User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 75
  2. Negative: 9 out of 75

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 25, 2011
    4
    Is there any possibility for Squenix to actually make a real sequel to the original? I hate to be racist, but I actually enjoyed the total lack of humanoids in the original. Fix the speed issue, ditch some absurdly unbalanced classes, tack in a few that were skipped, and leave the JP system alone. I enjoy various forms of weapon-involving martial arts, and I can't remember the last time I learned techniques directly from my equipment. For just once, Square Enix, give us more of what was actually good. By using three cheat codes, this game goes straight to an 8 rating. #1 - Judges do nothing. @2 - Unlock all jobs. #3 - Enemy stat modifier for non-story battles (x2). Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2011
    8
    Final Fantasy Tactics is an interesting RPG title that mixes standard Final Fantasy elements with strategy chess-like elements which blend well together well to create a unique experience. There are two previous titles in this series called Final Fantasy Tactics (PS1/PSP) and Final Fantasy Tactics Advance (GBA) and all three of the games all have a different feel and gameplay to them so if you are a fan of one of them, try out the others as well. The point of the game is to more or less build an army of many races and classes and use them to complete the story, tournaments and a long list of quests while leveling up your party, teaching them new abilities and upgrading equipment to keep up with enemies. The law system is revised from the GBA prequel and a bit easier to deal with, new races, classes, abilities and equipment have been added, a gambling minigame for ownership of continents in the game and rare equipment has been added and even a new Hard Mode difficulty setting if Normal Mode is too easy. The music is beautifully composed and the graphics and special effects are nice to look at. The story isn't that great but since its on an Nintendo console, it is expected to not be at an adult level. If you are the type of person who likes strategy and/or RPG titles and/or a game that has a long length with a lot to do and collect, you will probably enjoy this game. Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    After playing FFT, FFTA, and now FFTA2 I must say the game is an incredible addition to the line up. I love the graphics and the creativity they put in these games. The large amount of content is the biggest feature for me. I have clocked 150+ hours in to every FFT game, and this game is nothing short of that length. The story isn't too long, allowing you to dig right into all the grinding you'd like to do to improve your team like most FFT players like to do. I enjoy the job improvements especially and I hope that the next FFTA adds even more features. Square Enix has recently gone down hill (FFXIII), lets hope that doesn't mean some of their new titles will also. I love strategy games, and this is definitely on my top 10. Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    I don't care what the storyline is, I'll always love Final Fantasy Tactics in all its incarnations. Best game evar. No one does tactics games like Final Fantasy. Tactics Ogre and Omnimusha Tactics are just cheap imitations.
  5. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    Excellent game. Charismatic graphics. Cool magics and abilities. And many fun. Many secrets and many no obligatory quests. The main story of the game is no good. But... the quests build a story apart. And its the real good story of the game. And it's amazing. I spend with ease 120 hours in this game and no get everything yet.
  6. Feb 24, 2012
    5
    A decent offering in the game play department, but the storyline and writing are just utterly intolerable. There was potential, but I believe the first game was a better offering.
  7. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    Absolutely fantastic title. I bought it because I played the original FFTA for a dozen of hours though never got it very far, so I liked the idea. Then I got the DS and thought this kind of games are ideal for a portable. I think it is the best game on the system I had. Excellent visuals, very nice sounds and music, interesting story, incredible amount of content (quests, items, classes, skills), slick turn based combat. Sometimes challenging, sometimes easy, but in the end I got over 90 hours of gameplay after I beat finished story, though I could easily got a lot more if I were to get back and completed remaining side-quests and get all the special characters. It has some minor shortcomings too, but overall it is the latest and paramount installment of the series, recommended for all RPG and strategy fans! Expand
  8. May 2, 2014
    8
    Love me some FF Tactics. Gets way too easy after too little of a time, but overall a gem of a strategy game. This sentence is just to stretch the review out to meet the 150 character minimum criteria.
  9. Jul 14, 2013
    5
    This game is great. It's fun, and the class system allows for huge customization. The one drawback this game has would have to be a few of the enemies. Basically, if you are fighting anything that is undead(especially ghosts) expect to be in a battle for an hour as opposed to the 10-20 minute normal battles. They will come back to life and have a lot of very annoying abilities. I've quit out of the game just because of fights with these before. Expand
  10. Feb 18, 2014
    5
    Final Fantasy Tactics is my favorite game of all time. Advance was probably my favorite GBA game. After those two, this game is a... disappointment, to say the least. The characters, story, and jobs are all pretty bland, but hey, so were the first Advance's. No big deal. But this entry gets something critically wrong- It's insanely easy. Like, mind-numbingly easy. I played through most of the game on autopilot before finally asking myself "what the f**k am I doing?" and returning it. FFT can kick your ass all day, FFTA's boss battles can make you weep for mercy, but this game hands you victory on a silver platter. Ultimately, the game has nothing particularly WRONG with it, I just couldn't squeeze an ounce of joy out of it. The folks who don't enjoy FFT's difficulty might enjoy this (nothing against you, I had a friend in which this was exactly the case), but I just can't enjoy it. Expand
  11. Oct 26, 2014
    10
    Beware the Flowsand Lord! 30-40 battles in you face a rare boss fight. And this one will keep you from continuing the game it's so hard unless, you play the clan trials. So don't overlook the clan trials. Apart from that the music is good if a little cheery, the graphics are excellently vibrant, the game is a lot more challenging, and deep, than War of the Lions.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. As a result, although Grimoire of the Rift is another solid effort that's sure to scratch your tactical itch, the original Tactics remains the pinnacle of the series. [July 2008, p.86]
  2. 80
    With its deep Clan system and 400 missions worth of downright addictive quests, I can't help but recommend it. [July 2008, p.82]
  3. It remains worth it for all of the reasons that made the original Tactics so engrossing: Switching between different jobs, mastering new abilities from your gear, and recruiting and building your clan all remain as appealing as ever. [July 2008, p.82]