Chrono Trigger DS

Chrono Trigger Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 459 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2008 DS Game of the Year] When a newly developed teleportation device malfunctions at the Millennial Fair, young Crono must travel through time to rescue his unfortunate companion from an intricate web of past and present perils. The swashbuckling adventure that ensues soon[Metacritic's 2008 DS Game of the Year] When a newly developed teleportation device malfunctions at the Millennial Fair, young Crono must travel through time to rescue his unfortunate companion from an intricate web of past and present perils. The swashbuckling adventure that ensues soon unveils an evil force set to destroy the world, triggering Crono's race against time to change the course of history and bring about a brighter future. Features an engaging and unparalleled storyline, leading to the discovery of multiple epic conclusions to a journey that transcends time. An inspiring musical score created by Yasunori Mitsuda. Intriguing battle system made possible by the unique combination of the Active Time Battle system and Tech skills. Famed character designer Akira Toriyama lends his signature art style to create the vibrant world that has captivated gamers around the world. Taking advantage of the Nintendo DS hardware, CHRONO TRIGGER makes its way onto the portable platform with all-new dual screen presentation and Touch-Screen functionality. A brand new dungeon and a Wireless Play mode adds exciting new dimensions to this timeless classic. [Square Enix] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 57
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 57
  3. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. GamePro
    100
    Regardless of whether you played it already or are new to the series, you owe it to yourself to check out this amazing title. [Dec 2008, p.97]
  2. 100
    Chrono Trigger is one of the most charming, endearing, and most fun role playing games I have ever had the pleasure of playing.
  3. Easily one of the best video games I've played in the recent past, and I've played quite a few of them. Whether or not you're a fan of consoled-based role-playing games, you owe it to yourself to try this one; it might just change your opinion of them.
  4. Chrono Trigger rightfully climbs to the olymp of roleplaying games. Charming graphics, great story and a neat combat system make this classic an instant hit on the NDS!
  5. Chrono Trigger DS is a remake done right, and both longtime fans and new players should pick it up.
  6. One of the best roleplaying adventures ever made is revived for the Nintendo DS, and it's as fantastic as it ever was. Despite being 14 years old this game still manages to wipe the floor with most games released in it's wake. Design, script, sound, characters, the time traveling mechanic and a number of other features are simply so ingenious that more than a decade of subsequent games has seen few titles to rival this experience.
  7. Chrono Trigger is worth travelling back in time for again and again.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 88
  2. Negative: 4 out of 88
  1. AndrewC
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    Simply the best game of all time, and this is its perfect edition. What more could you want? Even if you hate RPGs it's worth playing.
  2. JimG
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    I don't know how anyone could give this game less than a 9. It is, without a doubt, one of the best RPGs of ALL time. If not, THE best. I don't know how anyone could give this game less than a 9. It is, without a doubt, one of the best RPGs of ALL time. If not, THE best. It's a great DS port of the original with a few newly added additions that is definitely worth the experience and price tag all over again. Expand
  3. StevenA
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    This game is an SNES masterpiece. Now, I get to enjoy it on the go, with bunch of extras and goodies to entertain me. I hear that the This game is an SNES masterpiece. Now, I get to enjoy it on the go, with bunch of extras and goodies to entertain me. I hear that the difficulty was toned down in the DS version, but that didn't bother me. I sitll had a blast. Absolutely one of the best games out there. It was very revolutionary for its time. In today's standards, its still very unique and to play it on the Nintendo DS makes all the more unique. The graphics for the DS aren't anything revolutionary, but I'm not one to criticize a game for its graphics. The story is amazing, the gameplay is very fun, the music is beautiful and the replay value is extreme. A definite pick up to the RPG fan. Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2015
    10
    The game was a 10 on the snes, on the ps1 it was better with the fmv cutscenes, but suffered from loading times, now we have the best versionThe game was a 10 on the snes, on the ps1 it was better with the fmv cutscenes, but suffered from loading times, now we have the best version thus far on the Nintendo DS. The 3d remake would be nice if they ever put effort into that. You can't give this game a bad score, gameplay is great, the 16 bit graphics are great, and so is the story with multiple endings, and now even more content on the DS. If you like RPG's this is the definitive. Square hit the nail on the head with this, and having Akira Toriyama (Dragon Ball, Dragon Quest, etc.) design the characters could not have been a better choice. Expand
  5. JohnSmith
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    Brilliant game even back on the SNES. The story was the best part, and the control given to the player to alter the outcome at the ending Brilliant game even back on the SNES. The story was the best part, and the control given to the player to alter the outcome at the ending depending on how much or how little you played beyond the basic soft-cap on the events that HAVE to be completed. Expand
  6. DaveH
    Jul 4, 2009
    9
    I enjoyed playing the original Chrono Trigger years ago and was satisfied with the port to the DS. It's the same great story as the I enjoyed playing the original Chrono Trigger years ago and was satisfied with the port to the DS. It's the same great story as the original with a few tweaks to the dialogue. The combat is the same as the original with a few abilities renamed. I disagree with anyone who says the combat is boring because when the game was created the combat was fast paced and blew Final Fantasy titles for the SNES out of the water. Also, don't be misled by people saying it's the same game. Even though the extras were noticeably removed from normal game play and seemed like the grindfest of an MMO, in the end they did provide connections between this game and the sequel. I highly recommend fans who have played the original and Chrono Cross to invest into buying the game as well as people new to the series. Expand
  7. MaloD
    Jan 7, 2009
    3
    Grossly overrated. Having not played the original I can only assume it hasn't aged well. A game's is "depth" is only one factor. Grossly overrated. Having not played the original I can only assume it hasn't aged well. A game's is "depth" is only one factor. The gameplay is repetitive and the story is lackluster. Not only that but the game is missing the one feature of the original that could have brought this game up to a 7 for me: Co-op. When you play through a game with someone it can make up for tedious gameplay and alters the experience entirely. It's a shame to see so many respected reviewers using such nostalgia bias in their reviews. Although the remake (not reinterpretation) of a game from nearly 15 years ago suggested that it would be heavily reliant on nostalgia. Expand

See all 88 User Reviews

Trailers

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed DS Game of 2008
#1 Most Shared DS Game of 2008