Etrian Odyssey II: Heroes of Lagaard DS

  • Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Jun 13, 2008
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 4 out of 27
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    An absolute beauty of a game... This is hardcore RPG dungeon crawling at its best! Also, a BIG improvement on the original!
    Only possible let down (not a big one, though) is that in this installment the F.O.E.s (not the big bosses, but the mini-bosses) don't give your characters any experience points, so there is no motivation to kill more than a couple of each kind to get the special
    An absolute beauty of a game... This is hardcore RPG dungeon crawling at its best! Also, a BIG improvement on the original!
    Only possible let down (not a big one, though) is that in this installment the F.O.E.s (not the big bosses, but the mini-bosses) don't give your characters any experience points, so there is no motivation to kill more than a couple of each kind to get the special item drops... Also, I did like the character art better on the first one, especially the non-playable character portraits. But, overall, it is better than the original!
    Warning: this type of games are an acquired taste... Platformer and FPS gamers need not apply! (Unless you want to try something REALLY different.)
    Expand
  2. [anonymous]
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    All of you gamers raised on games like Halo and Lego Star Wars, don't even try this one. But if you have been looking for a real challenge, you must buy this.
  3. SteveM
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    Ten, ten, ten, ten. One of the best RPG's I have ever played in my life, and I'm 30 years old. Those afraid of a challenge or who have little patience, move on ahead, this ain't for you.
  4. Tomd
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    Amazing, this is the only game I have played since I got it. I have tons of console games to play but this game is deep and simple and super challenging. Great!
  5. Aug 17, 2017
    10
    One of the best RPG'S in the DS without a doubt, plenty of fun even when the game can be hard and very challenging sometimes, the graphics are insane for a DS 2008 game, good character design, gorgeous music, as well a fun combat and costumization system, Atlus really make a great JRPG as always ... isn't very ambitious but is a worth RPG to play i highly recomended for those also lookingOne of the best RPG'S in the DS without a doubt, plenty of fun even when the game can be hard and very challenging sometimes, the graphics are insane for a DS 2008 game, good character design, gorgeous music, as well a fun combat and costumization system, Atlus really make a great JRPG as always ... isn't very ambitious but is a worth RPG to play i highly recomended for those also looking for a hard challenging game . Expand

Awards & Rankings

14
34
#34 Most Discussed DS Game of 2008
73
#73 Most Shared DS Game of 2008
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nintendo Power
    85
    Etrian Odyssey 2 isn't very ambitious, but it's still plenty of fun. [July 2008, p.88]
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    83
    This sequel feels like the original game on expert mode - and that's a good thing. [July 2008, p.81]
  3. 89
    Etrian Odyssey II: Heroes of Lagaard is everything you loved about the original, except even better.