Etrian Odyssey DS

  • Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: May 15, 2007
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
Buy On
  1. 80
    Etrian Odyssey will definitely appeal more to the OCD'd than the ADD'd, and its punishing difficulty and very deliberate pacing may turn off younger gamers who grew up on flashier roleplayers. But it offers a real sense of wonder and a sense of accomplishment -- feelings missing from far too many modern games.
  2. AceGamez
    90
    It's very well designed and the execution is highly polished; indeed, this is one of the best games I have played all year and it has been the default game in my DS since May when it was shipped - whenever I don't have another game that I need to play, Etrian Odyssey goes back in for more fun.
  3. Those who can look beyond the basic presentation and steep difficulty curve will find Etrian Odyssey to be one of the lengthiest and most immersive role playing experiences on the DS to date.
  4. It doesn't have ultra-realistic CG cut scenes, it doesn't have memorable characters that will jerk a tear from your eye when they fall in battle, but Etrian Odyssey is the quintessential old school RPG experience.
  5. 80
    Etrian Odyssey is very much a love or hate affair. If you enjoyed the classic role-playing games of yore you'll probably going to love EO and its simple-yet-addictive battle system, extensive character customisation, and charming map-making features.
  6. 80
    All in all, it's hardly the perfect role-playing game, but wow is it fun while it lasts.
  7. 80
    Be forewarned. Etrian Odyssey is tough.
  8. Games Master UK
    80
    Get past the user unfriendly beginnings and you'll be chums for ages. [Aug 2008, p.81]
  9. games(TM)
    80
    The truth of the matter is that Etrian Odyssey’s punishing difficulty is actually the key to its addictive allure. [Aug 2007, p.118]
  10. Etrian Odyssey is a turn-based role-playing game like any other, but it sports one heck of a mean streak to elevate it above the crowd.
  11. This is not an action packed role playing game, with limit breaks, kamehamehas, and sixteen button combos during combat. This is a game of exploring a Labrynth and learning to survive it by strength and wit. Calling it well written is hard to do, as it has only the basic framework of a story, letting the player make it up on their own. But I do find it fun to play, completing quests, earning experience, and delving the depths of the Labrynth with my Landsknecht and team.
  12. Hardcore Gamer
    95
    In reality though, Etrian Odyssey is a challenging, ballsy, rewarding game that gives the otherwise stagnant RPG genre a swift, much-needed kick in the ass. [June 2007, p.62]
  13. If you are looking for a game with a challenge then look no further. Etrian Odyssey will kill you and keep you coming back for more.
  14. Nintendo Gamer
    80
    Makes you feel like a daring aventurer making progress, but at the expense of in-your-face thrills. [Aug 2007, p.63]
  15. Etrian Odyssey definitely isn't for everyone, but that's due to its genre rather than lack of quality. If you have a taste for brutal difficulty and don't mind a touch of level grinding now and then, you'll want to savor this game like a fine wine.
  16. 87
    Whatever the sentiment, it is clear that Etrian Odyssey is a niche game that is sure to find the hearts of some and draw the ire of others.

Awards & Rankings

32
14
#14 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
61
#61 Most Shared DS Game of 2007
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. MannyL
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    My ABSOLUTE favorite game for the DS. Etrian Odyssey is quite certainly the best RPG I have ever played on any handheld system! The visuals My ABSOLUTE favorite game for the DS. Etrian Odyssey is quite certainly the best RPG I have ever played on any handheld system! The visuals are just plain beautiful and you will certainly appreciate it as it is. The gameplay is punishing but it's the challenge that really makes this game shine. I would definitely recommend this game to any true RPG lover and enthusiast. Not for the casual gamer. Full Review »
  2. Scott
    May 22, 2007
    8
    This is a fun tribute to a certain kind of old school RPG such as Wizardy, Might & Magic, and the Bard's Tale. It's no frills, This is a fun tribute to a certain kind of old school RPG such as Wizardy, Might & Magic, and the Bard's Tale. It's no frills, unforgivingly difficult, and something like work, so it's definitely not for everyone, but the target audience should have fun with it. There's just something about that sense of being a long way from home in a dangerous place that you can only get in this style of game -- more modern RPGs, with their generous healing systems and easy in/out portal spells, just aren't quite the same. Full Review »
  3. Nov 18, 2015
    9
    I just recently started playing this game. So far I'm really enjoying it. Mapping features are great. So is the dungeon exploration. I likeI just recently started playing this game. So far I'm really enjoying it. Mapping features are great. So is the dungeon exploration. I like that it's not highly tied to story or quests, you can explore on your own. If you are an RPG fan, get this game. Full Review »