Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 57
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 57
  3. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 100
    Chrono Trigger is a masterclass in RPG design, its execution so far beyond the quality and poise of contemporary JRPGs it's embarrassing. It represents the work of a company at the very top of its field, a team of designers so confident with the rules that they helped establish that they felt free to subvert and invert them to glorious effect.
  2. We would normally hesitate to give any rerelease such a high score, but this is the ultimate edition of a true classic.
  3. 100
    Chrono Trigger is one of the most charming, endearing, and most fun role playing games I have ever had the pleasure of playing.
  4. Chrono Trigger has always been known for being one of the best in the genre. Plenty of reasons for that. This is the first legit opportunity for European gamers to try this classic, and the score is justified.
  5. Regardless of whether or not you have played Chrono Trigger before, the DS remake is an absolute must-own for any RPG fan and is easily one of the year’s best releases.
  6. 100
    On the whole, the game is still full of fantastic little touches that you can’t help but love, all presented and executed in a simply timeless fashion. You can’t ask much more than that.
  7. 100
    This is a genuine classic, and portability just makes it that much better.
  8. Never mind videogaming, Chrono Trigger is one of the great recent examples of storytelling in any medium. In short, it's everything role-playing games are meant to be, sucking you into a unique world until your identification with the game is inseparable from the characters and their goals.
  9. If you've never played Chrono Trigger, then this is the version to get. The port is great, it looks really solid on the DS, runs fine, and everything is intact.
  10. 100
    It prides itself on being undyingly faithful to its source material; opting to create the ultimate edition of this must-own title with additions that never distract from the innovations that made the game a classic in the first place.
  11. 100
    For fans, the reason to pick up Chrono Trigger is simply because it's available, intact, and enhanced. For newcomers, it's because the game has easily withstood the test of time.
  12. Regardless of whether you missed it the first time or not, Chrono Trigger is a must-own game!
  13. 100
    Regardless of whether you played it already or are new to the series, you owe it to yourself to check out this amazing title. [Dec 2008, p.97]
  14. Easily one of the best video games I've played in the recent past, and I've played quite a few of them. Whether or not you're a fan of consoled-based role-playing games, you owe it to yourself to try this one; it might just change your opinion of them.
  15. From a gaming era that you would think was long forgotten comes a remake of one of the best RPG games ever to be released, now available on the DS, and a must play.
  16. 95
    While the DS can do more than the SNES could almost 15 years ago, this version of Chrono Trigger is definitively basic and could keep you entertained forever.
  17. Ultimately, Chrono Trigger is a good classic, as enjoyable today as it was years ago. It has not aged badly, and in fact, it can bring some new fresh features to players who didn't know it, in spite of the later titles they might have played.
  18. I could not be more pleased with this rerelease, and I certainly applaud Square Enix for rewarding their longtime fans with such a classic title on a current system. However, this game is not just for longtime fans, and if you have never been able to experience Chrono Trigger, the DS provides the perfect vehicle to do so.
  19. As a remake this is recommended, but as it's a 'new' game in the UK it's essential. [Feb 2009, p.76]
  20. If you've played CT before and never "got it," or if you've avoided it for whatever reason, now's your chance to give it the shot it deserves. It will be well worth your time.
  21. It is definitely the most engaging RPG experience you’ll find on the DS and will continue to be played and praised.
  22. 91
    Chrono Trigger DS is a faithful port of the wonderful original, with subtle improvements to the script and a little extra gameplay. If the very, very minor sound issues, or the moderately-retro graphics don't bother you, then is a must-own, especially if you've never played it before.
  23. You don’t have to pay hundreds of dollars for a US SNES version on eBay, import a Super Famicom and game from Japan or play the weaker PSOne version. This game is not only one of the best games ever made, but one of the best DS games available right now that every DS and RPG fan should have in their collection.
  24. It gets better as it goes, and perhaps even better with age, and still puts most other RPGs to shame.
  25. Despite a few minor quibbles, Chrono Trigger is a triumph; there's a new dungeon to explore for those who are looking for something new and for those who've never played the game, or who've forgotten just how incredible it is, there's a whole world to save and a whole history to rewrite as you see fit.
  26. Chrono Trigger achieves a level of quality that most games today still haven't achieved, and it's a perfect example of balanced game design.
  27. Chrono Trigger is brilliant for loads of reasons: the unobtrusive combat, the time-traveling plot, the incredible character design, the entrancing music, but what impresses most is how great it plays despite the fact it's 14 years old. It feels fresh, vibrant and innovative.
  28. Few games stand the test of time like Chrono Trigger. A role-playing classic, it's one of the very best the genre has to offer.
  29. Chrono Trigger hasn't lost its magic in 2009. The combat system is unique and effective, the story and its characters impressive and even the looks and sound of the game are more than you could wish for. It the end it was worth waiting for a European version.
  30. 90
    I could say it in a thousand different ways, but let's put it simply: whether you already have this game or not, you have to buy Chrono Trigger DS, because it's just one of the best RPGs ever, if not one of the best games ever.
  31. Chrono Trigger DS is a remake done right, and both longtime fans and new players should pick it up.
  32. One of the best roleplaying adventures ever made is revived for the Nintendo DS, and it's as fantastic as it ever was. Despite being 14 years old this game still manages to wipe the floor with most games released in it's wake. Design, script, sound, characters, the time traveling mechanic and a number of other features are simply so ingenious that more than a decade of subsequent games has seen few titles to rival this experience.
  33. Time-proved game shows its quality in the world of next-gen graphics. Chrono Trigger is one of the best RPGs in history and DS version allows European players to enjoy it for the very first time. [Feb 2009]
  34. Chrono Trigger rightfully climbs to the olymp of roleplaying games. Charming graphics, great story and a neat combat system make this classic an instant hit on the NDS!
  35. It's a true classic, and playing it should be a government-mandated rite of passage for any role-playing fan. [Dec 2008, p.130]
  36. Despite my criticisms, Chrono Trigger is an amazing adventure and a required purchase for ardent fans and anyone who's never played the game before. [Holiday 2008, p.82]
  37. Regardless of price or underwhelming extra features, this is an excellent and authentic port of my personal favorite game of all time, and one I would recommend to virtually anyone. If you can read, you should play Chrono Trigger, and the new DS version is an accessible way to do that.
  38. 90
    Consider this one highly recommended. Chrono Trigger does not disappoint.
  39. Sticklers for plot and veterans who are only searching for something new in their old favorite may be disappointed, but for everyone else, Chrono Trigger has aged well.
  40. Although 15 years have passed since its first publishing, Chrono Trigger is back on Nintendo DS with a devastating energy. Thanks to great graphics and design by Akira Toriyama the game delivers a great role playing experience. The narrative structure is deep and builds around fascinating characters, leading the player to thirteen different finales. A must-buy for every DS owner and role playing fan.
  41. 90
    Chrono Trigger is one of the best examples of what the Japanese RPG experience can offer. Its gameplay feels more unique and inviting to those who aren't enamored with selecting boring attack commands for their static sprites to follow.
  42. 90
    Chrono Trigger DS truly stands the test of time. From the distinct 2D visuals, to the wonderful score, to the singular characters, to the unique take on a well-known battle system, everything was done exquisitely in the 90s, and it is all there and just as fun today.
  43. Chrono Trigger is a timeless classic. The game's first European release was long overdue but it isn't too late even after 14 years. Of course the game can't deliver the same impact as it did back in the day but there's still a lot to love. [Mar 2009]
  44. Chrono Trigger is simply brilliant and an absolute must-have for any RPG-Fan – but everyone else should also take a closer look despite the simple 2D-graphics and the lack of a German translation.
  45. 88
    The game is virtually unchanged in its core, having a new script re-write, but retaining the visuals, music, character designs, interface styles, and options of the source material. At the same time, Square Enix also ensures that this is the definitive version of Chrono Trigger out there, as the game comes complete with every option you could ever want for touch vs. button control, two or single screen display, or game pacing and difficulty.
  46. The must-have DS RPG you've like already played through, Chrono Trigger is a thoroughly entertaining game with a lengthy quest, an excellent combat system, an unforgettable soundtrack, likable characters and so much more.
  47. Not as perfect as grandad remembers, but its design quirks fade under an onslaught of unrelenting brilliance. [Mar 2009, p.68]
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 283 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 70
  2. Negative: 4 out of 70
  1. JimG
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    I don't know how anyone could give this game less than a 9. It is, without a doubt, one of the best RPGs of ALL time. If not, THE best. It's a great DS port of the original with a few newly added additions that is definitely worth the experience and price tag all over again. Full Review »
  2. Jul 6, 2012
    8
    Reading the previous reviews, we seem to be split into two camps, those who love this game and have given it 10's, and those who are rating it compared to today's rpg's and a frustrated with the graphics and fighting engine. I'll put myself a bit more towards center here, and agree with the haters that compared to today's standards Chrono Trigger leaves a bit to be desired. However, it's ridiculous to compare a 17 year old game to Skyrim. I have never played any version of Chrono before this one and am very happy that I checked it out. The story is great, and the graphics and battle system were ground breaking in their day. I would also note that my 4 and 6 year old kids watched me play the entire game, from start to finish, and enjoyed the entire game. I believe that this says a lot about the universal appeal of this time twisting tale. Full Review »
  3. ZackS.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    I try and like RPG's i really do, but most of the time i get bored with them a few days after i get this. Its either the story starts to waver or you get lost and have no idea were your going. but thats not the case with chrono trigger. Chrono trigger takes place in a alternative universe (OMG NO WAY!) Your main character is chrono, from what i see he is a teenage hero who has to save the worldd (OMG NO WAY) originol right? well actually it is. Chrono Trigger is a remake of a snes game and back then this was ground breaking stuff. I never played the originol Chrono Trigger but i have always heard about how awesome it was. When i heard of the DS remake i just had to get it. And i wish i hunted down a copy of it for the snes.. and a snes but ya this game is abosulty fantastic. After you start your journey with chronos you meet up with a princess that disguised as a normal person to blend in and excape the castle. (Again OMG NO WAY) After you meet up with her you meet one of your friends who is working on a teleporter. You test it out for her and it works. The princess wants to try it anfter you and from what i understood her amulet reacted to the teleporter and teleported hero into the past. You being the brave hero follow her. You find yourself back in the at the exact same spot you were before. Here you are intoduced to the combat mechanics. The combat mechanics are actually very cool and work very very well. If you ahve ever played Final Fantasy 10-2 you might know how this works better then i can explain it. There is a little bar and you ahve to wait for it to fill up to attack. (OMG THIS IS GROUND BREAKING STUFF) Yes its not turn base suprisingly. When your opponent attacks the bar stops and you have to wait for them to finish. Same if your allies attack. You can have up to 3 allys including chrono who can not be changed out. He always seems to be able to attack quicker then any of your allies and you can use combo attacks with your allies. A example if you use the combo of chrono adn lucca chrono runs up to the enemy and starts spinning his sword around (a move he can already do) But lucca uses her flame thrower and ignits the sword on fire and does burn damage to the enemy. The only down side is that when you try and use items it takes a few seconds to find everything and you feel rushed if you are in a boss battle. The intier game can be played using the touch screen. I found myself going back and fourth between the styles and the buttons. Thats only because im more used to using the buttons but when it comes to battle its best to use the syalus. I have to go (in study hall bell just rung) But before i do let me just say that this is one of the few games i actually finished for the DS. Im not much of a handheld gamer but this game is a classic and classics dont die. They are just reborn. Full Review »