Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. 100
    Final Fantasy IV is just as good as it was seventeen years ago. It still has one of the most memorable RPG stories, excelling with both its aesthetics and value for money. But despite all of this, the thing that makes this the best RPG on DS - and arguably the best game - is the gameplay.
  2. 100
    The game may not make use of all of the strengths of the Nintendo DS but it makes full use of the ones that really matter, bolstering an already impressive game for a new generation of as well as those who look forward to replaying through a classic staple of the role playing genre.
  3. It was an unparalleled experience in the early 90s and holds up remarkably well today.
  4. 95
    Ultimately, Final Fantasy IV remains the same epic experience it was 17 years ago, and improvements on the DS are a welcome treat for fans of the series and newcomers to the franchise. [Aug 2008, p.80]
  5. The perfect game for bringing old and new FF fans together.
  6. Reborn, the DS version remains surprisingly faithful while bringing the game into the modern era. The few additional mechanics are somewhat disposable, but the core gameplay remains engaging so many years later.
  7. So, if you have played Final Fantasy IV, or if you have never tried it but are familiar with other examples of the genre, you will definitely enjoy Final Fantasy IV for the DS.
  8. Not only is Final Fantasy one of the best looking games on the Nintendo DS, but it also features the best story and characters.
  9. Ultimately, Final Fantasy IV successfully proves that remakes can be an honest business.
  10. Final Fantasy IV DS is a solid RPG which has survived the test of time, the first incarnation being released in more than 15 years ago.
  11. But lying at the heart is the same solid gameplay that was popular in the nineties - unforgiving at times, but a shining example of what makes the series great.
  12. 90
    Final Fantasy IV is still a cult-classic, even after all those years, and it should be highly recommended to any fan of the series and/or the genre.
  13. A very challenging RPG that'll appeal to all fans of the genre: the graphics are superb, the soundtrack is great, and the gameplay is top-notch. When everything is said and done, this is a must-have RPG.
  14. The epic story of love, betrayal, and redemption is reborn better than ever in glorious 3D.
  15. Without a doubt one of the best portable remakes of a console classic, Final Fantasy IV for the Nintendo DS is a remarkable and downright satisfying game that does justice to the original and RPGs.
  16. The developers have done everything they needed to do to win over a new generation of Final Fantasy IV fans, but they've done disappointingly little to appeal to the existing ones. [Aug 2008, p.86]
  17. Final Fantasy IV is not just a re-release of something that has been done a thousand times before, it is worthy of being called a remake as they added a lot of new stuff to the game as well as did a serious touch-up of many of the games aspects.
  18. 90
    Final Fantasy IV is another DS masterpiece.
  19. Final Fantasy IV is a game that has aged remarkably well over the years, and this update has undoubtedly given the game new life.
  20. A must-play for Final Fantasy veterans. It won't gain any new fans though. [Oct 2008, p.80]
  21. FFIV DS is a winner. Not only is it the defining iteration of FFIV, it's one of the greatest remakes ever produced and deserves a permanent spot in every DS owner's collection.
  22. Light defeats darkness in Final Fantasy IV, an RPG game coming back to present in a new 3D visual way. It has the same epic story as ever but adds unknown intro scenes and an improved musical score to the challenging gameplay. If you are a Final Fantasy fan, then don't doubt. FFIV is an impressive adventure for the Nintendo DS hardcore gamer.
  23. 90
    Along with the characters, the settings have been heavily reworked too. Players move in beautiful 3D environments displayed on the top screen, with the bottom screen being mainly used for the overworld map and for smaller maps such as dungeons, mountains and castles.
  24. Its an important piece of gaming history, it's better than nearly every other DS RPG (Pokemon and Rocket Slime excluded) and its truly the only version of IV that's worth owning at this point.
  25. The definitive version of FFIV….but just barely. Beautiful and containing a hardcore challenge, but other than the cosmetic changes there’s not much new here. If you’ve never played Final Fantasy IV before, now is the time.
  26. 87
    For newcomers, you’re about to get a lesson in “hardcore gaming 101,” but if you put in the time, and put up with the difficulty, you’ll have a chance to really “get” what Final Fantasy is all about.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Jun 11, 2012
    2
    I absolutely hate this game! What some may call "challenge" i call extremely poor enemy design. At no point in time was this game ever what i would call difficult. What it is, is cheap and tedious. After the two thirds mark, every area is packed with super cheap super enemies that can not only wipe out half your group in a single attack but it opens with said super attack and you face them in groups. As soon as i got to the moon i simply gave up because i had realized that the game was no longer fun. In order to progress you are forced to grind for HOURS upon HOURS ( i tend to grind a bit naturally playing RPGs and even i wasnt even close to where the game required me to be ). Then again from what ive seen even grinding does close to nothing to counter cheap mobs, for instance a cave in the underworld has some sort of chimera monster with an attack called "Blaze" that does average 1.7k damage to everybody in your group (and yes it opens with this attack before you can respond). At level 40 it was kicking my ass left and right to the point where i had to run from it every time or face death, at lv 57 i went back and STILL a single blaze killed 2 members and sent one other into yellow. If you love challenge then you are looking in the wrong place, if you want a game that is only challenging because enemies are so poorly designed then this is the game for you Full Review »
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    The best RPG of Nintendo DS. It is a very beautiful Final Fantasy, with an interesting and unforgettable history and a few prominent figures. New and powerful graphs, great game play, spectacular intro, precious music and little more that to ask. Full Review »
  3. Apr 9, 2011
    6
    This game is a true classic, one of the quintessential games of the genre. Anyone that's played the original SNES title and liked it will be able to go on and on about how they liked it. The bard is still spoony, and hang it all I cracked up all over again once I hit that line. The graphics are good, and on the whole the game stays true to the original. So why the 6 rating? Because the %^*#!$* thing after a point becomes as hard as trying to solo an original Everquest character to the level cap while pretending the bazaar doesn't exist. While the high level of customization helped mitigate this somewhat, I found myself grinding far more than I felt was fun. By the end of the game, I simply felt overwhelmed as the difficulty combined with an overly complex skill system. Sure, I felt rewarded after I beat it, but the next time I play through this game, I'll replace the memory battery in the original cart and play it on my SNES. Full Review »