Contact DS

  • Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Oct 19, 2006

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
Buy On
  1. While some gamers will be turned off by the lack of control during battles, the game’s deep statistics, enduring characters, and down right bizarre story are more than enough to warrant a look.
  2. 73
    Contact is a classic case of A for effort, C for execution. It is easy to tell that a lot of love was put into this game and it had the potential to be a classic of Earthbound proportions. Unfortunately, despite the game's merits, I ultimately found it too mundane, boring, repetitive, monotonous, and dull to recommend.
  3. Games Master UK
    It isn't quite good enough to be a cult classic, but it's routinely OK and fitfully superb. [Mar 2007, p.82]
  4. Edge Magazine
    What it lacks in tactical depth, it returns doubly so in its offbeat charm whether through the crackpot mutterings of its cast of characters or its increasingly nontraditional modern-day island locales. [Oct 2006, p.93]
  5. Game Informer
    This isn't going to change the world, but far be it for me to condemn it for being a run-of-the-mill RPG with a fun sense of humor. [Oct. 2006, p.114]
  6. NGC Magazine UK
    A mixed bag of seen-it-all-before RPG standards, totally weird plot devices and unspeakable gaming in-jokes. Both like and unlike everything you've played before. [Nov 2006, p.67]
  7. All of Contact's charm can't save it from the tedium that bogs down a lot of RPGs. But it's still as solid as they come, not terribly spectacular, but the perfect fare for devotees of the genre.
  8. If you want to make Contact in strange new ways then this passionate game could be for you. Just don’t be hoping for something amazing to take you away from all your bases.
  9. Nintendo Gamer
    An RPG that dares to be different, plot-wise, but still starts you off fighting worms and skellingtons in cobwebby old dungeons. [Dec 2006, p.38]
  10. 70
    If the idea of playing a game that feels traditional, but is an entirely new creation with a sense of humor appeals to you, then pick up Contact today. Otherwise, you aren’t missing much.
  11. If you can bear the disappointment, and push on through, you'll realise that, between the whole intertextual thing and the interesting-but-average RPG mechanics, there's still a decent game in here. It's just a shame it's not the amazingly brilliant one it could have been.
  12. 70
    Contact has a very strange feel to it, and not just that of a game with over-simplified controls.
  13. A promisingly strange premise gives Contact a strong start, but the often-boring combat and exploration sequences that ensue just don't live up to it.
  14. Nintendo Power
    Contact is, in a word, frustrating. [Nov. 2006, p.92]
  15. Contact offers a refreshingly unique experience, but it certainly is not for everyone.
  16. 60
    The freshness of the self-referential humor, the EXCELLENT music, and the juxtaposed watercolor/pixilated graphics certainly make Contact an experience. The somewhat boring and repetitive combat, coupled with the somewhat boring, repetitive line of quests dampen that experience somewhat, however.
  17. Contact does sport an incredible surprise ending that adds depth and changes your perspective on all the main characters in the game. However, its impact is greatly diminished by the extremely short play time.
  18. 60
    The uninspired combat and backtracking may put you off, but the game's unique story and premise make Contact well worth experiencing.
  19. 60
    Those looking for an RPG-lite experience to ease them into or even help them return the world of RPGs, or looking for a chunk of throwaway fun, will no doubt enjoy Contact as an easygoing romp.
  20. Something of a disappointment considering our expectations, uncovering Contact's charms demands significant patience.
  21. With a mixed bag of quality, humor, and creativity to work with, gamers will likely find themselves split over the game’s appeal. It’s not a bad game; it simply lacks a decent execution.
  22. games(TM)
    If only as much imagination had been applied to the gameplay as the narrative. [Dec 2006, p.108]

Awards & Rankings

#23 Most Discussed DS Game of 2006
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Tropixxxxx
    Aug 21, 2008
    I am not done with the game yet, but I find it, so far, to be very, very good. It keeps my attention and makes me want to keep on playing.I am not done with the game yet, but I find it, so far, to be very, very good. It keeps my attention and makes me want to keep on playing. Evry time I turn it off, I just can't wait to play again. When I play other games, (not Contact), I feel as if I should stop playing these games, and only play Contact. This is by far the best DS game I have ever played! I would suggest it to ANYONE!!! Full Review »
  2. May 2, 2014
    This game is great. It perfects the RPG reward system, as well as the game-play formula for the RPG.

    It's a unique game. The level-up
    This game is great. It perfects the RPG reward system, as well as the game-play formula for the RPG.

    It's a unique game. The level-up system is definitely done well, and quite well done. The level design could be a little more complex, the immersion is good, the graphics design is quite unique, and the game-play is based on a unique aspect. Costumes. No, I don't mean costumes from Party City. Suits would be a better term. They give abilities that can be leveled up. I can see the time put into this game. A good 95/100.
    Full Review »
  3. LukeF.
    Oct 19, 2006
    This game is simply a masterpiece incoorperating different visual styles and a great story.