• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Drawn to Life: The Next Chapter Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Drawn to Life: The Next Chapter for Nintendo DS, players draw their own heroes, be it humans, animals or multi-limbed creatures, and embark on a brand new adventure aboard a Turtle Ship to defeat the evil Wilfre and restore color to the Raposa civilization. Players have the ability toIn Drawn to Life: The Next Chapter for Nintendo DS, players draw their own heroes, be it humans, animals or multi-limbed creatures, and embark on a brand new adventure aboard a Turtle Ship to defeat the evil Wilfre and restore color to the Raposa civilization. Players have the ability to morph their hero into a blob or a spider, adding more gameplay and allowing for players to play each level a variety of different ways. The game’s Action Drawing Tool gives each color special properties when drawing objects into the game to help solve puzzles and progression through the game. Along the way, they collect coins and color drops to unlock a variety of content, including challenges and quests, customization options and hero abilities. In addition, the game’s multi-player aspect allows players to trade heroes, weapons, items and accessories with friends. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. This new installment of Drawn to Life has resulted in an even better title than the first game, with more options and a better game experience.
  2. Really, how great Drawn to Life: The Next Chapter happens to be kind of depends on how creative the player is. If one doesn't really feel like creating a third to a half of the game world, then the end product probably won't be that interesting.
  3. We like the innovation. [Dec 2009, p.86]
  4. While no single portion of the game is “best in class”, the sum of the parts is respectable.
  5. With a rather lovely soundtrack in addition to everything else, The Next Chapter may not be as ambitious as 5th Cell's other game, Scribblenauts, but it is a nice little platformer that may get your artistic juices flowing. Just don't go expecting anything too deep and you may be pleasantly surprised.
  6. 67
    Drawn to Life isn’t broken, but its ho-hum parts meant that it was incredibly rare for me to say I was having fun with a given part of the title, and that’s kind of a big part of why we play games.
  7. Drawn to Life: The Next Chapter is a game with potential; a lot of potential. Unfortunately in many respects the designers seem to have been sorely lacking in the strength of their own convictions.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    The best DS game I've played and one of the best I've played on any platform. The story is good and continues from the first one. Wilfre is aThe best DS game I've played and one of the best I've played on any platform. The story is good and continues from the first one. Wilfre is a little **** who deserved to get slaughtered at the end. It's a controversial ending, seeing as how the entire thing ends up being a dream. But still an extremely fun game. Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Ok before I start, may I ask Why do people hate this game!?!?! It is an excellent 2-D platformer with a great score, and an excellent story. IOk before I start, may I ask Why do people hate this game!?!?! It is an excellent 2-D platformer with a great score, and an excellent story. I must also give a shout out about the graphics, THERE GORGEOUS. I will admit that the water-color gorgeousness doesn't blend well with your own crudely drawn drawings... But all is forgiven because of how gorgeous those oversold graphics are. I love the graphics if you couldn't tell. I also really like the level design, it has a perfect sense of challenge not to hard and not to easy... Well the second half of the game. I could go on and on about this game and how much I love it, but I don't wanna waste your time. All and all this is the most underrated game I've ever played. Sure it's kinda short and the ending sucks, but it's an experience that many people are missing out on. I would recommend this game to anyone who likes platformers a or those who just enjoy a great experience. Buy this game, please... Well that is if you can find it... RIP THQ... Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2014
    9
    Yeah, these games are DEEPLY flawed. Some levels feel too long, you can play as a doodle of a vulgar organ if you choose and there's REALLYYeah, these games are DEEPLY flawed. Some levels feel too long, you can play as a doodle of a vulgar organ if you choose and there's REALLY unresponsive controls in the wii and mobile releases.

    BUT. You must buy the ORIGINALS of both Drawn to Life and Drawn To Life: The next chapter. Do not get the double pack, the story is butchered in that one. The original two, will seem cheesy at times. Token, weird, startlingly dark at some moments. But when you reach the end of the second game, WITHOUT a lets play or any nonsense like that and you'll get a surprisingly deep and disturbingly heavy conclusion so satisfying your tears will fill your shoes and you'll go sterile from shock. It's good. REAL good.

    Yeah, it's generic sometimes. DON'T CONFUSE THAT. 5th cell are absolute masters of being the strangest things in my DS library, and this fantastic hidden gem, while a pretty darned fun plat former to begin with has a much deeper story than it lets on. Do not underestimate this game. This is art in its finest form.
    Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    8
    I have played the game really liked it, but it seemed a bit too short for me. The story was good the platforming was fun though not muchI have played the game really liked it, but it seemed a bit too short for me. The story was good the platforming was fun though not much variety, and finally there is almost no replayability. Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2012
    7
    Drawn to Life is a good, fun little game that has an interesting concept. However, many times, the levels can be very frustrating, but theDrawn to Life is a good, fun little game that has an interesting concept. However, many times, the levels can be very frustrating, but the boss battles are almost too easy. However, it is a good little game, can provide lots of fun, drawing pathetic characters and watching them run around, destroying enemies. It's fun for a bit, when you draw giant 'rude things' and use them as power-ups. Still, the game is very fun and enjoyable most of the time. Collapse
  6. Dec 30, 2014
    5
    Drawn to Life: The Next Chapter suffers from being so similar to the original that it becomes worse, with an even cheesier story and even moreDrawn to Life: The Next Chapter suffers from being so similar to the original that it becomes worse, with an even cheesier story and even more questionable design choices. It has its fun moments, but overall, it was just a disappointing experience. Expand
  7. Aug 19, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dear god, I think this is one is superior to the first in gameplay, but what ruins it is the ending. If I had reviewed the first, I'd give the original more points because the ending ruined it for me. It turns out that everything in the game was just Mike's coma dream. Yes, Mike. The same Mike who was just a mere minor character in the first game and played little importance to the story. I wish I could say more, but the ending ruined the entire experience for me. Expand