Final Fantasy III Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The only Final Fantasy that was never localized—the third installment of the original series—will finally reach North American shores. Lauded as "legendary" by the Japanese fan base, Final Fantasy III has been reborn, incorporating the latest in portable gaming technology. Using the features of the Nintendo DS to their fullest, Final Fantasy III features graphics that have been reworked and remodeled in 3D, while maintaining the mythical Final Fantasy look and feel. This is the fans' chance to complete the circle. The legend of Final Fantasy III is reborn. [Square Enix] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. It's got the familiar, turn-based attack game play that we've learned to love, and the dynamic job system and a complex plot would make it a perfect holiday gift.
  2. Final Fantasy III is a terrific-looking RPG that what it lacks in story, nearly makes up for in its addictiveness and charm. The game can be pretty tough and the job system isn’t as polished as those in Final Fantasy V or Tactics, but it’s easily one of the best RPGs for the DS.
  3. Final Fantasy III is a solid product. The shortcomings with the saves and lack of DS tech infusion are unfortunate, but as an RPG it’s the real deal, and shows why the franchise is so revered.
  4. 79
    In the end, if you're a fan of RPGs, the kind of person Square Enix wants to pick up this game, you're going to like Final Fantasy III.
  5. All in all, I’m having a great time with Final Fantasy III and am enjoying it a lot more than I thought I would. The only disappointment comes in the lack of true DS functionality, something that is counteracted by Square’s traditionally deep and rewarding gameplay.
  6. Your ability to deal with an RPG that brings stale gameplay and little in the way of a story - 'classic' RPG traits - will ultimately decide if this game is for you, not the title to the left of the "III".
  7. We’re glad they resurrected Final Fantasy III, but they also brought back all the problems RPG makers have spent years solving. It doesn’t do anything new for RPGs, but at least it serves to remind us how far they’ve come.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Joeking
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Pure brilliance. The job-leveling system is a bit odd at first, but I couldn't stop playing as I really wanted to get to the next job set. By far the best rpg I've played so far on the DS. Expand
  2. JakeS.
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    Despite its flaws which you can read about above, the game is absolutely fantastic in actual play. If you want a great RPG then this is a must have.
  3. Jan 4, 2011
    9
    The old school masterpiece Final Fantasy III finally gets localized and was it worth the wait? Yes!
    Modern fans might be put off by its
    classic mechanics and rough difficulty spike but if things like that don't bother you, what will be found is a deep and rewarding nostalgic RPG with a good challenge.
    The music and graphics are modernized but still have the intended classic feel which is always nice for a remake. The story although hasn't aged well over the years is still pretty interesting and even if it is rather predictable and the main characters who where not explained all too well in the original are given interesting personalities and are fleshed out in a great manner over the course of the storyline and you get a real sense of what each of them is going through. Any fan of Final Fantasy or fans of old school RPGs from the late 1980s to early 1990s should definitely take a look at this great title.
    Expand
  4. DrewF.
    Nov 16, 2006
    8
    Flashback to an era where your hand wasn't held for the entire duration of a quest. Where the levels of enemies are NOT all relative to your own. This an oldschool Final Fantasy RPG from eras past. You will wonder into areas you're not ready for yet, you will have to level grind or you WILL die. I'm loving it. Graphics are somewhere in between Final Fantasy VII and Final Fantasy IX, and are among the best that the DS has to offer. Overall, a solid offering from Square. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2013
    8
    This game, while light on story just kept pulling me forward with the fun of it. The job system is excellent and you can really make it work for your style, although most people use a traditional team in the end. The strange thing about my experience was that I accidentally beat it. I was playing through this to pass time until another game's release, and I didn't realize I had went past a point of no return, with no save points anywhere. So, I decided to just keep playing until I died. I beat every mini boss and the final boss instead. So, I guess it was a good oops.
    Art: 8
    Music: 7
    Story: 6
    Gameplay: 8
    Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2012
    7
    Final Fantasy III
    Average User Score: 7.6
    7
    It's not bad, but not astounding. Final Fantasy is known for having very high production values,
    but this remake for the DS isn't quite up to speed it seems. Honestly, if only uses 1 screen for most of the game, and no attempts to update the classic but ancient JRPG formula have been made. This makes it somewhat repetitive at times and may turn newcomers off, as and even the best tactician will probably have to grind to get through this game. Still despite all this, FFIII uses a lot of creative and fun concepts in its gameplay, the shining example of this being the job system. This system alone brings unlimited strategic depth to your combat team, almost like pokemon. To sum it up, this game is a remake, but the graphics (which are still bad) are basically the only thing that has been modernized, and it can feel like a very monotonous game at times. Nevertheless, RPG fans will find this game decent, and it still has that FF atmosphere we all know and love. Expand
  7. MarkS.
    Dec 26, 2006
    1
    I'm going to go ahead and give this game a 1 rating... Mainly because this isn't really a novel idea for a game (especially not for an rpg) and the ridiculous gayophile following of any Final Fantasy game, from people who don't have any real point or purpose to their lives. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?