Final Fantasy III DS

Final Fantasy III Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The only Final Fantasy that was never localized—the third installment of the original series—will finally reach North American shores. Lauded as "legendary" by the Japanese fan base, Final Fantasy III has been reborn, incorporating the latest in portable gaming technology. Using the featuresThe only Final Fantasy that was never localized—the third installment of the original series—will finally reach North American shores. Lauded as "legendary" by the Japanese fan base, Final Fantasy III has been reborn, incorporating the latest in portable gaming technology. Using the features of the Nintendo DS to their fullest, Final Fantasy III features graphics that have been reworked and remodeled in 3D, while maintaining the mythical Final Fantasy look and feel. This is the fans' chance to complete the circle. The legend of Final Fantasy III is reborn. [Square Enix] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. It's got the familiar, turn-based attack game play that we've learned to love, and the dynamic job system and a complex plot would make it a perfect holiday gift.
  2. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    90
    There's so much depth and richness to the experience. [June 2007, p.78]
  3. Final Fantasy III is a solid product. The shortcomings with the saves and lack of DS tech infusion are unfortunate, but as an RPG it’s the real deal, and shows why the franchise is so revered.
  4. Not only is this a nicely done remake of an influential, little-seen early chapter from this long-running role-playing series, it's also an all-around solid RPG.
  5. A fantastic remake but also a frustrating one, bringing a classic NES title to western shores for the first time and improving upon it, but failing to make sensible use of the DS or implementing a fair save system.
  6. At its core, this is an old-school RPG. So if you are looking for a turn based RPG that you can play in the palm of your hand or if you are just feeling nostalgic for the days of yore, then you might want to check this game out.
  7. We’re glad they resurrected Final Fantasy III, but they also brought back all the problems RPG makers have spent years solving. It doesn’t do anything new for RPGs, but at least it serves to remind us how far they’ve come.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Joeking
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Pure brilliance. The job-leveling system is a bit odd at first, but I couldn't stop playing as I really wanted to get to the next job Pure brilliance. The job-leveling system is a bit odd at first, but I couldn't stop playing as I really wanted to get to the next job set. By far the best rpg I've played so far on the DS. Collapse
  2. CharaelH.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    I loved this game. I'd recommend it to for a good hand held game for a good game on the go or just playing when you get bored. But I loved this game. I'd recommend it to for a good hand held game for a good game on the go or just playing when you get bored. But it's still good for playing it whenever. Expand
  3. ScottW
    Feb 27, 2008
    9
    The negative reviews of this game really goes to show how gamers are being spoonfed and led by the hand in games these days. The lack of save The negative reviews of this game really goes to show how gamers are being spoonfed and led by the hand in games these days. The lack of save points added a bit more excitement for me...every battle was crucial, one wrong move and you're in deep trouble. Although being beaten by the final boss aafter slugging it in the tower for 3-4 hours is a hard pill to swallow...Regardless, it's nice to see an RPG that properly challenges the gamer. It's looking and sounding beautiful on the DS now. Brilliant remaster. Expand
  4. StevenC.
    May 13, 2007
    8
    The job system is a great plus in this game, its very enjoyable to be able to pick out a team of classes exactly how you want and utilize The job system is a great plus in this game, its very enjoyable to be able to pick out a team of classes exactly how you want and utilize there strengths within battles - you can pretty much field any team you like (of course, having a healer of some sort is near essential, and some job classes perform better and give advantages in certain fights / areas). The jobs seem nicely balanced out (I hear they have been tuned since the original game) and you'll most likely develop favourite jobs for specific characters. The Graphics are very nice for the DS - from the limited ammount of games i've played its by far the best looking. Summoning magic is especially great looking, but the battle sequences in general for the most part really gives some oomph and makes you feel like you're actually doing/taking some damage. The world map is nice, although it can at times look a bit bland. The game is not without its problems, although for the most part they are minor; the storyline is average, and sometimes even the instructions for where you have to go next are a bit vague. The lack of saving can be a problem - especially when it comes to the final encounter where you'll be catapulted back quite some time if you wipe. For all the time bar that though it was no real problem for me, as quicksaving allows you to stop at anypoint bar combat. The battles CAN drag, but only in the small fights where you're trying to go as quick as possible. The boss fights can be fairly lengthy and rightfully so. All in all a very enjoyable game. -1 for the minor niggles, -1 because its just over to soon, but i'm already replaying it just to try those jobs i didnt have a go with last time. Worth the money, another great FF game. Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2012
    7
    This game is hard for me to review because personally it isn't my favorite but I still know how important it is. Final Fantasy 3 is really forThis game is hard for me to review because personally it isn't my favorite but I still know how important it is. Final Fantasy 3 is really for the die hard FF player only, the game is seriously challenging and very time consuming for a SNES title. I have to be honest, for its' time this game was extremely well written and pretty much brought FF to life (NES didn't have as much attention). I don't think the graphics are on par with Chrono Trigger and the battles are pretty generic, with little to no animation. With that being said, if your up for the challenge this game presents it, especially the end!!! Expand
  6. Ralph
    Dec 16, 2006
    7
    Odd balance between remaining true to the original and sacrifices for updated game graphics. Due to what I can only assume were hardware Odd balance between remaining true to the original and sacrifices for updated game graphics. Due to what I can only assume were hardware limitations, you're limited to only encounter up to three enemies per battle. Monsters and jobs were heavily rebalanced. Fights now progress at a snail's pace. While I'm glad this game was brought back, I wish Square-Enix would stop tinkering with core game mechanics in its remakes. Why use the Fat Chocobo when you have infinite inventory space? Expand
  7. MarkS.
    Dec 26, 2006
    1
    I'm going to go ahead and give this game a 1 rating... Mainly because this isn't really a novel idea for a game (especially not forI'm going to go ahead and give this game a 1 rating... Mainly because this isn't really a novel idea for a game (especially not for an rpg) and the ridiculous gayophile following of any Final Fantasy game, from people who don't have any real point or purpose to their lives. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed DS Game of 2006
#6 Most Shared DS Game of 2006