Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 293 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2008 DS Game of the Year] When a newly developed teleportation device malfunctions at the Millennial Fair, young Crono must travel through time to rescue his unfortunate companion from an intricate web of past and present perils. The swashbuckling adventure that ensues soon unveils an evil force set to destroy the world, triggering Crono's race against time to change the course of history and bring about a brighter future. Features an engaging and unparalleled storyline, leading to the discovery of multiple epic conclusions to a journey that transcends time. An inspiring musical score created by Yasunori Mitsuda. Intriguing battle system made possible by the unique combination of the Active Time Battle system and Tech skills. Famed character designer Akira Toriyama lends his signature art style to create the vibrant world that has captivated gamers around the world. Taking advantage of the Nintendo DS hardware, CHRONO TRIGGER makes its way onto the portable platform with all-new dual screen presentation and Touch-Screen functionality. A brand new dungeon and a Wireless Play mode adds exciting new dimensions to this timeless classic. [Square Enix] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 57
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 57
  3. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 100
    Chrono Trigger is a masterclass in RPG design, its execution so far beyond the quality and poise of contemporary JRPGs it's embarrassing. It represents the work of a company at the very top of its field, a team of designers so confident with the rules that they helped establish that they felt free to subvert and invert them to glorious effect.
  2. 100
    This is a genuine classic, and portability just makes it that much better.
  3. Easily one of the best video games I've played in the recent past, and I've played quite a few of them. Whether or not you're a fan of consoled-based role-playing games, you owe it to yourself to try this one; it might just change your opinion of them.
  4. 90
    Chrono Trigger DS truly stands the test of time. From the distinct 2D visuals, to the wonderful score, to the singular characters, to the unique take on a well-known battle system, everything was done exquisitely in the 90s, and it is all there and just as fun today.
  5. Few games stand the test of time like Chrono Trigger. A role-playing classic, it's one of the very best the genre has to offer.
  6. It's a true classic, and playing it should be a government-mandated rite of passage for any role-playing fan. [Dec 2008, p.130]
  7. The classic 1995 role-player is finally released in Europe and it's almost sad how fresh it still feels.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 71
  2. Negative: 4 out of 71
  1. David
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Chrono Trigger is one of the best, if not THE best RPG's of all time. It is the game that made me love RPG's and about the only game that I can play and beat over and over again. Expand
  2. JimG
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    I don't know how anyone could give this game less than a 9. It is, without a doubt, one of the best RPGs of ALL time. If not, THE best. It's a great DS port of the original with a few newly added additions that is definitely worth the experience and price tag all over again. Expand
  3. PaoloJ
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    Well, like many others, I picked up this game because I missed it the first time, and heard it was stupendous and magical ...And they were very much correct;well, to me at least. Chrono Trigger has aged well, and holds up even to today's best titles. I love how Chrono Trigger has a focus on exploration. There are caves, forests and castles to be explored in the different time eras of Chrono Trigger. You may explore the Dark Ages, the Future and Prehistoric eras, with a few other eras in between. Throw in some hidden items, secrets, and treasures for motivation, and you've got an amazing exploration experience. Chrono Trigger has some action too, to add some excitement to your adventurous mind. There are no random encounters, and the battle system is deep, but easy to get into. If you're familiar with the Final Fantasy series, Chrono Trigger will feel very familiar to you. CT runs utilizes a modified version of the ATB. You'll encounter ghouls and goblins, robots and mutants, dinosaurs and knights and many more. The boss fights are enjoyable and exciting, and the more important boss fights are just plain epic. Three of my favorite boss fights ever happen in this game. The music in CT is just phenomenal. There are many different tunes to fit the mood. They give each time era a different vibe, and represents them well. The background music is memorable and catchy, while the battle themes set you up for a huge climactic fight. Listen to a few tunes on Youtube or something, I'm sure you'll be impressed. Chrono Trigger's soundtrack is what they make it out to be, it's fantastic. This game is old, and the graphics are certainly showing their age. They still look good though; it's certainly one of the prettier DS games. Chrono Trigger was a technical masterpiece during it's time... but is still an amazing artistic piece today. The different time periods look great, and it's easy to tell one from the other, and the locales you'll visit are just beautiful. Those with a strong imagination could probably image themselves in these epic landscapes. The characters in CT are colorful, and give off an indescribable charm. The characters just somehow make you feel younger. I don't know how, but they do. Each character has a distinct personality, and have an interesting past to uncover. My favorite character is Frog, a loyal knight to the Kingdom of Guardia. Chrono Trigger has a now very overused story, but it's still very interesting today, because of it's unique method of story telling; time travel. Each era is different and have many different problems to solve, but they all connect at one point. Each era is like a puzzle piece; you'll have to fit them together to find the big image. There are only two things I disliked in the game. Number one, the easy-ish difficulty, and number two, the the bland and repetitive extras introduced in this port. In conclusion, you must play Chrono Trigger. It's an amazing RPG, and is widely considered to be one of the best games ever. It's one of the best games I've played, and has taken top spot for favorite RPG. There's a good chance for it to become one of yours. 10/10 Recommended 110%. Note: Chrono Trigger is without a doubt one of the best games I've played, but don't let that boost your expectations to ridiculous heights. Come into the game with lower, more realistic expectations, so there's a good chance of having zero disappointments. That said, enjoy the game. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    One of the best games I ever played and definitely my favorite RPG game. Phenomenal soundtrack, dynamic and innovative gameplay, fantastic storytelling, stunning graphics (for the time of course ^ ^), and an engaging and wonderful story, not to mention the more than 10 possible endings that the game offers. With a legend of graphic animations (Akira Toriyama), two geniuses of the soundtracks (Nobuo Uematsu and Yasunori Mitsuda), plus the Director of Dragon Quest series (Yuji Horii) and the producer of Final Fantasy series (Hironobu Sakaguchi). I do not have the RIGHT to give a lower rating than 10/10 for Chrono Trigger. PS: Each has their own opinion, feel free to disagree with me. ^ ^ Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. MY SCORE: 9.6/10 (I round it on Metacritic)

    Almost 20 years later there's nothing much to say about this game that hasn't been said yet. One of my favourites. The amazing time-travelling themed plot drags you in and the smooth RPG gameplay makes it impossible to leave aside. A must have for anyone who like any kind of RPG gaming or any gamer at all. Epic story, awesome atmosphere and one of the best soundtracks ever made for videogames. Of course, being this game made in 1995 makes it obsolete, there's much more new and better graphics and also all kind of gameplay improvement, but the awesome characters, story, soundtrack and all that time-travelling (which I'm really fond of) cover up it's old age.

    I don't recommend this game for anyone that started playing videogames after 2005/2006, since people like this are hard to catch the feeling and the awesomeness of this game!
    Expand
  6. SaganT
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    Chrono Trigger is an amazing game with bright ideas for originally coming out for the SNES. Traveling through all of the different times of the world, and running into the creatures and characters is very entertaining. Made by the dream team (creators of Final fantasy and Dragon Quest) Chrono Trigger's greatness is contributed by its timeless game play on the D.S. It is the must have title for the D.S. Expand
  7. MaloD
    Jan 7, 2009
    3
    Grossly overrated. Having not played the original I can only assume it hasn't aged well. A game's is "depth" is only one factor. The gameplay is repetitive and the story is lackluster. Not only that but the game is missing the one feature of the original that could have brought this game up to a 7 for me: Co-op. When you play through a game with someone it can make up for tedious gameplay and alters the experience entirely. It's a shame to see so many respected reviewers using such nostalgia bias in their reviews. Although the remake (not reinterpretation) of a game from nearly 15 years ago suggested that it would be heavily reliant on nostalgia. Expand

See all 71 User Reviews

Trailers