Chrono Trigger DS

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 326 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 326

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JimG
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    I don't know how anyone could give this game less than a 9. It is, without a doubt, one of the best RPGs of ALL time. If not, THE best. It's a great DS port of the original with a few newly added additions that is definitely worth the experience and price tag all over again.
  2. JohnSmith
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    Brilliant game even back on the SNES. The story was the best part, and the control given to the player to alter the outcome at the ending depending on how much or how little you played beyond the basic soft-cap on the events that HAVE to be completed.
  3. anonymous
    Aug 25, 2009
    8
    Its a good game, really fun and all. but it seems like every critic was just giving it a ten in order to avoid being mauling by feral square enix fans, like fallout 3, its fun, but overrated
  4. May 3, 2011
    9
    I just finished this game and it was great. I have never played it before and am not a huge jrpg guy but this one was pretty captivating once it got into the main story line. The story is great but in a "i can appreciate this because its old" story, like a good old movie, instead of a "wow this rivals mass effect" type of great. One thing that can turn off a lot of people is theI just finished this game and it was great. I have never played it before and am not a huge jrpg guy but this one was pretty captivating once it got into the main story line. The story is great but in a "i can appreciate this because its old" story, like a good old movie, instead of a "wow this rivals mass effect" type of great. One thing that can turn off a lot of people is the difficulty, this game was really easy. It actually worked well for me though because I dont play many of these games and the story really is compelling enough to keep you going. One thing that I find written online frequently is that fans of this game have replayed it countless times. I think this is for the story and the sheer amount of stuff you can do and unlock in this game. Without giving anything away there is seriously a lot to do even after you beat it. Overall there is no denying I had a blast and you will too. Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    Chrono Trigger is undoubtedly one of the best RPG's of all time, from it's excellent battle system to tricky boss battles, and interesting story. For those of you who missed it on the SNES like I did, I advise you do not miss it on the DS.
  6. May 14, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favourite games in the world and definitely one of the best RPGs of all time.

    Amazing story, colourful, interesting graphics, awesome music, great battle system...I play it again and again. I love that you can travel through time and the scope of the game is huge, not even just for its time, but by today's standards as well. Great emphasis on exploration , and lots of
    This is one of my favourite games in the world and definitely one of the best RPGs of all time.

    Amazing story, colourful, interesting graphics, awesome music, great battle system...I play it again and again. I love that you can travel through time and the scope of the game is huge, not even just for its time, but by today's standards as well. Great emphasis on exploration , and lots of memorable, funny bits. I like that the game's outcomes can change depending on what decisions you make during your journey.

    I live in Australia, moved here in 2006, and besides the DS version you cannot play Chrono Trigger here, as it was not released for other consoles in PAL format. I wanted to play it so much again that I ended up buying a DS just for Chrono Trigger. It's a game that gets in your head.
    Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    As a port, there's little reason to review the game itself, as it already holds its own as one of the best games of all time on the SNES. Chrono Trigger was ahead of its time, it plays more well on the Nintendo DS than it did nearly 20 years ago on its native system. The touch screen controls are intuitive and effective. Not only does the port bring the game to a newer generation, but itAs a port, there's little reason to review the game itself, as it already holds its own as one of the best games of all time on the SNES. Chrono Trigger was ahead of its time, it plays more well on the Nintendo DS than it did nearly 20 years ago on its native system. The touch screen controls are intuitive and effective. Not only does the port bring the game to a newer generation, but it improves the gameplay in every way and contains a few additions and changes. I have nothing less than praise for this masterful rerelease of a classic from Square Enix. Expand
  8. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    Coming from a RPG fanatic: Chrono Trigger is the best RPG and one of the best, if not THE BEST video game ever created. I cannot stress enough how glad I am and how important it is that I played this game back in 1995. My life is seriously not the same because of it. Chrono Trigger first off did something extremely essential, it made a RPG more "user friendly" and ultimately set the barComing from a RPG fanatic: Chrono Trigger is the best RPG and one of the best, if not THE BEST video game ever created. I cannot stress enough how glad I am and how important it is that I played this game back in 1995. My life is seriously not the same because of it. Chrono Trigger first off did something extremely essential, it made a RPG more "user friendly" and ultimately set the bar for RPGs, even to this day. It is easy to get into and brings on the difficulty progressively. Everything here is so perfect, the graphics, the sounds and music, the characters, the battles, the skills/spells, and any other aspect of this game! You see the enemies you fight, it isn't randomized like in FF, you don't fight while exploring the world map, and battles can either be set on "wait" or "active." This is a nice feature that effects the difficulty. Also, all characters are capable of teamming up with 1 or 2 other characters and pulling off some kick ass double and triple techniques! These make for some of the coolest moves/spells in gaming history. Chrono Trigger for me has the BEST STORY of any game, and I am not just blowing hot air. The story here is absolutely stellar, you will be taken into a mystical world that will touch your emotions. You are literally required to go back and foward in time to save the world, and every step of the way is purely epic. The game has the best flow of any game I've ever played, everything just seems so right and fits together perfectly. I am seriously struggling to find the words and ways of describing the genious behind this game, you really need to check it out for yourself if you never have, I guarantee you won't be disappointed. Expand
  9. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    One of the best games I ever played and definitely my favorite RPG game. Phenomenal soundtrack, dynamic and innovative gameplay, fantastic storytelling, stunning graphics (for the time of course ^ ^), and an engaging and wonderful story, not to mention the more than 10 possible endings that the game offers. With a legend of graphic animations (Akira Toriyama), two geniuses of theOne of the best games I ever played and definitely my favorite RPG game. Phenomenal soundtrack, dynamic and innovative gameplay, fantastic storytelling, stunning graphics (for the time of course ^ ^), and an engaging and wonderful story, not to mention the more than 10 possible endings that the game offers. With a legend of graphic animations (Akira Toriyama), two geniuses of the soundtracks (Nobuo Uematsu and Yasunori Mitsuda), plus the Director of Dragon Quest series (Yuji Horii) and the producer of Final Fantasy series (Hironobu Sakaguchi). I do not have the RIGHT to give a lower rating than 10/10 for Chrono Trigger. PS: Each has their own opinion, feel free to disagree with me. ^ ^ Expand
  10. Oct 21, 2014
    10
    oh god i love this game its the fourth time and im still enjoying it gr8 story perfect character string with a attracting and glueing adventure once u start it you dont wanna end it
  11. Jul 6, 2012
    8
    Reading the previous reviews, we seem to be split into two camps, those who love this game and have given it 10's, and those who are rating it compared to today's rpg's and a frustrated with the graphics and fighting engine. I'll put myself a bit more towards center here, and agree with the haters that compared to today's standards Chrono Trigger leaves a bit to be desired. However, it'sReading the previous reviews, we seem to be split into two camps, those who love this game and have given it 10's, and those who are rating it compared to today's rpg's and a frustrated with the graphics and fighting engine. I'll put myself a bit more towards center here, and agree with the haters that compared to today's standards Chrono Trigger leaves a bit to be desired. However, it's ridiculous to compare a 17 year old game to Skyrim. I have never played any version of Chrono before this one and am very happy that I checked it out. The story is great, and the graphics and battle system were ground breaking in their day. I would also note that my 4 and 6 year old kids watched me play the entire game, from start to finish, and enjoyed the entire game. I believe that this says a lot about the universal appeal of this time twisting tale. Expand
  12. ZackS.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    I try and like RPG's i really do, but most of the time i get bored with them a few days after i get this. Its either the story starts to waver or you get lost and have no idea were your going. but thats not the case with chrono trigger. Chrono trigger takes place in a alternative universe (OMG NO WAY!) Your main character is chrono, from what i see he is a teenage hero who has to I try and like RPG's i really do, but most of the time i get bored with them a few days after i get this. Its either the story starts to waver or you get lost and have no idea were your going. but thats not the case with chrono trigger. Chrono trigger takes place in a alternative universe (OMG NO WAY!) Your main character is chrono, from what i see he is a teenage hero who has to save the worldd (OMG NO WAY) originol right? well actually it is. Chrono Trigger is a remake of a snes game and back then this was ground breaking stuff. I never played the originol Chrono Trigger but i have always heard about how awesome it was. When i heard of the DS remake i just had to get it. And i wish i hunted down a copy of it for the snes.. and a snes but ya this game is abosulty fantastic. After you start your journey with chronos you meet up with a princess that disguised as a normal person to blend in and excape the castle. (Again OMG NO WAY) After you meet up with her you meet one of your friends who is working on a teleporter. You test it out for her and it works. The princess wants to try it anfter you and from what i understood her amulet reacted to the teleporter and teleported hero into the past. You being the brave hero follow her. You find yourself back in the at the exact same spot you were before. Here you are intoduced to the combat mechanics. The combat mechanics are actually very cool and work very very well. If you ahve ever played Final Fantasy 10-2 you might know how this works better then i can explain it. There is a little bar and you ahve to wait for it to fill up to attack. (OMG THIS IS GROUND BREAKING STUFF) Yes its not turn base suprisingly. When your opponent attacks the bar stops and you have to wait for them to finish. Same if your allies attack. You can have up to 3 allys including chrono who can not be changed out. He always seems to be able to attack quicker then any of your allies and you can use combo attacks with your allies. A example if you use the combo of chrono adn lucca chrono runs up to the enemy and starts spinning his sword around (a move he can already do) But lucca uses her flame thrower and ignits the sword on fire and does burn damage to the enemy. The only down side is that when you try and use items it takes a few seconds to find everything and you feel rushed if you are in a boss battle. The intier game can be played using the touch screen. I found myself going back and fourth between the styles and the buttons. Thats only because im more used to using the buttons but when it comes to battle its best to use the syalus. I have to go (in study hall bell just rung) But before i do let me just say that this is one of the few games i actually finished for the DS. Im not much of a handheld gamer but this game is a classic and classics dont die. They are just reborn. Expand
  13. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    Hands down the best RPG game I have ever played in MY LIFE... It was 1995-1996... I was completely obsessed by this game, it would literally make me Nostalgic beyond words when I played.
    Everything about it, the music is beyond legendary, the storyline is absolutely describable good... I cannot explain how this game transports you to another world... Seriously! Please believe the
    Hands down the best RPG game I have ever played in MY LIFE... It was 1995-1996... I was completely obsessed by this game, it would literally make me Nostalgic beyond words when I played.
    Everything about it, the music is beyond legendary, the storyline is absolutely describable good... I cannot explain how this game transports you to another world... Seriously! Please believe the ratings, there is NO comparable game out there....NONE , not even FF7.

    I am an old school gamer, I dislike the current trend of dumb down games and I must tell you I would NEVER give a game a 10/10.......EVER.
    This game is justified 10/10. There is no arguing in my mind about it.

    If they revamped the graphics for PS3-PS4 and charged 100$, I would buy it all over again.
    Expand
  14. JordanS.n
    Dec 4, 2008
    6
    I have never played this game on any other console (I've always been more of a PC gamer). The story is pretty good so far, but I find the gameplay a little on the shallow side. Battles are pretty boring for the most part, and some of the maps are really hard to navigate, meaning I can hardly tell which parts of the screen are navigable, and which are walls. The puzzles might be I have never played this game on any other console (I've always been more of a PC gamer). The story is pretty good so far, but I find the gameplay a little on the shallow side. Battles are pretty boring for the most part, and some of the maps are really hard to navigate, meaning I can hardly tell which parts of the screen are navigable, and which are walls. The puzzles might be challenging for a 5th grader. Expand
  15. edf
    Jan 15, 2009
    4
    I LOVE role playing games and before this had a blast with dragon quest. This one is EXTREMELY boring and hard to navigate. The graphics are so pixelated it's hard to tell what is a treasure chest, or a road, or a person. Everything is REALLY tiny and difficult to view, and I find the game play really boring, and the battles even more so.
  16. MaloD
    Jan 7, 2009
    3
    Grossly overrated. Having not played the original I can only assume it hasn't aged well. A game's is "depth" is only one factor. The gameplay is repetitive and the story is lackluster. Not only that but the game is missing the one feature of the original that could have brought this game up to a 7 for me: Co-op. When you play through a game with someone it can make up for Grossly overrated. Having not played the original I can only assume it hasn't aged well. A game's is "depth" is only one factor. The gameplay is repetitive and the story is lackluster. Not only that but the game is missing the one feature of the original that could have brought this game up to a 7 for me: Co-op. When you play through a game with someone it can make up for tedious gameplay and alters the experience entirely. It's a shame to see so many respected reviewers using such nostalgia bias in their reviews. Although the remake (not reinterpretation) of a game from nearly 15 years ago suggested that it would be heavily reliant on nostalgia. Expand
  17. Judd
    Nov 27, 2008
    7
    Yes, fantastic game, but we already knew that. Why is no one else complaining that we're being charged full price for a 15 year old SNES port? Not enough radical additions to justify a radical price.
  18. Adam
    Nov 28, 2008
    6
    I loved the co-op story mode in the first one, but the side missions in this version aren't in anyway a replacement. I was really looking forward to playing alongside my friends online, so it's a real let down that the option wasn't included. Maybe the graphics would have suffered with a split screen but they managed it with Motorstorm ! Aside from that the single player I loved the co-op story mode in the first one, but the side missions in this version aren't in anyway a replacement. I was really looking forward to playing alongside my friends online, so it's a real let down that the option wasn't included. Maybe the graphics would have suffered with a split screen but they managed it with Motorstorm ! Aside from that the single player mode is much improved, but it's annoying how many shots the Chimera need to take before they die and the online modes are as annoying as ever for a casual player fighting kids that are on it all the time. Expand
  19. May 17, 2011
    4
    Definitely overrated. MaloD and edf are right in saying that it's extremely boring and tedious. There is no depth to the gameplay, only repetitions and secrets for those who enjoy them. This is an old RPG, perhaps a masterpiece back then, but we've learned a lot since then. Play only if you have the nostalgia.
  20. Sep 14, 2014
    4
    I really tried to like this game, as it is a legend amongst RPGs.
    However, i simply didnt have any fun with it, it even bored me, and i finally stopped trying to get that feeling so many other players have with this title.

    Personally, i cannot recommend this game to anybody, but hardcore nostalgics...
  21. Feb 15, 2014
    7
    When this game came out on the SNES I would have given it a 10. When it was released on the Playstation I would have still given it a 10. I even had fun playing this as a rom and as an iso. To me this is the fifth installment of this game. I like this game, but I would have liked some new features to be added. I also heard Chrono Break was cancelled because this game didn't sell well.When this game came out on the SNES I would have given it a 10. When it was released on the Playstation I would have still given it a 10. I even had fun playing this as a rom and as an iso. To me this is the fifth installment of this game. I like this game, but I would have liked some new features to be added. I also heard Chrono Break was cancelled because this game didn't sell well. Really? Does SquareEnix really expect a game that has been rereleased so many times to sell well? SquareEnix seems to rely on Squaresoft's accomplishments while failing to succeed on their own. I wish Squaresoft still existed. Expand
  22. Sep 25, 2013
    6
    Lately, I've been on a retro kick and playing 16 and 32-bit games that I never had an opportunity to play when they were new, and because the SNES was the only system I didn't own growing up, Chrono Trigger has always been top on my list. I bought it for the PSX ten years ago but those menu load times... At any rate, I was really excited to finally play it due to being universally praisedLately, I've been on a retro kick and playing 16 and 32-bit games that I never had an opportunity to play when they were new, and because the SNES was the only system I didn't own growing up, Chrono Trigger has always been top on my list. I bought it for the PSX ten years ago but those menu load times... At any rate, I was really excited to finally play it due to being universally praised as one of the best if not the best RPG's ever. I was disappointed and in fact, I think this may just be the most overrated game of all time.

    The combat is the best aspect of CT by far. Fun and completely unique at the time, I wish there had been more games modeled after it because I very much enjoyed it even now, and I never felt bored due to the combat. There are techniques to unlock and combine, and the strategy introduced by deciding to wait and use 2 or 3 allies for a skill is a lot of fun. The fact that this was the first game where combat was on the main map is very cool and works great.

    Secondly, the graphics are beautiful, and still perfectly acceptable and playable now in 2013. I remember back then seeing pictures of Chrono on the bridge and thinking about how incredible the game looked. The variety of animations for each attack and technique really go a long way towards making things feel fun and fresh. The colors are bright and the spells are impressive.

    The music was very good for the most part. I know a lot of people say the music is incredible and for a cartridge it probably was, but I'm spoiled by even earlier games on the Sega CD that had truly fantastic music, specifically the LUNAR series. Still, CT's music was pleasant, I enjoyed it, and it got the job done.

    The several side-quests and how they change the future are cool and interestingly done. Personally I don't think there was enough change at certain points in time, and while I won't hold that specifically against the game, this leads me to the bad...

    The premise of the plot was good, however, I find that the ball was dropped here in execution... again because of the lack of depth and HORRIBLE pacing. The story is very simple, and virtually everything in the first ten hours of the game progress through happenstance. The problem with that? The game is only 20 hours long!! This is by far the shortest RPG I've ever played and from one plot point to the next, the story moves along with very little discussion or explanation, major plot points are explained and over with nothing more than a sentence or two. Less time is dedicated to major story quests than most games side quests, and you just kind of stumble into things where nothing in the story has any weight because it's all over and done so quickly.

    While I generally thought the characters were alright, the issue with the story is represented in them as well. I would like to have loved the characters, I really would. In the end I just know so little about them though. Everyone has so little to say and at any opportunity to express anything, discuss story, or get to know them at all, it's over in a couple of sentences, they're just so flat with little meaningful dialog between themselves and anybody else in the game world. This leaves me with no particular love or interest with anybody from the game.

    I honestly don't understand why this game would have been so highly regarded. It had tremendous potential, to be sure, but it never really got off the ground. Given the length alone I would have never spent money on something so short, and yes, I played through to the end of the game on my first playthrough. The extra endings are fun to see and can add some replay value, but the game is so short, and the story so thin that playing again and again would be very repetitive. Besides that, a lot of the endings don't really add a lot or tell only part of the story, and some are accessible after very little time. I won't get into the lack of variety in the area's and how strange a decision it was to not make legitimate towns with everything accessible on the over world but oh well. Anyway, I think my score is generous, I wish there had been more to experience.
    Expand
  23. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I first thought this game was bad I never liked rpg game but when my I played this game it was fantastic it had a amazing story, amazing characters, this is by far the best Turn Base RPG game! In general the best rpg of all time. Expand
  24. SaganT
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    Chrono Trigger is an amazing game with bright ideas for originally coming out for the SNES. Traveling through all of the different times of the world, and running into the creatures and characters is very entertaining. Made by the dream team (creators of Final fantasy and Dragon Quest) Chrono Trigger's greatness is contributed by its timeless game play on the D.S. It is the must have Chrono Trigger is an amazing game with bright ideas for originally coming out for the SNES. Traveling through all of the different times of the world, and running into the creatures and characters is very entertaining. Made by the dream team (creators of Final fantasy and Dragon Quest) Chrono Trigger's greatness is contributed by its timeless game play on the D.S. It is the must have title for the D.S. Expand
  25. Xiru
    Jan 21, 2009
    8
    Don't get me wrong, this game is awesome. I mean, it's Chrono Trigger. As a port, however, it's decent at best. I personally only found the new screen layout and the touch menu buttons to be useful. The new side-quests were only a bunch of dungeon crawling sessions (without the plot elements which made the original dungeon crawling sessions good), while the new touch Don't get me wrong, this game is awesome. I mean, it's Chrono Trigger. As a port, however, it's decent at best. I personally only found the new screen layout and the touch menu buttons to be useful. The new side-quests were only a bunch of dungeon crawling sessions (without the plot elements which made the original dungeon crawling sessions good), while the new touch control scheme was atrociously bad. If you love RPGs and never played this game before, buy it. If you played it before, buy it because it's friggin' handheld Chrono Trigger. But don't expect to be amazed by the new content. Expand
  26. BenR.
    Feb 14, 2009
    9
    Chrono Trigger is one of THE best RPG games I've played on D.S since Pokemon Diamond and Pearl. The storyline is great and some of the monsters are just plain weird! I think the graphics could be a bit better and the monsters could be a bit harder. Overall, I think Chrono Trigger is one of the best RPGs EVER!!!!!!!
  27. OdinAesir
    Mar 21, 2009
    10
    O melhor RPG feito com 3 MB para o SNES, sai com os acréscimos de Movies do Play One + alguns extras e qualidade, transformando em um jogo de 83,8 MB para NDS. Posso falar que CT é o melhor jogo para alguém que nunca entrou em um RPG começar a apreciar histórias de heróis que salvam o mundo de ser destruído usando a estratégia doO melhor RPG feito com 3 MB para o SNES, sai com os acréscimos de Movies do Play One + alguns extras e qualidade, transformando em um jogo de 83,8 MB para NDS. Posso falar que CT é o melhor jogo para alguém que nunca entrou em um RPG começar a apreciar histórias de heróis que salvam o mundo de ser destruído usando a estratégia do jogador nos combates.

    Técnicas Duplas e Triplas, o sonho de ver elas novamente em outros RPGs, a possibilidade de viajar no tempo e mudar os acontecimentos.

    Além dos eventos obrigatórios para terminar o jogo, existem as side-quests opcionais que dão novos itens, acrescentam histórias aos personagens e geram os diferentes finais.

    Este é o Melhor RPG para o melhor video game portátil.
    Expand
  28. DaveH
    Jul 4, 2009
    9
    I enjoyed playing the original Chrono Trigger years ago and was satisfied with the port to the DS. It's the same great story as the original with a few tweaks to the dialogue. The combat is the same as the original with a few abilities renamed. I disagree with anyone who says the combat is boring because when the game was created the combat was fast paced and blew Final Fantasy I enjoyed playing the original Chrono Trigger years ago and was satisfied with the port to the DS. It's the same great story as the original with a few tweaks to the dialogue. The combat is the same as the original with a few abilities renamed. I disagree with anyone who says the combat is boring because when the game was created the combat was fast paced and blew Final Fantasy titles for the SNES out of the water. Also, don't be misled by people saying it's the same game. Even though the extras were noticeably removed from normal game play and seemed like the grindfest of an MMO, in the end they did provide connections between this game and the sequel. I highly recommend fans who have played the original and Chrono Cross to invest into buying the game as well as people new to the series. Expand
  29. AndrewC
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    Simply the best game of all time, and this is its perfect edition. What more could you want? Even if you hate RPGs it's worth playing.
  30. Anditheway
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    This game does everything right times 10. Some people are a little pissy because SquareEnix was calling it a remake and it really is just a port of the PS1 version minus the load times + 1/2 a new dungeon. For me, its just another excuse to play the best game in the world for the 500th time. In this modern world of 4 disc 200 hour + RPGs, all these companies could learn a thing or two fromThis game does everything right times 10. Some people are a little pissy because SquareEnix was calling it a remake and it really is just a port of the PS1 version minus the load times + 1/2 a new dungeon. For me, its just another excuse to play the best game in the world for the 500th time. In this modern world of 4 disc 200 hour + RPGs, all these companies could learn a thing or two from Chrono Trigger. Expand
  31. RavenWolfx
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    I love this game. I owned it for the SNES and PS1 re-release and played it for hours, beating it several different times with different endings. I could go on for a long time telling you how great this game is, but I'll leave this to the basics. New Game + should be in every RPG and this is one of the first to impliment it (as far as I know). This game has around 12 different I love this game. I owned it for the SNES and PS1 re-release and played it for hours, beating it several different times with different endings. I could go on for a long time telling you how great this game is, but I'll leave this to the basics. New Game + should be in every RPG and this is one of the first to impliment it (as far as I know). This game has around 12 different endings. Extra features have been added to this like a new dungeon and new items. There is also an updated translation. This is an amazing RPG and I hope they re-release Chrono Cross also. The downsides are few, but the main one is that it is easy. Especially on New Game +, this game needs a Hard mode or something. The animated cutscenes that were added in the PS1 version are still here, but in my opinion, lame. While classic, the cover art is still wrong since Marle (the girl pictured in the pinkish coat) is using Fire Sword with Chrono even though Marle uses Ice magic. This is the original art on the SNES case, so... yeah... Anyway, get this game. Expand
  32. StevenA
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    This game is an SNES masterpiece. Now, I get to enjoy it on the go, with bunch of extras and goodies to entertain me. I hear that the difficulty was toned down in the DS version, but that didn't bother me. I sitll had a blast. Absolutely one of the best games out there. It was very revolutionary for its time. In today's standards, its still very unique and to play it on the This game is an SNES masterpiece. Now, I get to enjoy it on the go, with bunch of extras and goodies to entertain me. I hear that the difficulty was toned down in the DS version, but that didn't bother me. I sitll had a blast. Absolutely one of the best games out there. It was very revolutionary for its time. In today's standards, its still very unique and to play it on the Nintendo DS makes all the more unique. The graphics for the DS aren't anything revolutionary, but I'm not one to criticize a game for its graphics. The story is amazing, the gameplay is very fun, the music is beautiful and the replay value is extreme. A definite pick up to the RPG fan. Expand
  33. JustinM
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    Seems people are mostly upset about the fact that, at its heart, the game is still a port and it's full-price. The reason for this, my friends, is because Chrono Trigger now goes on eBay for over a hundred dollars at the very least. I myself first played the game on a ROM, and truly, using PC controls or even a gamepad doesn't cut it. The extra side-missions are great, the Seems people are mostly upset about the fact that, at its heart, the game is still a port and it's full-price. The reason for this, my friends, is because Chrono Trigger now goes on eBay for over a hundred dollars at the very least. I myself first played the game on a ROM, and truly, using PC controls or even a gamepad doesn't cut it. The extra side-missions are great, the cutscenes aren't really my style but they flesh things out well, and the music box lets you listen to some of gaming's greatest compositions whenever you like. The arena fell quite short, and I too was hoping for something involving co-op, but disregarding that it is a brilliant game with one of the greatest stories in RPG history and a depth that has sunk right into gamers since its first release. And personally, I'm glad they didn't decide to "juice up" the game by adding the DS's low-poly 3D capabilities; retro graphics seem to flesh out characters better by having us focus on dialogue rather than flamboyant body movements. It's worth the forty dollars if you are a fan of RPGs, a fan of stories worth novels, of quotably controversial philosophy, or simply the roots of some aspects of gaming that made it what it is today that in my opinion need to be rediscovered by our graphics- and gameplay-oriented developers in modern times. Expand
  34. WillT
    Dec 28, 2009
    8
    Definately one of the best RPGs on the DS and SNES but not compared to other consoles, a must have though, but not a game for everyone
  35. HexenM
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    This is the best RPG of all time.The gameplay is a the best. The movies are way ahead of their time. The music is the best and the fights are cool. The game gets you hooked to the very end......
  36. Tim
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Chrono Trigger makes a triumphant return on the Nintendo DS. While the new monster arena may be lackluster, and the new dungeons not quite up to snuff, the new DS battle control scheme makes the gameplay as slick as ever, and the other extras included in this port make it a worthwhile release of one of histories favorite adventures.
  37. Rob
    Dec 2, 2008
    8
    I've a few choice words about this "remake". The graphics are still SNES quality, and other than... Tacked-on touchscreen controls (why do I have to double-tap every selection during battle? Doesn't that defeat the purpose? Even the Pokemon DS game has better touch controls than that) Animation sequences that add nothing to the game (they feel like nothing more than a throwback I've a few choice words about this "remake". The graphics are still SNES quality, and other than... Tacked-on touchscreen controls (why do I have to double-tap every selection during battle? Doesn't that defeat the purpose? Even the Pokemon DS game has better touch controls than that) Animation sequences that add nothing to the game (they feel like nothing more than a throwback to an FMV-happy PSX era which ironically dates the game even more than the sprite-based graphics) An uninspired monster battle arena (a tired genre which even the reviewers hate and has little to do with the main storyline) ...it's practically a direct port. For this, you to pay a premium $40 pricetag for a 10+ year old game that most people have played to death. When Capcom released Resident Evil Wii it was a 2-year old game came improved controls, every feature available AND a cheaper price. I LOVE playing Chrono Trigger on a handheld, and I LOVE having the top screen menu-free during battle, but the only reason this game gets insanely-perfect reviews is a decade's worth of fanboy deprivation. Expand
  38. EdgarV.
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    There is not much new stuff to say about Chrono Trigger DS, people have already seen it, played and loved it... Once again the greatest game of all time returns on a perfect edition that brings the best RPG elements of the last century to the tweaks of the current one. Overall, a game that has no equal and that finally will be accessible even for the PAL territories... a must play!
  39. okamiandchronotriggerlover
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    Truly the most beautiful thing on the DS this year. this is my favorite game. it has very addicting combat. if you have never played this game, then get it NOW. its even better than final fantasy. i found the monster battle arena feature to be really fun. :D you cant beat the classics, especially when it comes to this.
  40. Guy
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    I picked up this game about a year ago and I'm still getting a lot out of it. The original 16 bit graphics hold up really well, the gameplay is a blast, the story is epic, the level of content is enormous and it's a great RPG in general. If you're looking for a first RPG, go with one of the Mario and Luigi games, but if you've played an RPG beforem pick this little gem I picked up this game about a year ago and I'm still getting a lot out of it. The original 16 bit graphics hold up really well, the gameplay is a blast, the story is epic, the level of content is enormous and it's a great RPG in general. If you're looking for a first RPG, go with one of the Mario and Luigi games, but if you've played an RPG beforem pick this little gem up. Now, because of the recent $20 price drop, anyone who finds any joy whatsoever in an RPG has absolutely no excuse not to pick this title up. Expand
  41. PaoloJ
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    Well, like many others, I picked up this game because I missed it the first time, and heard it was stupendous and magical ...And they were very much correct;well, to me at least. Chrono Trigger has aged well, and holds up even to today's best titles. I love how Chrono Trigger has a focus on exploration. There are caves, forests and castles to be explored in the different time eras of Well, like many others, I picked up this game because I missed it the first time, and heard it was stupendous and magical ...And they were very much correct;well, to me at least. Chrono Trigger has aged well, and holds up even to today's best titles. I love how Chrono Trigger has a focus on exploration. There are caves, forests and castles to be explored in the different time eras of Chrono Trigger. You may explore the Dark Ages, the Future and Prehistoric eras, with a few other eras in between. Throw in some hidden items, secrets, and treasures for motivation, and you've got an amazing exploration experience. Chrono Trigger has some action too, to add some excitement to your adventurous mind. There are no random encounters, and the battle system is deep, but easy to get into. If you're familiar with the Final Fantasy series, Chrono Trigger will feel very familiar to you. CT runs utilizes a modified version of the ATB. You'll encounter ghouls and goblins, robots and mutants, dinosaurs and knights and many more. The boss fights are enjoyable and exciting, and the more important boss fights are just plain epic. Three of my favorite boss fights ever happen in this game. The music in CT is just phenomenal. There are many different tunes to fit the mood. They give each time era a different vibe, and represents them well. The background music is memorable and catchy, while the battle themes set you up for a huge climactic fight. Listen to a few tunes on Youtube or something, I'm sure you'll be impressed. Chrono Trigger's soundtrack is what they make it out to be, it's fantastic. This game is old, and the graphics are certainly showing their age. They still look good though; it's certainly one of the prettier DS games. Chrono Trigger was a technical masterpiece during it's time... but is still an amazing artistic piece today. The different time periods look great, and it's easy to tell one from the other, and the locales you'll visit are just beautiful. Those with a strong imagination could probably image themselves in these epic landscapes. The characters in CT are colorful, and give off an indescribable charm. The characters just somehow make you feel younger. I don't know how, but they do. Each character has a distinct personality, and have an interesting past to uncover. My favorite character is Frog, a loyal knight to the Kingdom of Guardia. Chrono Trigger has a now very overused story, but it's still very interesting today, because of it's unique method of story telling; time travel. Each era is different and have many different problems to solve, but they all connect at one point. Each era is like a puzzle piece; you'll have to fit them together to find the big image. There are only two things I disliked in the game. Number one, the easy-ish difficulty, and number two, the the bland and repetitive extras introduced in this port. In conclusion, you must play Chrono Trigger. It's an amazing RPG, and is widely considered to be one of the best games ever. It's one of the best games I've played, and has taken top spot for favorite RPG. There's a good chance for it to become one of yours. 10/10 Recommended 110%. Note: Chrono Trigger is without a doubt one of the best games I've played, but don't let that boost your expectations to ridiculous heights. Come into the game with lower, more realistic expectations, so there's a good chance of having zero disappointments. That said, enjoy the game. Expand
  42. ChronoT
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    This is my favorite game if u dont trust me on this being one of the top 10 games of all time then take it from these pple: Game Pro - 5/5 Eurogamer - 10/10 Nintendo Power - 5th best game ever Dengeki - 8th best game ever 2nd place IGN top 100 list 2006/2008 2nd place gamefaqs tpo game 2007 3rd place gamefaqs top game 2004 4th place IGN top 100 2002/2003 5th place gamespot.com top game This is my favorite game if u dont trust me on this being one of the top 10 games of all time then take it from these pple: Game Pro - 5/5 Eurogamer - 10/10 Nintendo Power - 5th best game ever Dengeki - 8th best game ever 2nd place IGN top 100 list 2006/2008 2nd place gamefaqs tpo game 2007 3rd place gamefaqs top game 2004 4th place IGN top 100 2002/2003 5th place gamespot.com top game (they only have one list total) 6th place IGN top 100 2005 28th on Famitsu by writers but by readers 5th ever (famitsu is the biggest game magazine - JPNESE) best ds game from gamefaqs.com ALSO BEST MUSIC OF ANY GAME - UNIVERSAL AGREEMENT! Expand
  43. EvinJ
    Apr 12, 2009
    9
    A great game, by all means. I haven't played the original, so I can't compare the two, but the game is amazing for the DS. The graphics, though aged, still appear new and fresh on the handheld system, and the music immerses you in a whole new level. FIghting is fun and interesting, but one thing that disappointed me was the repetition. Combat against regular enemies is as simple A great game, by all means. I haven't played the original, so I can't compare the two, but the game is amazing for the DS. The graphics, though aged, still appear new and fresh on the handheld system, and the music immerses you in a whole new level. FIghting is fun and interesting, but one thing that disappointed me was the repetition. Combat against regular enemies is as simple as mashing the 'A' button to attack, and does not get very complicated unless you are fighting bosses. The game makes great usage of side quests, and before finishing the game, you can take on a load of other small quests. Another feature Chrono Trigger offers is the Pet Arena, a fun feature that has no effect on your actual game. You get a pet, teach it attacks, let it evolve, similar to Pokemon, and duel it out with the computer. Another thing Chrono Trigger seems to lack in is the multiplayer function. It lacks something like a co-op storyline, which would be a fun addition, but nevertheless, this game is definitely one of my favorite. Expand
  44. David
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Chrono Trigger is one of the best, if not THE best RPG's of all time. It is the game that made me love RPG's and about the only game that I can play and beat over and over again.
  45. DaveJ.
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    One of my all time favorite games. The DS has not disappointed, if anything it has actually added to the greatness of this title. 1 down, 1 to go... someone needs to make Techmo Superbowl XBLA!
  46. BriceAchaume
    Dec 27, 2008
    10
    Those who critic this game, saying it's not a REAL good game, are just not enough RPG fans as they'd like to be. Or they are just too weak to go far in the game ;)
    This game is a masterpiece, it's just amazing ! The story is really captivating, battles are more and more interesting, graphics are sooo beautiful... this is a nearly perfect game ! A must buy for every person
    Those who critic this game, saying it's not a REAL good game, are just not enough RPG fans as they'd like to be. Or they are just too weak to go far in the game ;)
    This game is a masterpiece, it's just amazing ! The story is really captivating, battles are more and more interesting, graphics are sooo beautiful... this is a nearly perfect game ! A must buy for every person who declares himself/herself as a gamer.
    Expand
  47. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    one of my favourite games ever. an excellent fantasy storyline that uses time travel and doesn't screw it up. tons of endings, great music and some great sprites, this is a game that i absolutely love.
  48. Nov 6, 2010
    9
    One of, if not the greatest 16-bit era RPG title around, with smooth gameplay, A revised english translation for the english version, a large amount of bonus content, minigames, video cutscenes, bonus quests, and multiple alternate endings, what isn't to love about this nostalgic RPG masterpiece which you can now play on the go?

    The graphics for the most part are completely untouched from
    One of, if not the greatest 16-bit era RPG title around, with smooth gameplay, A revised english translation for the english version, a large amount of bonus content, minigames, video cutscenes, bonus quests, and multiple alternate endings, what isn't to love about this nostalgic RPG masterpiece which you can now play on the go?

    The graphics for the most part are completely untouched from the origonal version, although some might complain about them looking dated, you have to keep it mind this is a game from the mid 1990s and for that time period, these graphics where considered excellent back then.

    The story is beautifully written and is for the most part, pretty easy to follow, what events you do over the course of the game can change some elements of the story and even which of the multiple endings you get.

    Gameplay is pretty standard for a 1990s RPG with the exception of the action timer and attack combos which where fairly new to RPGs back then but are rather common now.

    The music is beautifully composed and had a lot of effort put into them.
    Some of the music tracks that went unused in the the older versions of this game are now used in the DS version.

    The game has replay value to those willing to replay the game to get all the rare equipment and to see more of the alternate endings.

    If you are a major fan of RPG games or are just curious to see this masterpiece of a game that shows a major step in the evolution of RPG games, I would very much recommend a purchase.
    Expand
  49. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Possibly one of the all time greats in terms of RPG goodness. If you think that the character design looks a bit like shows like Dragonball Z or Blue Dragon, you'd be correct in thinking so, as it's the same character designer. What really made this game great was it's ability to travel through time, it's fan-favourite unique characters, and the catchy music from a golden era of RPGPossibly one of the all time greats in terms of RPG goodness. If you think that the character design looks a bit like shows like Dragonball Z or Blue Dragon, you'd be correct in thinking so, as it's the same character designer. What really made this game great was it's ability to travel through time, it's fan-favourite unique characters, and the catchy music from a golden era of RPG gaming. Any fans of the RPG genre will fall in love with this, and those who loved this game in the past will still love this even now, though don't except a whole lot of difference. Expand
  50. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    I guess everything has been said about this game already... I'"ll merely say that I've been playing it again after finishing it back in 2005... and it still hasn't lost its charm. If you haven't checked it out yet, what are you waiting for? Go ahead!
  51. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    This game has a wonderful pacing to the story through whole game (excluding recent DS additions, which were tedious and boring). It kept me engaged for the whole, long story.

    Simplified towns reduce 'boring' exploration, and the characters were interesting and had just enough personality in their dialog that you could get a good feel for them in a little amount of time. The short lines
    This game has a wonderful pacing to the story through whole game (excluding recent DS additions, which were tedious and boring). It kept me engaged for the whole, long story.

    Simplified towns reduce 'boring' exploration, and the characters were interesting and had just enough personality in their dialog that you could get a good feel for them in a little amount of time. The short lines spoken by your NPCs during cutscenes really help flesh out the characters and engagement, but more character interactions (like Dragon Age or Tales of Symphonia) would be nice. But hey, this is a rather old game -- I can overlook that.

    The time travel element played past experience well & instantly engaged you in new areas, as you wonder what has changed between the different times, and why.

    The combat system is simple yet effective. Item management was simple and unobtrusive. Standard JRPG fare, but well done. The story and world are the main attraction. Multiple endings were a nice touch.
    Expand
  52. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I consider this game to be without doubt one of the greatest ever created. It contains absolutely everything anyone could want from an RPG, or simply a game in general - interesting, deep characters, an utterly engaging story throughout, a unique setting, gorgeous sprites and backgrounds, a very entertaining battle system, and probably the best musical score a game has ever had.
    Obviously,
    I consider this game to be without doubt one of the greatest ever created. It contains absolutely everything anyone could want from an RPG, or simply a game in general - interesting, deep characters, an utterly engaging story throughout, a unique setting, gorgeous sprites and backgrounds, a very entertaining battle system, and probably the best musical score a game has ever had.
    Obviously, as with everything, there are some minor flaws - on occasion, for example, when an enemy dies in battle the game will auto-target another in a way which makes no sense, and the anime cutscenes (which, I should add, are completely optional) feel somewhat out of place. But really, those are the only negative things one can possibly say about such a glorious experience, and they are so insignificant in the face of everything else in the game that it feels cruel even to mention that they exist.
    To those who are interested, but for whatever reason have not bought the game yet - buy it. I cannot see that there is any room for disappointment.
    Expand
  53. Aug 3, 2013
    8
    Originally released on the Super Nintendo in 1995 this, slightly enhanced, DS remake yet again demonstrates exactly why Chrono Trigger is considered a classic of the genre.

    It is worth mentioning from the start that if you played the SNES or PSone version you will find very little new here aside from a few touchscreen features and extra options. Despite this Chrono Trigger still stands
    Originally released on the Super Nintendo in 1995 this, slightly enhanced, DS remake yet again demonstrates exactly why Chrono Trigger is considered a classic of the genre.

    It is worth mentioning from the start that if you played the SNES or PSone version you will find very little new here aside from a few touchscreen features and extra options. Despite this Chrono Trigger still stands the test of time admirably in large part thanks to the brilliantly told story that puts most modern efforts to shame. Anyone who has played any of the earlier entries in the Final Fantasy series will know what to expect in terms of gameplay. Setting out to save the world you soon run into like minded people happy to join your quest and building a balanced party is, as ever, key to success.

    Player initiated and random turn based battles are present but do not occur too often allowing the game to maintain a good pace throughout. Add to this a large(ish) world map that the player is free to explore as well as thirteen possible endings and it is hard to believe that this game is nearly two decades old.
    Expand
  54. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    i felt this ds versions review was more appropriate cause thats the one i played most, with its awesome graphics, unique choice of new or old skool, and just awesome all around, and first time in the uk!!!
    93%
  55. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    A remake of perhaps my favorite game ever. I spent more time playing through every ending of this game than I have ever spent on any other game. I enjoyed every minute of it then and now. The characters are classic and beloved.
  56. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    A excelent combat system and carismatic characters make this a Top game. Good music, Cool magic, good story. I reccomend this game for each rpg player.
  57. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    Hands-down, favorite game of all-time! Except now, with a better translation and some additional bonus material with an optional end-boss? I'm down with it all and then some! This game is hailed as one of the greatest RPGs of all time, but in my opinion that's wrong. This game is THE greatest RPG of all time! You must play it to experience it!
  58. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This game is totally the best RPG of its time both on SNES,PS, and DS.
    I played most of it on PS, a demo which got me into the DS remake. The game's characters are amazing, the music is wonderful it made me feel many emotions such as happiness, sadness and even fear.
    The song "Strains of Insanity" has laughing in the background, frightening! This is probably a messy review, but I don't
    This game is totally the best RPG of its time both on SNES,PS, and DS.
    I played most of it on PS, a demo which got me into the DS remake. The game's characters are amazing, the music is wonderful it made me feel many emotions such as happiness, sadness and even fear.
    The song "Strains of Insanity" has laughing in the background, frightening! This is probably a messy review, but I don't know how to explain it..I love this game. Time travel is amazing in this game plus it has so many endings depending on what you do. In the DS remake it allows you to have "New game+" which is an awesome feature to any game. I hope you'll give this game a chance, despite my messy review. I know you'll love the music, the characters and the story line!
    Expand
  59. Aug 13, 2015
    7
    It's a fun, good game game and I'd recommend it to any JRPG fan, but there are some issues that a lot of people overlook. Mainly in character development or should I say lack of. Additionally the Story has some very weak points and is poorly executed in certain parts. Gameplay is pretty solid though, Decent battle system, great soundtrack(although there are a few weak tracks but overallIt's a fun, good game game and I'd recommend it to any JRPG fan, but there are some issues that a lot of people overlook. Mainly in character development or should I say lack of. Additionally the Story has some very weak points and is poorly executed in certain parts. Gameplay is pretty solid though, Decent battle system, great soundtrack(although there are a few weak tracks but overall its great) A game well worth playing! Expand
  60. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Chrono Trigger for the DS is awesome! I read about it in Nintendo Power (RIP), and it lives up to my expectations! I got it used at Gamestop, and played it immediatly. It has an epic story, and should be enjoyed by all!
  61. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    My favorite game since I was 14(I am 32).The best RPG ever made for a console and easily one of the best games ever.With great characters,13 endings and a moving story this chase throught time will always remain in a high place in my heart.
  62. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    I really can't understand why someone would give this game below 10, it's a damn masterpiece, especially for RPG/jRPG fans. Sure, the graphics are outdated, but when did graphics became half of a game? Why would somebody give Chrono trigger a 4 just based on its graphics? Since when do people care anyway when browser, android and ever facebook games are some of the most popular out there?I really can't understand why someone would give this game below 10, it's a damn masterpiece, especially for RPG/jRPG fans. Sure, the graphics are outdated, but when did graphics became half of a game? Why would somebody give Chrono trigger a 4 just based on its graphics? Since when do people care anyway when browser, android and ever facebook games are some of the most popular out there? The deal is simple, Chrono trigger offers an amazing set of characters (both friendly and rivals), with constant and consistent character development till the end of the game. Hell even Townsfolk have storylines that you can explore VIA time travel. The world is absolutely HUGE and you can visit it in multiple time periods, which expand on it even more and you can instantly see the outcome of your actions. The story line to this game is great and fulfilling, leaving nothing to be desired, really. All the plot twists and the world secrets make you feel as if you're exploring yourself, making up some of the best immersion experiences I've ever felt in a video game.

    I could go on for ever, but games like this and system shock 2 etc compared to today's game industries, make me think what a friend of mine always claims. That video games have gone backwards since then.

    TL;DR : 10/10 would play again.
    Expand
  63. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    This is the definitive version of a true classic. Squaresoft's "Dream Team" of developers from the golden age of JRPG's crafted an absolute masterpiece which stands the test of time. Now with a much more faithful translation, The DS version of Chrono Trigger is an absolute must-play.
  64. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    this game is epic
    it has a deep story,with great character
    it had good graphics in his time
    the posibilties were infinited
    final fantasy dragon ball= chrono trigger
    one of the best rpg of ever!!!!
  65. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Chrono Trigger's storyline is very close to perfection, the gameplay mechanics are comfortable and easy to pick up, character development ranks amongst the elite and direction-wise it was decent. This game makes it difficult to find any real flaws, so none immediately come to mind. Overall, this game is a top 10 if not a top 5 among RPGs, only a finger-full of games top it in my opinion,Chrono Trigger's storyline is very close to perfection, the gameplay mechanics are comfortable and easy to pick up, character development ranks amongst the elite and direction-wise it was decent. This game makes it difficult to find any real flaws, so none immediately come to mind. Overall, this game is a top 10 if not a top 5 among RPGs, only a finger-full of games top it in my opinion, this one is a definite must for true RPG gamers. Expand
  66. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Easily one of the best role-playing games ever made. Great story, characters, music and game play. The real time combat and tech system keep things entertain, the lack of random battles is awesome and the multiple endings will keep you coming back for more.The definitive version of one of the best games ever.
  67. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    I'm usually not a fan of Japanese RPGs. My experience with them is fairly limited. In fact, I received it as a surprise gift. I knew it was considered to be one of the best, but the genre had always intimidated me, and I was reluctant to play it.

    However, once I finally set down to play it, I became engrossed with the games battle system and story. The battle system is unique in
    I'm usually not a fan of Japanese RPGs. My experience with them is fairly limited. In fact, I received it as a surprise gift. I knew it was considered to be one of the best, but the genre had always intimidated me, and I was reluctant to play it.

    However, once I finally set down to play it, I became engrossed with the games battle system and story. The battle system is unique in that time is continuously flowing. It's not turn-based, but rather actions are made based on speed and how quick you think. Sometimes, you'll need the fast paced movements, and other times, there's an advantage for waiting on your opponent. With character combos and other combat moves, this system is complex, and you'll always find new ways to play with the games great cast.

    The games hilarious and often moving story also grabbed my attention. Early in the game, you participate in a festival, and some of the actions you take in the festival will come back to get you in a trial when you're falsely accused of stealing the nation's princess. Time travel intertwines the whole story in an intelligent way, and provided many excellent locales. The story is like none I had ever experienced, and I was enthralled from start to finish.

    The music is also quite enjoyable and aids in the action, particularly facing the dark mage, hearing the wind blow and the maniac screams of laughter. It's still eerie and effective, despite the age this game has.

    I'm glad I got this surprise. It's now one of my all-time favorite games, and one that I would recommend to anyone who might be curious about fantasy RPGs such as this.
    Expand
  68. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    Simply one of the best video games ever created. ALL aspects of this game are amazing. Anyone who is capable of playing a video game should play this. So good.
  69. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    This and Earthbound are the best RPG's of all time and this game should always be enjoyable to the player
    even if it does not have the same flashy graphics most games have today. This game deserves a 10/10 and I'm sure if you play it you will think so too.
  70. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Best Square RPG, best "New Game Plus" RPG, best time travel game, best replay value for a RPG, et cetera. Time-tested classic. You can play this masterpiece on SNES, PSX, & DS, the DS version is probably the best choice.
  71. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    Pros:
    -Good story line
    -Story makes sense
    -careful character design
    -RPG combat easy to learn
    -Puzzle in a solvable layout
    Cons:
    -Graphics (but can only do so much during the time)
    -May be confusing at certain areas
  72. Jul 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. MY SCORE: 9.6/10 (I round it on Metacritic)

    Almost 20 years later there's nothing much to say about this game that hasn't been said yet. One of my favourites. The amazing time-travelling themed plot drags you in and the smooth RPG gameplay makes it impossible to leave aside. A must have for anyone who like any kind of RPG gaming or any gamer at all. Epic story, awesome atmosphere and one of the best soundtracks ever made for videogames. Of course, being this game made in 1995 makes it obsolete, there's much more new and better graphics and also all kind of gameplay improvement, but the awesome characters, story, soundtrack and all that time-travelling (which I'm really fond of) cover up it's old age.

    I don't recommend this game for anyone that started playing videogames after 2005/2006, since people like this are hard to catch the feeling and the awesomeness of this game!
    Expand
  73. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    Released for the SNES, NES, PS3, and DS Chrono trigger follows a boy named crono, who travels through time with his allies Robo (Prometheus) Frog (Glenn) Marle (Nadia) Lucca, Ayla, and Magus (Janus) to stop a creature Lavos from destroying the world in the year 1999. to do so, they must embark on several dangerous quests, stopping dangerous beasts in their path, and changing history, noReleased for the SNES, NES, PS3, and DS Chrono trigger follows a boy named crono, who travels through time with his allies Robo (Prometheus) Frog (Glenn) Marle (Nadia) Lucca, Ayla, and Magus (Janus) to stop a creature Lavos from destroying the world in the year 1999. to do so, they must embark on several dangerous quests, stopping dangerous beasts in their path, and changing history, no matter what it takes to finally stop lavos. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 57
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 57
  3. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 100
    Regardless of whether you played it already or are new to the series, you owe it to yourself to check out this amazing title. [Dec 2008, p.97]
  2. Despite my criticisms, Chrono Trigger is an amazing adventure and a required purchase for ardent fans and anyone who's never played the game before. [Holiday 2008, p.82]
  3. 88
    The game is virtually unchanged in its core, having a new script re-write, but retaining the visuals, music, character designs, interface styles, and options of the source material. At the same time, Square Enix also ensures that this is the definitive version of Chrono Trigger out there, as the game comes complete with every option you could ever want for touch vs. button control, two or single screen display, or game pacing and difficulty.