• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Oct 19, 2006
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Tropixxxxx
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    I am not done with the game yet, but I find it, so far, to be very, very good. It keeps my attention and makes me want to keep on playing. Evry time I turn it off, I just can't wait to play again. When I play other games, (not Contact), I feel as if I should stop playing these games, and only play Contact. This is by far the best DS game I have ever played! I would suggest it toI am not done with the game yet, but I find it, so far, to be very, very good. It keeps my attention and makes me want to keep on playing. Evry time I turn it off, I just can't wait to play again. When I play other games, (not Contact), I feel as if I should stop playing these games, and only play Contact. This is by far the best DS game I have ever played! I would suggest it to ANYONE!!! Expand
  2. LukeF.
    Oct 19, 2006
    10
    This game is simply a masterpiece incoorperating different visual styles and a great story.
  3. J.J.M.
    Nov 24, 2006
    5
    This game disappointed me at a lightning pace that few other games ever have. Its reputation as "clever" and "offbeat" is enormously undeserved in my opinion. It's a very, very generic RPG with no plot, boring characters and enemies, and dull, repetitive gameplay. It is a game that will be quickly forgotten, and rightly so.
  4. ThomasM.
    Oct 23, 2006
    8
    The automated combat system works fine, considering you can still maneuver and choose other commands such as items or special attacks. The eccentric storyline and inventory put this game on a higher tier than other "by the numbers" RPG's. It's just so fun! And the graphics are easy on the eyes.
  5. J.
    Dec 30, 2006
    8
    This game had me frustrated (in a good way) and generally kept me entertained, but also disappointed me in some areas. It reduces the complications of other RPGs, but in the process removes some of the fun you might find in fighting systems with features like full spell casting (though there are some "special moves" you can use). While the storyline is fun it is a bit insane and gets you This game had me frustrated (in a good way) and generally kept me entertained, but also disappointed me in some areas. It reduces the complications of other RPGs, but in the process removes some of the fun you might find in fighting systems with features like full spell casting (though there are some "special moves" you can use). While the storyline is fun it is a bit insane and gets you wondering what the heck is going. It also feels a bit thrown together sometimes. This game isn't for everybody, but for me it was worth the money. Some of the fun comes after you beat it you can get items that you may have missed during the regular course of game play, get "girlfriends" and play a few fun "mini-games" scattered throughout the world. Expand
  6. MatthewG.
    Oct 25, 2006
    8
    Although it is short the first time through, there are still further secrets and interesting things to occupy your time long after finishing the game. Amazing music, great humour, and wonderful ending!
  7. AndrewS.
    Aug 17, 2007
    9
    I don't play many RPG's (Pokèmon) but this was a great, fun game. Half of the fun comes from filling the inventory and reading descriptions of the weapons and items. Fun.
  8. Bukkarooo
    Jan 24, 2007
    9
    I just recently finished this and I thouroughly enjoyed it. The was plenty, I didn't beat it 100%. That may be why it was pretty short, I beat it within a week. The areas are nicely done, though the characters are somewhat underwhelming. This is inventive in the fact that YOU are a character. You just "influence" the main character, "Terry". I won't bore you with the story, I just recently finished this and I thouroughly enjoyed it. The was plenty, I didn't beat it 100%. That may be why it was pretty short, I beat it within a week. The areas are nicely done, though the characters are somewhat underwhelming. This is inventive in the fact that YOU are a character. You just "influence" the main character, "Terry". I won't bore you with the story, though it's actually good, I don't want to explain it though. The fighting is fun, if you like FF12, you'll love this. There are plenty of weapons, and you can cook when you have the right costume. Costumes are a big part of the game, there is Default, one for each element, fishing, cooking, and thievery. This is so much fun, give it a try. Expand
  9. May 2, 2014
    10
    This game is great. It perfects the RPG reward system, as well as the game-play formula for the RPG.

    It's a unique game. The level-up system is definitely done well, and quite well done. The level design could be a little more complex, the immersion is good, the graphics design is quite unique, and the game-play is based on a unique aspect. Costumes. No, I don't mean costumes from Party
    This game is great. It perfects the RPG reward system, as well as the game-play formula for the RPG.

    It's a unique game. The level-up system is definitely done well, and quite well done. The level design could be a little more complex, the immersion is good, the graphics design is quite unique, and the game-play is based on a unique aspect. Costumes. No, I don't mean costumes from Party City. Suits would be a better term. They give abilities that can be leveled up. I can see the time put into this game. A good 95/100.
    Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. What it lacks in tactical depth, it returns doubly so in its offbeat charm whether through the crackpot mutterings of its cast of characters or its increasingly nontraditional modern-day island locales. [Oct 2006, p.93]
  2. Contact offers a creative island-hopping adventure that stands taller than many recent portable RPG's. [Oct. 2006, p.119]
  3. This isn't going to change the world, but far be it for me to condemn it for being a run-of-the-mill RPG with a fun sense of humor. [Oct. 2006, p.114]