• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: May 15, 2007
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 80
    Etrian Odyssey will definitely appeal more to the OCD'd than the ADD'd, and its punishing difficulty and very deliberate pacing may turn off younger gamers who grew up on flashier roleplayers. But it offers a real sense of wonder and a sense of accomplishment -- feelings missing from far too many modern games.
  2. It's very well designed and the execution is highly polished; indeed, this is one of the best games I have played all year and it has been the default game in my DS since May when it was shipped - whenever I don't have another game that I need to play, Etrian Odyssey goes back in for more fun.
  3. Those who can look beyond the basic presentation and steep difficulty curve will find Etrian Odyssey to be one of the lengthiest and most immersive role playing experiences on the DS to date.
  4. It doesn't have ultra-realistic CG cut scenes, it doesn't have memorable characters that will jerk a tear from your eye when they fall in battle, but Etrian Odyssey is the quintessential old school RPG experience.
  5. 80
    Etrian Odyssey is very much a love or hate affair. If you enjoyed the classic role-playing games of yore you'll probably going to love EO and its simple-yet-addictive battle system, extensive character customisation, and charming map-making features.
  6. 80
    All in all, it's hardly the perfect role-playing game, but wow is it fun while it lasts.
  7. Kids weaned on "Final Fantasy VII" likely won't have the patience for it, but questers of the appropriate age(and/or nerdy enough to dig the Yuzo Koshiro soundtrack)should dive in. [June 2007, p.92]
  8. Etrian Odyssey succeeds in making some aged and usually uncomfortable RPG conventions feel fresh, thoughtful and engaging and is thoroughly recommended to DS owners with even a passing interest in the genre.
  9. 80
    Be forewarned. Etrian Odyssey is tough.
  10. Players who never experienced the RPGs of the 80s are bound to scratch their head and wonder where all the graphics went.
  11. I have nothing against games that hearken back to old-school sensibilities, but Etrian Odyssey just feels like an outdated game that snuck onto a modern console. [June 2007, p.118]
  12. 60
    The real appeal of Etrian Odyssey is the renaissance of the classic RPG. Instead of a world that conforms to your level and rewards you with HP every time you level up, you have to strategize about which characters will enter the Labyrinth, how best to allot skill points among your characters, who charges the front line and who stays in back, and how much money you have to spend on reviving dead characters.
  13. Get past the user unfriendly beginnings and you'll be chums for ages. [Aug 2008, p.81]
  14. The truth of the matter is that Etrian Odyssey’s punishing difficulty is actually the key to its addictive allure. [Aug 2007, p.118]
  15. Etrian Odyssey requires patience and resolve to unlock the mysteries of the Labyrinth, with not enough reward in return. This is a game only for the hardcore. All others need not apply.
  16. Etrian Odyssey is a turn-based role-playing game like any other, but it sports one heck of a mean streak to elevate it above the crowd.
  17. Players who have grown up with the likes of "Final Fantasy," however, will be unimpressed with Etrian Odyssey.
  18. Etrian Odyssey is best suited for gamers seeking an abundance of ultra-challenging Pokemon-style battles without a single Pocket Monster to speak of.
  19. This is not an action packed role playing game, with limit breaks, kamehamehas, and sixteen button combos during combat. This is a game of exploring a Labrynth and learning to survive it by strength and wit. Calling it well written is hard to do, as it has only the basic framework of a story, letting the player make it up on their own. But I do find it fun to play, completing quests, earning experience, and delving the depths of the Labrynth with my Landsknecht and team.
  20. In reality though, Etrian Odyssey is a challenging, ballsy, rewarding game that gives the otherwise stagnant RPG genre a swift, much-needed kick in the ass. [June 2007, p.62]
  21. 74
    Etrian Odyssey is – with every ounce of its being – a RPG fanatic’s wet dream. The game makes no excuses for the player, demanding that you strategize every step of the way.
  22. Etrian Odyssey is a traditional turn based dungeon crawler. Throughout the game you make your way through a myriad of paths in the Yggdrasil-labyrinth. This is clearly a game for fans of old turn based role playing games as it’s time consuming and requires a lot of active involvement from the player. If you’re not a hardcore fan of classic role playing games you might want to try this before purchasing it.
  23. If you are looking for a game with a challenge then look no further. Etrian Odyssey will kill you and keep you coming back for more.
  24. Makes you feel like a daring aventurer making progress, but at the expense of in-your-face thrills. [Aug 2007, p.63]
  25. Freedom reigns in Etrian Odyssey. [July 2007, p.96]
  26. Etrian Odyssey definitely isn't for everyone, but that's due to its genre rather than lack of quality. If you have a taste for brutal difficulty and don't mind a touch of level grinding now and then, you'll want to savor this game like a fine wine.
  27. A nostalgic treat for those who owned a C64 but too punishing and dated for young ones. [July 2008, p.82]
  28. 87
    Whatever the sentiment, it is clear that Etrian Odyssey is a niche game that is sure to find the hearts of some and draw the ire of others.
  29. Etrian Odyssey is old school. There is no other way to describe it. It's slow, difficult, sparse with the hints and unforgiving to those who try to speed through it. If this doesn't sound like fun to you, then it's best to move along, because you won't enjoy Etrian Odyssey. However, if you're one of those gamers who has fond memories of Wizardry and Ultima, then this might just be what you're looking for.
  30. Etrian Odyssey is not for the faint of heart, there are consequences of falling in love with this game – lack of free time, as it will capture you. Yet the lack of appeal for the general audience is a big turn off for most.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. MannyL
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    My ABSOLUTE favorite game for the DS. Etrian Odyssey is quite certainly the best RPG I have ever played on any handheld system! The visuals My ABSOLUTE favorite game for the DS. Etrian Odyssey is quite certainly the best RPG I have ever played on any handheld system! The visuals are just plain beautiful and you will certainly appreciate it as it is. The gameplay is punishing but it's the challenge that really makes this game shine. I would definitely recommend this game to any true RPG lover and enthusiast. Not for the casual gamer. Full Review »
  2. Scott
    May 22, 2007
    8
    This is a fun tribute to a certain kind of old school RPG such as Wizardy, Might & Magic, and the Bard's Tale. It's no frills, This is a fun tribute to a certain kind of old school RPG such as Wizardy, Might & Magic, and the Bard's Tale. It's no frills, unforgivingly difficult, and something like work, so it's definitely not for everyone, but the target audience should have fun with it. There's just something about that sense of being a long way from home in a dangerous place that you can only get in this style of game -- more modern RPGs, with their generous healing systems and easy in/out portal spells, just aren't quite the same. Full Review »
  3. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    This was my absolutely favorite RPG game on the DS... Until parts II & III came along. Those two add a lot to the game play, and refine theThis was my absolutely favorite RPG game on the DS... Until parts II & III came along. Those two add a lot to the game play, and refine the user interface and item collection management.
    If not for its sequels, I'd give it a ten, which maybe it's not fair since I'm reviewing this game years after it came out.
    I do recommend, however, to play the games in sequence, not because the story might be relevant (it has a minimum story line, which is one of its strengths), but because it is more fun to feel the progression of the series' design.
    One thing that this first installment does have above its sequels, in my opinion: the character artwork is my favorite here!
    Full Review »