Sleight of Hand, which increases your reload time. While Black Ops also had a perk system, in this game, there are two perk tiers which are mutually exclusive. Therefore there are limitations in which perks you can equip at any one time.

    Online Multiplayer is frantic and fun, whether you fight strangers or friends. You can have six player matches of a variety of different modes. Deathmatch and Team Deathmatch are typical modes in which you either kill other players or work as a team against the enemy. In Sabotage, one team has to defend a target while the other team tries to destroy it. This involves planting a bomb on the specific point and making sure it detonates. The teams then swap over. There are also three game modes which have been transferred over from the console versions. These are: Gun Game (You start with a pistol and get a different weapon for each kill you make, while getting knifed will drop you down a level), Sharpshooter (Each player has a randomised weapon every 45 seconds which is shared with all the other players) and One in the Chamber (Which is a survival mode where each person only has one bullet (which is an instant kill), and a knife Killing an enemy gets you an extra bullet).

    New to this DS game is the “Macro” and “Loadout” functionality. “Macro” are settings you can customise before a game so that you can definite custom game settings easily in advance without fiddling with menus in the middle of a hectic session. Loadouts are the same, but for player equipment. So you could have a “Sniper” setup and a “Shotgunner” setup as two different Loadouts which you could rapidly change.

    As you rack up kills in Multiplayer mode, you unlock new titles, weapons and perks. These help bring a lot of replayability to the game and keep it fresh and fun. There are extra challenges to complete such as “Win a Multiplayer match using only a knife” or “Achieve a 15 kill streak”. There are also challenges for story mode levels such as “Kill 5 enemies using throwing knives”.

    As a Call of Duty fan, I could easily see myself playing this game for a while. It has a lot of functionality and really does push the DS hardware as far as it can go. While not a perfect game, it is a great example of fantastic First-Person Shooter gameplay on a portable console and a good benchmark for the next generation of portable FPS games.
    Expand
  22. Jan 19, 2013
    1
    Awful! the copied maps from past Call of Duty game, they copied weapon models from past Call of Duty game. It seems that some of the campaign missions were not bug tested. Overall just an awful game.
  23. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    I'd be saying to much if I were to say this game is MW2.5 It's more Like MW2: The Lost DLC Edition Because it's basically the same game! I can't believe I was tricked into buying $60 DLC. The mulitiplayer maps are the worst in the series, The singleplayer is way to short, and the graphics, same dull texters Instead of getting Skyrim, I wasted my hard earned cash on this pathetic excuse for a game
    Never in my life have I felt like such a dumbass
    Collapse
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Jan 14, 2012
    40
    N-Space's reach exceeds DS's grasp. Give this nonsense a miss and wait for their excellent Heroes of Ruin on 3DS instead. [Christmas 2011, p.68]
  2. Jan 6, 2012
    55
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3: Defiance is a competent though flawed handheld shooter.
  3. Dec 17, 2011
    40
    A feeble impersonation of the main event, let down by ageing hardware. [Jan 2012, p.93]