• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Oct 19, 2006
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Such games are rare, and I consider Contact to be a triumph of development. But, putting aside my assessment of its artistic merit, Contact is really just a fun, engaging RPG that Nintendo DS owners have been waiting for ever since the system was released.
  2. It feels postmodern and classic all in the same heartbeat. [Oct. 2006, p.62]
  3. Contact is one of the most imaginative game concepts yet on the DS and fortunately for us all there is a deep and satisfying role-playing gameplay system to back up that concept and make it a thoroughly enjoyable and long-lasting adventure.
  4. The beats are creative and the music will stick in your head for days. [JPN Import]
  5. It's got a gripping story, simple combat system and uses the dual screens in inventive ways. Highly recommended. [Dec 2006, p.92]
  6. Contact has an easy to grasp control scheme, making it simple for anyone to pick up and play. However, the game is still incredibly deep, with tons of customization options for your journey.
  7. 85
    For those who seek something fresh and intelligent, unique and humerous, Contact is the perfect game for you. The combat and grinding may get old in the end, but the game itself is solid and that fact alone makes it all worth while.
  8. It's got a great look and can be played without causing too much stress. The DS is the perfect console for casual gaming and Contact fits that bill perfectly.
  9. A perverse sense of humor and singular style ensure that Contact offers a refreshing dose of originality that is certainly not lacking on the DS, but might be lacking in the RPG genre.
  10. 80
    Its high-concept nature never translates into pretentiousness -- on the contrary, the English script is by turns hilarious and intriguing. Despite its imperfections, it's unique, daring, and occasionally strange.
  11. 80
    For those with patience, a good sense of direction, and an interest in the obscure, you owe it to yourself to try the game out. If you have a short temper or enjoy the mundane, it's best you avoid making contact with this one.
  12. 75
    Contact is an amazingly interesting title, and while it isn’t necessarily for everyone, gamers who get into the design are going to find themselves rewarded with a ton of awesome content.
  13. Contact offers a creative island-hopping adventure that stands taller than many recent portable RPG's. [Oct. 2006, p.119]
  14. Although it makes good use of the stylus, the combat system is not as good as any of the many alternatives available on the DS. It can be a little repetitive, but if you play in short sessions, it could mean fun to the more patient gamers. [Dec 2007]
  15. While some gamers will be turned off by the lack of control during battles, the game’s deep statistics, enduring characters, and down right bizarre story are more than enough to warrant a look.
  16. 73
    Contact is a classic case of A for effort, C for execution. It is easy to tell that a lot of love was put into this game and it had the potential to be a classic of Earthbound proportions. Unfortunately, despite the game's merits, I ultimately found it too mundane, boring, repetitive, monotonous, and dull to recommend.
  17. It isn't quite good enough to be a cult classic, but it's routinely OK and fitfully superb. [Mar 2007, p.82]
  18. What it lacks in tactical depth, it returns doubly so in its offbeat charm whether through the crackpot mutterings of its cast of characters or its increasingly nontraditional modern-day island locales. [Oct 2006, p.93]
  19. If you can bear the disappointment, and push on through, you'll realise that, between the whole intertextual thing and the interesting-but-average RPG mechanics, there's still a decent game in here. It's just a shame it's not the amazingly brilliant one it could have been.
  20. If you want to make Contact in strange new ways then this passionate game could be for you. Just don’t be hoping for something amazing to take you away from all your bases.
  21. This isn't going to change the world, but far be it for me to condemn it for being a run-of-the-mill RPG with a fun sense of humor. [Oct. 2006, p.114]
  22. 70
    If the idea of playing a game that feels traditional, but is an entirely new creation with a sense of humor appeals to you, then pick up Contact today. Otherwise, you aren’t missing much.
  23. 70
    Contact has a very strange feel to it, and not just that of a game with over-simplified controls.
  24. A mixed bag of seen-it-all-before RPG standards, totally weird plot devices and unspeakable gaming in-jokes. Both like and unlike everything you've played before. [Nov 2006, p.67]
  25. An RPG that dares to be different, plot-wise, but still starts you off fighting worms and skellingtons in cobwebby old dungeons. [Dec 2006, p.38]
  26. All of Contact's charm can't save it from the tedium that bogs down a lot of RPGs. But it's still as solid as they come, not terribly spectacular, but the perfect fare for devotees of the genre.
  27. A promisingly strange premise gives Contact a strong start, but the often-boring combat and exploration sequences that ensue just don't live up to it.
  28. Contact is, in a word, frustrating. [Nov. 2006, p.92]
  29. Contact offers a refreshingly unique experience, but it certainly is not for everyone.
  30. 60
    Those looking for an RPG-lite experience to ease them into or even help them return the world of RPGs, or looking for a chunk of throwaway fun, will no doubt enjoy Contact as an easygoing romp.
  31. With a mixed bag of quality, humor, and creativity to work with, gamers will likely find themselves split over the game’s appeal. It’s not a bad game; it simply lacks a decent execution.
  32. Contact does sport an incredible surprise ending that adds depth and changes your perspective on all the main characters in the game. However, its impact is greatly diminished by the extremely short play time.
  33. Something of a disappointment considering our expectations, uncovering Contact's charms demands significant patience.
  34. 60
    The uninspired combat and backtracking may put you off, but the game's unique story and premise make Contact well worth experiencing.
  35. 60
    The freshness of the self-referential humor, the EXCELLENT music, and the juxtaposed watercolor/pixilated graphics certainly make Contact an experience. The somewhat boring and repetitive combat, coupled with the somewhat boring, repetitive line of quests dampen that experience somewhat, however.
  36. If only as much imagination had been applied to the gameplay as the narrative. [Dec 2006, p.108]
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Tropixxxxx
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    I am not done with the game yet, but I find it, so far, to be very, very good. It keeps my attention and makes me want to keep on playing. Evry time I turn it off, I just can't wait to play again. When I play other games, (not Contact), I feel as if I should stop playing these games, and only play Contact. This is by far the best DS game I have ever played! I would suggest it to ANYONE!!! Full Review »
  2. LukeF.
    Oct 19, 2006
    10
    This game is simply a masterpiece incoorperating different visual styles and a great story.
  3. May 2, 2014
    10
    This game is great. It perfects the RPG reward system, as well as the game-play formula for the RPG.

    It's a unique game. The level-up
    system is definitely done well, and quite well done. The level design could be a little more complex, the immersion is good, the graphics design is quite unique, and the game-play is based on a unique aspect. Costumes. No, I don't mean costumes from Party City. Suits would be a better term. They give abilities that can be leveled up. I can see the time put into this game. A good 95/100. Full Review »