Dragon Quest VI: Realms of Revelation DS

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
Buy On
  1. May 24, 2011
    70
    We like the exploring and the story, but the random encounters are a drag.
  2. Feb 28, 2011
    70
    Its addictive nature will ensnare anyone with even a hint of fondness for the Dragon Quest series, and will work quite well as an introduction to the games for any who are curious.
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    70
    Dragon Quest VI will appeal to a very limited demographic of gamers. While Dragon Quest VI's archaic nature is exactly what hardcore Dragon Quest fans and some JRPG fans crave, it will turn just about everyone else off.
  4. May 11, 2011
    69
    In the end, if you like this kind of game, complete with turn-based fights and random encounters, then you'll have next to nothing to complain about, but for those who find this isn't their cup of tea, they'll be hard-pressed to find many things they like. Dragon Quest VI is already available in stores for the Nintendo DS.
  5. Mar 9, 2011
    67
    I wouldn't say that Dragon Quest VI is a bad game, it just lacks a lot of the modern conveniences that JRPGs have incorporated since the game was initially released.
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    62
    Unfortunately, the only really interesting aspect of the game was taken out of the remake, so the best that can be said of the game is that it's not bad. I was definitely never tempted to hate Dragon Quest VI.
  7. May 30, 2011
    60
    Definitely one of the lesser entries in the Dragon Quest franchise, but still a loving remake for those that can stomach the overfamiliarity.

Awards & Rankings

#13 Most Discussed DS Game of 2011
#3 Most Shared DS Game of 2011
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    an excellent rpg that i enjoy even more so than the big consoles ones!
    great story and a very nice upgrade from the Snes original this is a
    an excellent rpg that i enjoy even more so than the big consoles ones!
    great story and a very nice upgrade from the Snes original this is a must have for any Ds rpg fan or if you love Dragon quest
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    Being a fan of most RPG's I am going to be slightly biased but any fan of RPG's and owns a DS and does not pick this one up is a fool toBeing a fan of most RPG's I am going to be slightly biased but any fan of RPG's and owns a DS and does not pick this one up is a fool to themselves one of the greatest games on the DS at the moment. If you played the other 2 games in the DS re-make trilogy this may be a little old-school but if you are wating for the next Final Fantasy (13-2) this will be a great game to pick up. Even if you are currently playing a Larger RPG Such as ones on the Latest Steam Sales this will be a great on the go game I am about 5 hours into my latest playthrough and I am not even 10% into the game yet. 10/10 Full Review »
  3. Mar 29, 2015
    10
    Ein legendärer Mitstreiter der Dragon Quest Reihe , den ich zu einem Spottpreis bekam und zurecht mein zweiter Platz ist ... KonfuseEin legendärer Mitstreiter der Dragon Quest Reihe , den ich zu einem Spottpreis bekam und zurecht mein zweiter Platz ist ... Konfuse Geschichten , Bockschweres Gameplay und Unmengen an Geheimnisse . Das schreit ja direkt nach Epicness ! ;) Full Review »