Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 2036, one year after the events of "Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow." Soma Cruz finds himself at the center of a mysterious cult's plan to resurrect their evil lord and master Dracula. In order to save himself and protect the lives of those he loves, Soma must infiltrate the enemy's home base, a towering replica of Dracula's castle that is teaming with monstrous creatures. Defeat foes with the "Magic Seal" system using the touch screen. Exchange souls with other players via the DS wireless connection. Features an incredible musical score, next-gen graphics & stunning special effects. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. 100
    Though more touch screen functionality would have been preferable, or maybe even a bit of microphone-influenced play, at least there are options to connect to other players wirelessly for some trading or versus play.
  2. Dawn of Sorrow matches and in some cases exceeds the quality of "Symphony of the Night" in almost every way. Yet the two games have their own styles and features, so the newest addition to the series is in no way redundant with its legendary forebear. [JPN Import]
  3. To my surprise, Dawn of Sorrow struck all the right chords and never hit a sour note. It's deep, it's gorgeous, but most of all, it's a fun excuse to smack the tar out of stuff.
  4. This game represents 2D gaming at its finest and shouldn’t missed by anyone. Yes, the touch screen implementation kind of hinders gameplay, but Dawn of Sorrow is still one of best, if not the best, Castlevania game to date.
  5. If the graphics and sound aren't engrossing enough to draw you in, the intriguing story and exhilarating action should be. [Nov 2005, p.104]
  6. 85
    If you liked "Aria of Sorrow," pick up DoS. If not, steer clear.
  7. 70
    Perhaps it is time for the series to evolve again rather than looking inward, just as it did nearly a decade ago when SotN was unleashed on an unsuspecting world. [JPN Import]

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. MahebruH.
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    Yes. a "10". it's that good.
  2. Menace
    Oct 29, 2005
    10
    Practicly the best game out for the DS, this and Trauma Center.
  3. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    *REVIEW EDITED*
    Sequel to Aria of Sorrow which was on GBA, Dawn of Sorrow takes place a year later with the player getting to control Soma
    Cruz once again and to explore the entire castle, dominate monster souls, experience breathtaking boss fights, and to find a variety of weapons and armor. I must say I was really impressed with the storyline in Dawn of Sorrow. As well as the awesome characters from Aria, there were some new interesting characters too, as well as some nice twists. The game is simply beautiful. The stages are designed exceptionally well, with lovely 3D views on the background, and the soundtrack is just mindblowing, perhaps even surpassing Aria's. The game's difficulty is also somewhat moderately high, but not frustrating like Circle of the Moon. Most of the game can be played without the need to level grind. Only near the end of the game, when going towards the good ending, some grinding is greatly beneficial. The only feature I sort of disliked in Dawn of Sorrow was the magic seal system. Although the idea is good, the punishment for failing to draw a magic seal correctly is too extreme, i.e. the boss you Expand
  4. ROBBMAC
    Oct 7, 2005
    9
    9.5 is my score... I think this game is pretty good, I actually like the fact that they didn't go over board putting gimmicky touch screen features in this game. I would have given it a 10 had they left the touch screen parts out all together, but they usage they chose IS fitting. Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    If you love Castlevania, you'll love Dawn of Sorrow. Not a whole lot has changed since the switch to 'Metroidvania' in Symphony of the Night- but how is that a bad thing? Dracula's castle is as exciting as ever, with some impressive DS visuals presenting players with a wide variety of different areas to explore. It's possible to level up and equip a wide array of different weaponry and armour, giving players a perfect amount of customisation for their character. The classic Castlevania formula works flawlessly on DS and will be sure to have you coming back for more. Expand
  6. JohnnyD.
    Apr 20, 2006
    9
    freakin fantastic the monsters are cool the magics the combats, everything works. i wish their was also a rockets lawncher.
  7. ChrisK.
    Oct 10, 2005
    0
    Hattori, surely you can't be so ignorant to think they made this game for the DS groundup. One year for a Castlevania game? No, it began as a GBA game, and they just threw in some gimmicky touch screen soul things to make people think it's a DS game, it's worked on you I guess. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.