Elite Beat Agents DS

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 104
  2. Negative: 3 out of 104
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2015
    10
    Elite Beat Agents is a fun and addictive rhythmic-tapping game which is really entertaining. You tap circles and slide the stylus along smooth rhythmic "snakes" along to tunes such as "Makes No Difference", "YMCA" and "Survivor". The difficulty spikes up a lot at the end, and you'll me frantically tapping the stylus to "save the world" at the end (I won't tell you the tune. Play the game).Elite Beat Agents is a fun and addictive rhythmic-tapping game which is really entertaining. You tap circles and slide the stylus along smooth rhythmic "snakes" along to tunes such as "Makes No Difference", "YMCA" and "Survivor". The difficulty spikes up a lot at the end, and you'll me frantically tapping the stylus to "save the world" at the end (I won't tell you the tune. Play the game). Unlike Geometry Dash, you can actually finish a level. Why haven't they made a sequel to this game yet?! 10/10 Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    One of the best DS games, and one of the best musical games on the ds ever. Despite it has a very easy start, the game has so much replayability and so many songs to choose that you'll either try for a perfect (all 300s), or just play out for listening to your favourite songs! And on top of that, it has an unique feeling and it's damn bizarre considering it's dancing agents "dancing" theirOne of the best DS games, and one of the best musical games on the ds ever. Despite it has a very easy start, the game has so much replayability and so many songs to choose that you'll either try for a perfect (all 300s), or just play out for listening to your favourite songs! And on top of that, it has an unique feeling and it's damn bizarre considering it's dancing agents "dancing" their solution out. Not only it's fun to play, but it's also hilariously to watch, but what really took me off was that some songs aren't made very well in this game because most of the songs are covers and some are remade for the game (like "You're the inspiration "I was born to love you" and jumpin' jack flash were slightly changed to be more upbeat) and while most are actually very good (sometimes even better?) than the original, few just don't feel as good. Also, no hidden mode from Ouendan, which is a HUGE lack because not only it was insanely hard but it was also very challenging. But not huge flaws however and still you get a very very good music game that will take you days to complete: infact at higher difficulties it's very hard at first try, but much more fun to play (easy difficulty is a mere long practice mode). If you love music game (and loved Ouendan), you should check this game out: it's cheaper right now and you get a very good music game for your ds. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    This was a very fun and quirky game, but unfortunately it was sometimes a bit finnicky with the controls, which made it very hard at some points for a rhythm game that requires precision. Some of the songs were sub-par compared to the others, and a few would be rather dated now. I would still recommend picking up this game if you hadn't, as it's now easily found for just a couple bucks.This was a very fun and quirky game, but unfortunately it was sometimes a bit finnicky with the controls, which made it very hard at some points for a rhythm game that requires precision. Some of the songs were sub-par compared to the others, and a few would be rather dated now. I would still recommend picking up this game if you hadn't, as it's now easily found for just a couple bucks.
    Art: 8
    Music: 8
    Story: 7
    Gameplay: 7
    Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2012
    0
    Horrible cheesy remake of the brilliant Ouendan, dumbed down for western audiences. Crap music, no character, no humour. Just get the original.
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    7
    Pretty fun game. kept me going for hours!
  6. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    Jammin' on the ds with this game is quite fun. Too bad i feel embarrassed playing a ds nowadays. Cutscenes and gameplay are fun and top notch. Must own for DS
  7. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    One of the best ds games to compete with the likes of heartgold and layton lost future: you may be thinking: why... what... what kind of sick person would make a game forcng you to tap circles. Well i have a question for you: who would want to press some buttons and watch soe pixels change colousr accordingly, huh?
    This is an amazing game with 16 song, only 1 bad one: Rock this town, and
    One of the best ds games to compete with the likes of heartgold and layton lost future: you may be thinking: why... what... what kind of sick person would make a game forcng you to tap circles. Well i have a question for you: who would want to press some buttons and watch soe pixels change colousr accordingly, huh?
    This is an amazing game with 16 song, only 1 bad one: Rock this town, and is incredibly addictive so... yeah get it now: 94%
    Expand
  8. Jun 27, 2011
    9
    Elite Beat Agents is not your typical rhythm game. It gives you humor, good music, and great gameplay. I love how the game starts off easy then ramps up to "oh my god! one more time and I can beat it" People have criticized it for being short and having only "ten" songs. Fact: It's not short, there are three difficulty modes that only add to the fun. There are also unlockable songs (whichElite Beat Agents is not your typical rhythm game. It gives you humor, good music, and great gameplay. I love how the game starts off easy then ramps up to "oh my god! one more time and I can beat it" People have criticized it for being short and having only "ten" songs. Fact: It's not short, there are three difficulty modes that only add to the fun. There are also unlockable songs (which the people below me I guess didn't play long enough to find out.) Best of all are the cutscenes which really play the wacky situations greatly. They are comic book esque and you'll laugh every time you see them. There are also a couple of tearjerkers. The last level had me ramped up and I was tap and dragging my heart out. This game has been out for a long time so the price is cheap. Get it while you can. You will not be disapointed. I promise. Nine outta Ten! Expand
  9. May 26, 2011
    10
    The frantic gameplay, comic-book-esque "cutscenes", zany humor, and wide selection of songs easily make this the most funny (and challenging) rythm game on DS. If you don't own this, you need to call for HEEEAAALLLPPPP!!!
  10. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I'd like to point out some things that people don't seem to be understanding. First, about the track list. The songs in the game aren't tailor-made to your preference. Everybody's taste in music is different. If you don't like songs like Sk8ter Boi, that's fine, but that song isn't meant for you. It's meant for people who do in fact like those songs, because beleive it or not, they doI'd like to point out some things that people don't seem to be understanding. First, about the track list. The songs in the game aren't tailor-made to your preference. Everybody's taste in music is different. If you don't like songs like Sk8ter Boi, that's fine, but that song isn't meant for you. It's meant for people who do in fact like those songs, because beleive it or not, they do exist. Imagine if the game only had songs that YOU like. If that was the case, only people who have similar taste in music as you would buy it, and everyone else would be left out. Think of it like this. Guitar Hero is all about Rock songs, so people who don't like rock songs would obviously not buy it, because it's not meant for them. There's a wide variety of music in the game so that a wide variety of people will find it appealing. Now about the dificulty. This is mostly for Jagur, who doesn't seem to understand what the level of difficulties are meant for. In most games, difficulty settings are meant to make the game easier, or harder depending on your skill level. The same is true for EBA. However, in other games, after you complete the game on one difficulty, that's usually about it, unless you feel compelled to try the game on a higher difficulty. In EBA, the higher difficulties are REQUIRED. Once you finish one difficulty, you are SUPPOSSED to go to the next one up. That's why the hardest song on one difficulty is about the same level of challenge as the easier songs on the next higher difficulty. The higher difficulties are part of the entire game, not an option. That's why the really high difficulties need to be unlocked first. Anyway, I don;t remember when I bought this game, but it was at least a year ago, and I only finished the Hardest difficulty yesterday. That's how long it's suppossed to last. The is easily my favorite rhythm game of all time and a contender for my favorite game EVER, and I play a lot of games. The level about the girl at christmas nearly brought me to tears, and if it doesn't at least make you a little sad, then I don't know what's wrong with you. That's about all I have to say. Hope I helped. Expand
  11. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    Fast difficult game and extremely enjoyable. This won't fail to put a smile on your face. you will get frustrated for sure. but still its one of the best DS games out there
  12. Sep 3, 2010
    6
    For how cheap it is now, EBA is possibly worth getting, but it's extremely short with just over 10 songs. Having said that, it's a funny little game with a pretty good song choice, and will whittle away a few minutes, but is too limited for long sessions. While unique and features short amounts of fun, it would be much better with twice as many songs.
  13. AgentsareGO!
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    Picked this up for 5 euro, and played it to death. It really has something for everyone from Rhythm game God to Rhythm game rookie. The track list is odd but fun, and if you don' take yourself seriously you can really enjoy it. All in all, AGENTS ARE GO!
  14. AnonymousMC
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    This is possibly the most addictive game I've ever played. not only is it accessible for all ages, but It can get so difficult that you feel very challenged, but it never loses it's fun. Everything is hysterical, from the characters to the cut scenes to the wacky dance moves. This is easily the best game on the Nintendo DS.
  15. Ready?Go!
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    Elite Beat Agents has the rhythm, the soul, and the style of a fantastic rhythm game. Nothing to ridiculous is experienced so even novice players can enjoy it, while there are higher difficulties for people with the needed skills. The selection of songs may have been my only real problem, I realize this is a major aspect, but it is truly nothing to severe. There was really only 1 or 2 Elite Beat Agents has the rhythm, the soul, and the style of a fantastic rhythm game. Nothing to ridiculous is experienced so even novice players can enjoy it, while there are higher difficulties for people with the needed skills. The selection of songs may have been my only real problem, I realize this is a major aspect, but it is truly nothing to severe. There was really only 1 or 2 songs I truly wanted to kill myself to whilst playing. EBA is a definite buy. Expand
  16. ValerieB
    Mar 23, 2008
    8
    This is a good game, it's my favorite and the one thing I hate about it is when you are waiting for the things you hit to come, your meeter goes down so you fail. Other then that, awesomeee gamee.
  17. J-Wolf
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    This game is undeniably one of the best out there. If you don't care for rhythm games, this one will surely get you in the groove. Plus, when I say this game is hard, you better believe it. Even though you might feel silly playing this game, it's still fun, even if the mission you're playing is just plain odd. This game really deserves the title of "IGN's DS Game of This game is undeniably one of the best out there. If you don't care for rhythm games, this one will surely get you in the groove. Plus, when I say this game is hard, you better believe it. Even though you might feel silly playing this game, it's still fun, even if the mission you're playing is just plain odd. This game really deserves the title of "IGN's DS Game of the Year 2006." Expand
  18. BobF.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    AWESOME! This game is great to just pick up, and play a level of. Love the stylus controlls, and the comic book style! 5 stars!
  19. DonkeyKong
    Oct 4, 2007
    7
    >Mr. Anonymous You're missing the point. Stop changing my words around. No, I don't want you to go back in time and kill my father nor turn me into a dog and throw me in the desert. You make it sound like it's my obligation to help the characters in the game otherwise I'm cruel or something -_-...I'm saying that the frustration of some songs/levels cause me to >Mr. Anonymous You're missing the point. Stop changing my words around. No, I don't want you to go back in time and kill my father nor turn me into a dog and throw me in the desert. You make it sound like it's my obligation to help the characters in the game otherwise I'm cruel or something -_-...I'm saying that the frustration of some songs/levels cause me to think in the way I said earlier simply because after failing so many times and seeing the bad endings, the game makes it out like it's all your (YOU the player) fault when actually you're just trying to help right? So it can pi** you off. I finished the game anyway and sold it. Like I said, gameplay was awesome, story and presentation sucked. Lame looking characters. If they made a NINTENDO themed version, I would buy it in an instant! Noone would complain about songs either since all Nintendo songs are awesome. Expand
  20. Mr.Anonymous
    Sep 22, 2007
    9
    This is just a slammin game! A bit pricey, but worth it. I'm trying to get As or Ss on EVERY SONG. It is frustrating, especially trying to get the divas, which I have not gotten, but all brings in the replay value. Lets look at what people have said...

    *Who cares about a girl who lost her dad and a lost dog...Shall I go back in time, kill your father, turn you into a dog, and throw
    This is just a slammin game! A bit pricey, but worth it. I'm trying to get As or Ss on EVERY SONG. It is frustrating, especially trying to get the divas, which I have not gotten, but all brings in the replay value. Lets look at what people have said...

    *Who cares about a girl who lost her dad and a lost dog...Shall I go back in time, kill your father, turn you into a dog, and throw you into a desert?

    Sk8r B0i? cammon!...If you don't like the song, don't play it. This was to appeal to all people. What if I replaced that with "We fly high"?

    Wowserz. Now for the songs.
    The song I dislike the most is Canned Heat, and a small portion of Highway Star. Want to know why? You tap the instuments, not the voice. Didn't I remember people complaining about how they want to tap the instruments, not the lyrics, and that just SUCKED. I was born to love you phailed also. They force you to do the songs, and just live with it. It pays off. You don't have to repeat it, unlike Ghost and goblins, or Kingdom Hearts II. Options? Yup! you can play multiplayer, and you can use replay save! There's nothing to complain about, except if you tap too soft, it won't press, and sometimes you will get a very high score, but get a B or something. So lets see the results!

    Graphics..1.8: It is sorta pixelated, but no biggie.
    Storyline..1.5: Sorta like Zelda, you are just thrown in. Its just not perfect. I would love to have a screaming face appear while I'm playing BioShock :D.
    Innovation..2: The first american tapping game :D
    Buggy..1.9: I've only gotten a bug ONCE.
    New Characters..1.9: Carrington sisters >_<

    Vertict: 9.1 :D
    Expand
  21. Mr.Anonymous
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Elite Beat Agents had me skeptical at first. "What is the point of tapping circles to music? How fun could that be?" I debated whether to get EBA or another game, and finally chose EBA. I am very happy I did. Game Informer Magazine, a mag I normally trust, got it all wrong. I didn't detect any problems with the reaction time. The songs are great, and even though you might not like Elite Beat Agents had me skeptical at first. "What is the point of tapping circles to music? How fun could that be?" I debated whether to get EBA or another game, and finally chose EBA. I am very happy I did. Game Informer Magazine, a mag I normally trust, got it all wrong. I didn't detect any problems with the reaction time. The songs are great, and even though you might not like "YMCA", "Sk8er Boi", "Let's Dance", and "Walkie Talkie Man" as songs, they all have a great beat and are fun to play along to. Bottom Line: This game is very addictive and fun. You can pick it up anytime and you will be entertained. I will find myself with nothing to do, and even though I don't feel like playing, I will be drawn into the entertainment. The sound quality is amazing, the graphics are really good, and the other stuff is fun, especially with friends. My favorite DS game yet. EBA 2! Expand
  22. Mitch
    May 30, 2007
    10
    CRAZY FUN! It would be better than Guitar Hero if the songs were as good.
  23. FinnW.
    May 25, 2007
    1
    Ouendan was brilliant. This, somehow, is exactly the same game made completely dire.
  24. AndrewG.
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    A perfect handheld game in my opinion. Once you start playing a song, it is hard to turn off the system before you complete it. The difficulty ramps up just enough so that you will want to keep playing and playing.
  25. KevinR.
    Jan 29, 2007
    9
    Perhaps the best rhythm game other than Guitar Hero, EBA is addictive, tough, and just crazy enough to be amazing.
  26. [Anonymous]
    Jan 22, 2007
    9
    I love this game. Has lots of great songs. It's a bit of a recycled concept, but it's still a fun and quick pick-up game.
  27. DonkeyK.
    Jan 19, 2007
    7
    A very fun and addictive game WHILE IT LASTS. I had a blast playing this from start to end. I finished all 4 difficulties and unlocked all extra songs. The only thing is once I finished the game there really is nothing else to do..there is not much replay value. I had no urge to replay the levels really...if i did, it felt more like a chore. After a while I came to realise that the story A very fun and addictive game WHILE IT LASTS. I had a blast playing this from start to end. I finished all 4 difficulties and unlocked all extra songs. The only thing is once I finished the game there really is nothing else to do..there is not much replay value. I had no urge to replay the levels really...if i did, it felt more like a chore. After a while I came to realise that the story was actually pretty ridiculous. When you play games and there is a good storyline, it makes you want to progress through the story and ultimately finish the game by defeating the bad guys and saving the land or wtv (just an example). However, with EBA you're a bunch of agents who can somehow make everything ok by dancing and singing. There is no real level progression. All that happens when you finish songs is that you unlock more songs...you don't really start in one situation and progress through a story. It can also get extremely frustrating at times when you cannot complete certain songs. And after a while it made me sick having to see the same outcomes in the cartoon story of each song. Made me feel like 'god dammit...i don't care anymore about your dead father or lost dog! stupid game!' Don't get me wrong though, this is a fun game in terms of gameplay. It's just the story sucked and was a bit childish for my taste. I reckon it would rock if they made a version of this game with lots of Nintendo songs and Nintendo characters rather than some rather annoying agents and characters. Expand
  28. XianB.
    Jan 9, 2007
    9
    It doesn't sound like much on paper, does it? Having never played the oft-referenced Ouendan, or any other rhythm game for that matter, I was hesitant to grab this title. I tried an in-store demo, but without instructions I didn't understand it at all. However, with so many positive reviews abounding, I took a leap of faith. What a pleasant surprise! This puzzle game (which is It doesn't sound like much on paper, does it? Having never played the oft-referenced Ouendan, or any other rhythm game for that matter, I was hesitant to grab this title. I tried an in-store demo, but without instructions I didn't understand it at all. However, with so many positive reviews abounding, I took a leap of faith. What a pleasant surprise! This puzzle game (which is how I view it) is full of wacky charm, escalating challenge, and a superb boss battle/end sequence. A number of unlockables and grading system keep me replaying levels for the elusive S-rank, and the storylines had me grinning throughout. The selection of songs isn't the best, but it's okay half the time and great the rest. It's as replayable as any puzzle game, but it's so good I still wish they had added more songs. Worth every dollar! Expand
  29. ThomasP.
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    I have never felt this happy after playing a video game. This game is easily reason enough to own a Nintendo DS. Get this now.
  30. BenjaminM.
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    A faithful recreation of Oendan for western audiences, with all the same great gameplay and crazy presentation.
  31. Mr.Morrison
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    I haven't smiled this much playing a videogame since I got Parappa the Rapper. Easily the best DS game out there.
  32. JayK.
    Nov 11, 2006
    6
    Extremely disappointing. I love rhythm/music games. I've been looking forward to this for a long time. While I haven't played the Japanese version, I'm sure it was much better. The primary problem: the music in the US version is complete garbage. Not only is the music bad (you can tell some stupid suit was probably involved) but they have boring, weak, hard-to-hear beats. Extremely disappointing. I love rhythm/music games. I've been looking forward to this for a long time. While I haven't played the Japanese version, I'm sure it was much better. The primary problem: the music in the US version is complete garbage. Not only is the music bad (you can tell some stupid suit was probably involved) but they have boring, weak, hard-to-hear beats. "Sk8ter Boi" by Avril Lavigne? Come on! Expand
  33. Jagur
    Nov 10, 2006
    5
    I dont understand the hype at all here...i wasted my $30 bucks. This game lasted me about an hour and it was over. Yes, there are other difficulty modes but gimmie a brake..this game was to short...As for the "replay value" thats a load of crap, the only reason to replay it would be to purposely mess up so you could see the differant animation that happens when you lose. DO NOT PAY $30 I dont understand the hype at all here...i wasted my $30 bucks. This game lasted me about an hour and it was over. Yes, there are other difficulty modes but gimmie a brake..this game was to short...As for the "replay value" thats a load of crap, the only reason to replay it would be to purposely mess up so you could see the differant animation that happens when you lose. DO NOT PAY $30 BONES FOR THIS! Expand
  34. Philosophy
    Nov 6, 2006
    9
    This game is fun, not really a lot more to say. The only reason this game doesn't get a 10 is because the music is not as good at Ouendan.
  35. DSFAN
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    I hate DDR and the like but I absolutely love Elite Beat Agents. It's fun and it has so much heart. If you love Osu! Tatakae! Ouendan you will love Elite Beat Agents. I've played through 15 of the 19 levels so far. It starts off pretty easy for someone who has played Osu! Tatakae! Ouendan but it gets very challenging.
  36. Jpxdude
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    This game is the spiritual successor to Ouendan, and it seems Inis have learnt what users have wanted from their previous iteration, and have applied all the spit and polish to their new Bemani/Rhythm game... 19 songs, unique multiplayer 'missions' 4 levels of difficulty, and a nice surprise when all is said and done. This is it, folks...one of the must have killer apps for the This game is the spiritual successor to Ouendan, and it seems Inis have learnt what users have wanted from their previous iteration, and have applied all the spit and polish to their new Bemani/Rhythm game... 19 songs, unique multiplayer 'missions' 4 levels of difficulty, and a nice surprise when all is said and done. This is it, folks...one of the must have killer apps for the DS, you'll want to play it over again and again, for the goofy stories, and the music, or to show off to friends and family...hell, you can muliplay up to 4 other people, single or multicard, and save your replays for each individual songs to evaluate your performance, or show off. This will be the most portable fun you have this thanksgiving/xmas!! I urge you all to get it now, and enjoy :) Expand
  37. May 26, 2011
    0
    The frantic gameplay, comic-book-esque "cutscenes", zany humor, and wide selection of songs easily make this the most funny (and challenging) rythm game on DS. If you don't own this, you need to call for HEEEAAALLLPPPP!!!

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed DS Game of 2006
#24 Most Shared DS Game of 2006
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Elite Beat Agents is a ridiculously silly music-rhythm game with a wacky song list, a laughably bizarre story, and fantastic gameplay. In other words, it’s just about everything a music-rhythm game should be, really.
  2. 100
    If you enjoy this type of genre of games – music rhythm – there’s no doubt you’ll love Elite Beat Agents.
  3. netjak
    71
    The idea behind Elite Beat Agents is one of the best I've seen. The story is told with near-perfect timing, and the engine itself is solid. However, the song choice is incredibly spotty, and the multiplayer modes are a disappointment.