User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 7 out of 42

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NicklasJ.
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    This game is easy to pick up and play. It uses the a button to the extreme, but is really easy to learn. The a button does the electro blast, jumps, floats, and is the main button to this game. You play as rocket a slime that is trying to find his 100 friends that the plob took from your village. After you play for a little bit you can throw slimes or items on a cart and those will go This game is easy to pick up and play. It uses the a button to the extreme, but is really easy to learn. The a button does the electro blast, jumps, floats, and is the main button to this game. You play as rocket a slime that is trying to find his 100 friends that the plob took from your village. After you play for a little bit you can throw slimes or items on a cart and those will go back to town. The items that you throw on a cart is used for the tank battles. The tank battles are the heart of the game and are real easy to do. You throw any thing in you cannon and hopes it hits the other tank before he throws some items in his. All on all this is one dragon quest game that no fan should be without. Expand
  2. Pris
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    So impressionably cute characters and grahpics. Nothing seems as fun as this anymore.
  3. CH
    Sep 12, 2007
    2
    For a game that requires you to bang around and knocking into enemies or allies alike, this game did it bad. It is not the childish game play that I am complaining about, even though I don't like a single bit of it, but it is that nonsensical plot that I find gruesome. If its not for the still legible graphics, It wont recieve one single point from me.
  4. GregPettit
    Mar 8, 2008
    2
    I don't get it, either. My only dilemna is whether to pass it along to another DS owner as a cruel joke, or sell it on an auction site. The game starts with a very uninvolved 'setup' phase, and doesn't seem to get much better from there. It's possible that things turn around once you've dumped a few hours into it, but my patience wore thin after the firstI don't get it, either. My only dilemna is whether to pass it along to another DS owner as a cruel joke, or sell it on an auction site. The game starts with a very uninvolved 'setup' phase, and doesn't seem to get much better from there. It's possible that things turn around once you've dumped a few hours into it, but my patience wore thin after the first 30 minutes. Unless you enjoy punishing yourself for your own wrongdoings, pass on this one. Expand
  5. BenG.
    Oct 25, 2006
    1
    I honestly don't get it and am truely disappointed. From so many glowing reviews, I was sure I would have a good time, not spend all my time reading text and stacking people on my head, and stretching like a slingshot. I've really tried to get into this game, but it bores me to death, and it's the only DS game I own I actually regret buying.
  6. HattoriH.
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    Slowly becoming one of my favorite games on the DS. Tank battles are awesome and hilarious.
  7. ScottD.
    Oct 3, 2006
    9
    Ok, the first thing that came to mind when I booted this game up was that it looked like Zelda. A Link to The Past to be exact. Only Link looked like a blue slime (Rocket), rather then a Keebler Elf in white tights. And while I did feel the gameplay different quite abit from the Nintendo classic, I think Zelda fans would do good to check this one out. From all i've played, your Ok, the first thing that came to mind when I booted this game up was that it looked like Zelda. A Link to The Past to be exact. Only Link looked like a blue slime (Rocket), rather then a Keebler Elf in white tights. And while I did feel the gameplay different quite abit from the Nintendo classic, I think Zelda fans would do good to check this one out. From all i've played, your character Rocket can do quite abit to get him through his journey. Being a slime not restricted by bone, he has the ability to stretch his self, stun enemies by snapping into them, and lift enemies and objects. Perhaps the best aspect of RS is the tank battles. These are pretty deep, but not deep enough to scare off newbies or young kids There's various ammo types players can use for their tanks, and you also have the ability to customize your tank somewhat by using rescued allies to enhance it.The whole tank aspect of the game is something I'd like to see more of in a sequel someday. Heck, i'd love to see a RS game based entirely on it. Musicly, the game has sorta a bouncy soundtrack to it. While I didn't feel much of it was too memorable, I also didn't find any of it annoying. Best of all though, it fits the content of the game, and thats important. In the end, I would highly reccomend Rocket Slime to anyone looking for a fun, lighthearted adventure for their DS. Even if you have never played anything in the "Dragon Quest" series, you'll most likely enjoy the game. Expand
  8. JakeSmith
    Oct 28, 2006
    8
    It is a good game, but it gets repetative. Also, it seems almost like it is a Christian propaganda game in a way. It is way too easy, and then it drags on like that, and I am not someone who can usually beat games. Despite all this, the gameplay is fairly enjoyable and entertaining and it is not overly complicated like some games seem to be these days.
  9. DannyV.
    Jan 5, 2007
    9
    The game is so charming and fun that it was hard for me not to give it a ten, but it was just too easy.
  10. Ryan
    Mar 10, 2009
    7
    Cheerful, bubbly and colourful are but some of this game's qualities. Repetitive and shallow may be some of it's lesser ones, yet a good time can be had when you're in the mood for a light top-down adventure. Nothing too tricky to worry about on the control side of things either. Good, clean fun.
  11. RichH.
    Sep 22, 2006
    9
    After a few hours of playing this game I am very happy to have bought Rocket Slime. The game has some old school elements that Dragon Quest fans will pick up on right away along with some new things as well that new fans will enjoy. The game play is cute and very entertaining as you control one of Dragon Quest
  12. Alan
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    this game is so good that you must need to buy it imedately !
  13. TawnaE.
    Sep 29, 2006
    9
    Pros: Rocket Slime is packed with humor. The game is easy to pick up and play. Its challenge feels about right. The controls are intuitive, and they function as they should. The brightly colored graphics fit with the light-hearted tone of the game. It is easy to discern the difference between items / monsters and game environment. The game includes funny sound effects. Each level has Pros: Rocket Slime is packed with humor. The game is easy to pick up and play. Its challenge feels about right. The controls are intuitive, and they function as they should. The brightly colored graphics fit with the light-hearted tone of the game. It is easy to discern the difference between items / monsters and game environment. The game includes funny sound effects. Each level has different music, and some songs play for special occasions. Jazzy music fits with the game setting. Cons: Once the game is beaten, there isn't much new to try during replays. Multi-player provides some lasting appeal, but no wi-fi creates problems. Rocket Slime has only one save file, which is something I find annoying. Other Comments: Rocket Slime is a spin-off title of the Dragon Quest RPG video game series. Unlike typical Dragon Quest games, Rocket Slime is an action adventure game. Length is around 20 hours. Expand
  14. ChrisG
    Feb 16, 2008
    9
    I had a blast with Rocket Slime. I was into two other games at the time I got my hands on this game and after my first play it was the only thing I would want to play until I beat it and then after collecting some stuff, beat the hell out of it even more.

    Excellent game for anyone who doesn't NEED a VERY SERIOUS storyline.
  15. DannyS.
    Sep 29, 2006
    9
    The town of Boinsburg is under attack! Giant metal balls are destroying the buildings and every slime except for Rocket has been captured in treasure chests. The Plob has taken over Slimenia and is trying to get rid of slimes all together. How can you save your slimey friends? As Rocket, you go around Slimenia looking for the treasure chests that contain your slime friends. Then you pick The town of Boinsburg is under attack! Giant metal balls are destroying the buildings and every slime except for Rocket has been captured in treasure chests. The Plob has taken over Slimenia and is trying to get rid of slimes all together. How can you save your slimey friends? As Rocket, you go around Slimenia looking for the treasure chests that contain your slime friends. Then you pick them up and throw the on the TranSlimenian Railway to send them back to town. The main point of this game is to repopulate Boinsburg (the Slime's town) with your slime friends as well as collecting as many objects and monsters as you can. Tank battles can be quite challenging and whereas it's rather difficult to actually die, the tank battles actually are hard to win. The difficulty of the puzzles in the game are somewhat easy as well but they do make you think about what you're doing. The soundtrack to the game is very fun. There are tracks that will give you nostalgia to the older Dragon Quest games, but there are new tracks that you love to listen to play for hours. There is one track that is a little weird because of the vocal noises that are played in it, but it fits the situation that it plays in. The music adds to the enjoyment of the game as well as the immersion into the Dragon Quest world. Expand
  16. Apr 9, 2011
    8
    This game was actually my introduction to the Dragon Quest franchise. I was intrigued at playing as a monster. I've enjoyed playing as the 'bad guy' since Super Mario RPG (even if Bowser was a bit slow for my taste). I found it entertaining, even if resource collection was a little bit of a pain. The story was not great, but I could tell it wasn't much more than an excuse to linkThis game was actually my introduction to the Dragon Quest franchise. I was intrigued at playing as a monster. I've enjoyed playing as the 'bad guy' since Super Mario RPG (even if Bowser was a bit slow for my taste). I found it entertaining, even if resource collection was a little bit of a pain. The story was not great, but I could tell it wasn't much more than an excuse to link battles and zones together. It was peppered with little details that added greatly to the atmosphere of the game as a whole (like loading your helpers into your cannons) The tank battles are fast, furious and frenzied, though the AI was a bit lacking in difficulty. If you are looking for something cerebral, you'll want to take a pass. 2-player versus tank battles with my wife ate up hour after hour for weeks, so grab it if you've got someone to link battle with. Expand
  17. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    Cheerful graphics and sound, innovative gameplay and a hilarious plot and premise. And the tank battles are great fun too!

    The only problem is the sheer lack of challenge. I didn't die once, and once I figured out the secret to utterly destroy enemies in tank battles (which I will not share here, as it's truly game destroying), I would often not even take a single point of damage
    Cheerful graphics and sound, innovative gameplay and a hilarious plot and premise. And the tank battles are great fun too!

    The only problem is the sheer lack of challenge. I didn't die once, and once I figured out the secret to utterly destroy enemies in tank battles (which I will not share here, as it's truly game destroying), I would often not even take a single point of damage throughout the whole battle.

    Still, it's definitely one of the best games on the system, and well worth the $10 or so that it'll cost you.
    Expand
  18. Jul 28, 2013
    8
    A well polished, split-genre adventure that declares not all spin-offs have to be bad or dishonest. From start to finish, it will surpass your expectations.
  19. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    this game is honestly one of the best i have played.a good variety of lovable characters and fun gameplay make this game great! i played this game day after day and then my ds broke and i cried.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. A great game that might not be pushing the DS visually, yet it's filled with great gameplay featuring deep tank battles and fast-paced action sections. No doubt, it will put a smile on your face for the ten hours or so that it lasts. [JPN Import]
  2. Multicard two-player tank battles and single-card download demos round out a well-placed and satisfying adventure. [Oct. 2006, p.86]
  3. Rocket Slime is that rarest of breeds: a kid's game that completely rocks. [Oct. 2006, p.118]