User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 112
  2. Negative: 19 out of 112
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. anb
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Outstanding game. Despite that the main plot is kinda childish, the game in general is soo deep with a lot of quest, skills, jobs etc and with a really great attention to details spiced up with really gorgeous artwork and music. Must have.
  2. SmamulusC.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    If you loved the first one, this will not let you down. Caution: Addictive as hell.
  3. RhodyT.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    Definitely the best Final Fantasy Tactics game. Fixes the horrible balancing and technical issues from FFT and the law system from FFTA. Also does away with the dispatch missions almost entirely, allowing you to do them manually if you choose to. Great game all around.
  4. KenH.
    Jun 30, 2008
    9
    A very forgettable story doesnt kill the excellent strategy aspects of the game. I have some minor quibbles. I wouldnt mind a fast play option that speeds up the combat animations. It takes too long for every character to walk, then hit and then the reaction after the hit. And you'll be playing for a 10 hours with your characters doing not a whole more than simple default "attack" A very forgettable story doesnt kill the excellent strategy aspects of the game. I have some minor quibbles. I wouldnt mind a fast play option that speeds up the combat animations. It takes too long for every character to walk, then hit and then the reaction after the hit. And you'll be playing for a 10 hours with your characters doing not a whole more than simple default "attack" moves. After that you get lots of interesting choices about how to build your team. I would have have been happy to miss those first 10 hours of the game. Expand
  5. WayneE.
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    You really get sucked into a different world.
  6. BrandonS.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    A step up from both the original Final Fantasy Tactics and Advanced, having the best of both... Except for a few minor flaws. Still a very good game, and it's one of those games for the DS that you cannot go without.
  7. SteveM
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    Though FFTA2 may not be perfect, the reason a game should get a 10 is not because it's perfect, but because it is simply a really, really well put together product. This game is just that...it reeks of Square Enix polish, looks great, sounds great, play great, and will last you for over a hundred hours if you're willing to invest it. I'm not much for boring, technical Though FFTA2 may not be perfect, the reason a game should get a 10 is not because it's perfect, but because it is simply a really, really well put together product. This game is just that...it reeks of Square Enix polish, looks great, sounds great, play great, and will last you for over a hundred hours if you're willing to invest it. I'm not much for boring, technical reviews; I prefer to express an emotional response to games...so here it is: if you love Final Fantasy, and you love strategy RPG's, and you love deep character customization, you will find yourself playing this game with a smile on your face the entire time. It will bring you much happiness and satisfaction, provided you're a patient individual. An excellent DS game. Expand
  8. Sep 25, 2011
    4
    Is there any possibility for Squenix to actually make a real sequel to the original? I hate to be racist, but I actually enjoyed the total lack of humanoids in the original. Fix the speed issue, ditch some absurdly unbalanced classes, tack in a few that were skipped, and leave the JP system alone. I enjoy various forms of weapon-involving martial arts, and I can't remember the last timeIs there any possibility for Squenix to actually make a real sequel to the original? I hate to be racist, but I actually enjoyed the total lack of humanoids in the original. Fix the speed issue, ditch some absurdly unbalanced classes, tack in a few that were skipped, and leave the JP system alone. I enjoy various forms of weapon-involving martial arts, and I can't remember the last time I learned techniques directly from my equipment. For just once, Square Enix, give us more of what was actually good. By using three cheat codes, this game goes straight to an 8 rating. #1 - Judges do nothing. @2 - Unlock all jobs. #3 - Enemy stat modifier for non-story battles (x2). Expand
  9. AllenH.
    Jun 29, 2008
    2
    No matter what anyone says, no matter how many improvements and nice little tweaks it's gotten as opposed to FFTA, I can't stand this game. I've exchanged it after a paltry 20 hours of play that felt like straining myself through barbed wire chain link fencing anytime I was in combat. Those looking for this game to be true to the original FFT will be equally disappointed. No matter what anyone says, no matter how many improvements and nice little tweaks it's gotten as opposed to FFTA, I can't stand this game. I've exchanged it after a paltry 20 hours of play that felt like straining myself through barbed wire chain link fencing anytime I was in combat. Those looking for this game to be true to the original FFT will be equally disappointed. Don't get me wrong, it's better than the disgusting and unplayable mess that was FFTA, it maintains the insufferable judge system. While the penalties for violating the arbitrary rules are not so severe anymore, the Judges still completely suck the fun right out of the game. Despite the incredibly superior legacy of the original, it is a rental at best, and pass if you're wise. Though I guess if you liked FFTA, you'll be pleased. Expand
  10. EricL
    Oct 10, 2009
    0
    This is probably the worst game I've ever played since Onechanbara: Bikini Sammurai Squad. Each character has such a limited number of attacks, and there is no origionality anywhere. The story is forgettable, but complaining about that would be complaining about a Resident Evil story, so I shouldn't mind that too much, and I THINK the cutscenes are skippable, but I haven'tThis is probably the worst game I've ever played since Onechanbara: Bikini Sammurai Squad. Each character has such a limited number of attacks, and there is no origionality anywhere. The story is forgettable, but complaining about that would be complaining about a Resident Evil story, so I shouldn't mind that too much, and I THINK the cutscenes are skippable, but I haven't played it in a while (for good reason) so I can't remember. Also, why do I have to pay to do side-quests? Shouldn't it be the other way around? The graphics are okay, but it doesn't save the hypnoticly boring gameplay. Also, WHY does my last name have to be Clemet? Kamacho Clemet. Rolls right off the tongue (sarcasm). Why can't I custimize that to be something else like "Michaels", or "Obama", or "McNugget" or ANYTHING BUT CLEMET!! Expand
  11. Feb 18, 2014
    5
    Final Fantasy Tactics is my favorite game of all time. Advance was probably my favorite GBA game. After those two, this game is a... disappointment, to say the least. The characters, story, and jobs are all pretty bland, but hey, so were the first Advance's. No big deal. But this entry gets something critically wrong- It's insanely easy. Like, mind-numbingly easy. I played through most ofFinal Fantasy Tactics is my favorite game of all time. Advance was probably my favorite GBA game. After those two, this game is a... disappointment, to say the least. The characters, story, and jobs are all pretty bland, but hey, so were the first Advance's. No big deal. But this entry gets something critically wrong- It's insanely easy. Like, mind-numbingly easy. I played through most of the game on autopilot before finally asking myself "what the f**k am I doing?" and returning it. FFT can kick your ass all day, FFTA's boss battles can make you weep for mercy, but this game hands you victory on a silver platter. Ultimately, the game has nothing particularly WRONG with it, I just couldn't squeeze an ounce of joy out of it. The folks who don't enjoy FFT's difficulty might enjoy this (nothing against you, I had a friend in which this was exactly the case), but I just can't enjoy it. Expand
  12. Lev
    Aug 20, 2008
    8
    I think that FFTA2 was an improvement over the FFTA for the gba, and I don't think it should be compared to the original FFT for the psx, because the two are just totally different despite using a similar system. So why did I like this game? Probably because the fun factor was pretty high. Managing your own little fantasy army of strange creatures while walking around in a lively I think that FFTA2 was an improvement over the FFTA for the gba, and I don't think it should be compared to the original FFT for the psx, because the two are just totally different despite using a similar system. So why did I like this game? Probably because the fun factor was pretty high. Managing your own little fantasy army of strange creatures while walking around in a lively world doing small quests really brought out the inner child in me. The fact that the game didn't have a normal plot didn't really bother me, because the characters itself had life in them, they were active without being overly happy-happy, (the only one I didn't like was Hurdy) not to mention the many returning side characters during quets who were also fun. And the dialogues were also well written and entertaining. It had no philosophical or whatever kind of depth to it, but I don't think that's a necessity for something to be fun. Expand
  13. AaronS
    Sep 4, 2008
    8
    This is a pretty decent game, and can be scarily involving at times. The strategy elements are a little basic at first, but soon becomes more complicated as the game progresses. I would also like to add that the judgment system, I think, compliments the battles rather well, and there is great satisfaction to be had from keeping within the law. It takes a while, but once you have a full This is a pretty decent game, and can be scarily involving at times. The strategy elements are a little basic at first, but soon becomes more complicated as the game progresses. I would also like to add that the judgment system, I think, compliments the battles rather well, and there is great satisfaction to be had from keeping within the law. It takes a while, but once you have a full clan of units, and a varied amount of jobs and abilities to play with, the game takes on a whole new addictive level. Expand
  14. StevenM.
    Jun 25, 2008
    7
    With the success of Final Fantasy Tactics Advance, I suppose I'm not surprised that Square Enix did very little to change the formula. Yes, I was perhaps being a little unrealistic when I had hoped that they would take a step back and create a game more similar to the original Final Fantasy Tactics... One that would engross the player in story full of twists, emotions, and With the success of Final Fantasy Tactics Advance, I suppose I'm not surprised that Square Enix did very little to change the formula. Yes, I was perhaps being a little unrealistic when I had hoped that they would take a step back and create a game more similar to the original Final Fantasy Tactics... One that would engross the player in story full of twists, emotions, and unforgettable characters. Instead, we have another iteration of a watered down strategy game, with tactical features that are burdensome rather than challenging (Laws, inability to hire at will, ability system managed via items, shop inventories meticulously attained through a menial system). Overall, it's still a very addictive game. Hence the score of seven. Seven isn't a bad score. It's a damn good game, just not what it could have been. Expand
  15. JoshE.
    Jul 14, 2008
    7
    Still pales in comparison to the original Playstation version, but an improvement over FFTA in terms of gameplay and the more tolerable, but still lame, judge system. Many of the assets were reused from FFTA, which seems pretty lazy (The music is exactly the same). It still looks good though (The portraits are all new and look great), so that makes all of the other repeat graphics and Still pales in comparison to the original Playstation version, but an improvement over FFTA in terms of gameplay and the more tolerable, but still lame, judge system. Many of the assets were reused from FFTA, which seems pretty lazy (The music is exactly the same). It still looks good though (The portraits are all new and look great), so that makes all of the other repeat graphics and sound less annoying. Expand
  16. Jan 4, 2011
    8
    Final Fantasy Tactics is an interesting RPG title that mixes standard Final Fantasy elements with strategy chess-like elements which blend well together well to create a unique experience. There are two previous titles in this series called Final Fantasy Tactics (PS1/PSP) and Final Fantasy Tactics Advance (GBA) and all three of the games all have a different feel and gameplay to them so ifFinal Fantasy Tactics is an interesting RPG title that mixes standard Final Fantasy elements with strategy chess-like elements which blend well together well to create a unique experience. There are two previous titles in this series called Final Fantasy Tactics (PS1/PSP) and Final Fantasy Tactics Advance (GBA) and all three of the games all have a different feel and gameplay to them so if you are a fan of one of them, try out the others as well. The point of the game is to more or less build an army of many races and classes and use them to complete the story, tournaments and a long list of quests while leveling up your party, teaching them new abilities and upgrading equipment to keep up with enemies. The law system is revised from the GBA prequel and a bit easier to deal with, new races, classes, abilities and equipment have been added, a gambling minigame for ownership of continents in the game and rare equipment has been added and even a new Hard Mode difficulty setting if Normal Mode is too easy. The music is beautifully composed and the graphics and special effects are nice to look at. The story isn't that great but since its on an Nintendo console, it is expected to not be at an adult level. If you are the type of person who likes strategy and/or RPG titles and/or a game that has a long length with a lot to do and collect, you will probably enjoy this game. Expand
  17. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    After playing FFT, FFTA, and now FFTA2 I must say the game is an incredible addition to the line up. I love the graphics and the creativity they put in these games. The large amount of content is the biggest feature for me. I have clocked 150+ hours in to every FFT game, and this game is nothing short of that length. The story isn't too long, allowing you to dig right into all the grindingAfter playing FFT, FFTA, and now FFTA2 I must say the game is an incredible addition to the line up. I love the graphics and the creativity they put in these games. The large amount of content is the biggest feature for me. I have clocked 150+ hours in to every FFT game, and this game is nothing short of that length. The story isn't too long, allowing you to dig right into all the grinding you'd like to do to improve your team like most FFT players like to do. I enjoy the job improvements especially and I hope that the next FFTA adds even more features. Square Enix has recently gone down hill (FFXIII), lets hope that doesn't mean some of their new titles will also. I love strategy games, and this is definitely on my top 10. Expand
  18. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    I don't care what the storyline is, I'll always love Final Fantasy Tactics in all its incarnations. Best game evar. No one does tactics games like Final Fantasy. Tactics Ogre and Omnimusha Tactics are just cheap imitations.
  19. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    Excellent game. Charismatic graphics. Cool magics and abilities. And many fun. Many secrets and many no obligatory quests. The main story of the game is no good. But... the quests build a story apart. And its the real good story of the game. And it's amazing. I spend with ease 120 hours in this game and no get everything yet.
  20. Feb 24, 2012
    5
    A decent offering in the game play department, but the storyline and writing are just utterly intolerable. There was potential, but I believe the first game was a better offering.
  21. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    Absolutely fantastic title. I bought it because I played the original FFTA for a dozen of hours though never got it very far, so I liked the idea. Then I got the DS and thought this kind of games are ideal for a portable. I think it is the best game on the system I had. Excellent visuals, very nice sounds and music, interesting story, incredible amount of content (quests, items, classes,Absolutely fantastic title. I bought it because I played the original FFTA for a dozen of hours though never got it very far, so I liked the idea. Then I got the DS and thought this kind of games are ideal for a portable. I think it is the best game on the system I had. Excellent visuals, very nice sounds and music, interesting story, incredible amount of content (quests, items, classes, skills), slick turn based combat. Sometimes challenging, sometimes easy, but in the end I got over 90 hours of gameplay after I beat finished story, though I could easily got a lot more if I were to get back and completed remaining side-quests and get all the special characters. It has some minor shortcomings too, but overall it is the latest and paramount installment of the series, recommended for all RPG and strategy fans! Expand
  22. May 2, 2014
    8
    Love me some FF Tactics. Gets way too easy after too little of a time, but overall a gem of a strategy game. This sentence is just to stretch the review out to meet the 150 character minimum criteria.
  23. Jul 14, 2013
    5
    This game is great. It's fun, and the class system allows for huge customization. The one drawback this game has would have to be a few of the enemies. Basically, if you are fighting anything that is undead(especially ghosts) expect to be in a battle for an hour as opposed to the 10-20 minute normal battles. They will come back to life and have a lot of very annoying abilities. I've quitThis game is great. It's fun, and the class system allows for huge customization. The one drawback this game has would have to be a few of the enemies. Basically, if you are fighting anything that is undead(especially ghosts) expect to be in a battle for an hour as opposed to the 10-20 minute normal battles. They will come back to life and have a lot of very annoying abilities. I've quit out of the game just because of fights with these before. Expand
  24. Oct 26, 2014
    10
    Beware the Flowsand Lord! 30-40 battles in you face a rare boss fight. And this one will keep you from continuing the game it's so hard unless, you play the clan trials. So don't overlook the clan trials. Apart from that the music is good if a little cheery, the graphics are excellently vibrant, the game is a lot more challenging, and deep, than War of the Lions.
  25. Mar 1, 2016
    2
    So you will know what type of gamer is writing this review, I'll list three of my favorite games.

    Danganronpa Fire Emblem  Atelier Totori.  I'll say this first, I can't understand why this game got such a great score. This game score blew my mind.  You should also know I didn't finish this game. I got about 10 hours into it and called it quits. THE GOOD: Music was subpar,
    So you will know what type of gamer is writing this review, I'll list three of my favorite games.

    Danganronpa
    Fire Emblem 
    Atelier Totori. 

    I'll say this first, I can't understand why this game got such a great score. This game score blew my mind. 
    You should also know I didn't finish this game. I got about 10 hours into it and called it quits.

    THE GOOD:

    Music was subpar, not really good but not bad

    THE BAD:

    STORY: Story was bland. Also had horrible dialogue. I felt like it insulted my intelligence. Was childish and very bland. Maybe a child could enjoy the dialogue but I don't think any adult could enjoy it. 

    CHARACTER CAST: Horrible characters. The main character is a cocky little boy. The little boys mentor is some brown creature with a big nose named Cid. Who just happened to find the little boy in the forest all alone and asked him to join his clan and then all was good and everyone was happy. That's the kinda dialogue I warned about. Other units you recruit are just as bad. A hound dog in knights armor. A brown creature in mages robe. A shark with a hatchet! I just couldn't enjoy playing with these types of characters. 

    GAMEPLAY: Game play wasn't great either. Was far too slow paced and there was no way to speed up the battles. The game play just felt like I was doing one boring quest after another.  

    CLOSING COMMENTS:

    There are quiet a few other games that beat out this game in every way. Luminous Arc 1 and 2 are great games with almost the exact gameplay. Fire Emblem series are rather similar to these games as well.
    I'm a hard core rpg gamer and I couldn't even sit through this. I've played many many rpgs that aren't necessarily great or fun to play. I truly regret buying this game. I would rather sit in a car in a parking lot and watch pigeons eat fast food strewn over the asphalt than play this game. Yes, I really did watch those pigeons instead of playing this game.

    That wraps his review up, hope it helps.
    Expand
  26. Dec 16, 2015
    5
    Despite the gorgeous visuals, nice character design and polished gameplay, you can feel the lack of Yasumi Matsuno's genius. Still, this game delivers exactly what it promised. It's a charming time-waster and it's fun to experiment with the gameplay system, trying all the jobs and mastering your characters. True to it's name, it feels like a grimoire of stories of common folk that lived inDespite the gorgeous visuals, nice character design and polished gameplay, you can feel the lack of Yasumi Matsuno's genius. Still, this game delivers exactly what it promised. It's a charming time-waster and it's fun to experiment with the gameplay system, trying all the jobs and mastering your characters. True to it's name, it feels like a grimoire of stories of common folk that lived in Ivalice. Each quest text and notice has a simple but well-written short tale. Just don't expect anything deep or memorable out of here. You could try the original Final Fantasy Tactics for that. Expand
  27. Jun 2, 2016
    6
    Compared to FFTA1 this game is poor. FFTA1 was actually the first FF game I ever played and since then I was hooked on the FF series. The graphics are good, gameplay is similar (don't know why they make it so easy with hit percentages and damage though). The musical score is poor compared to no 1 and the storyline and characters are absolutely terrible compared to no1. The game feltCompared to FFTA1 this game is poor. FFTA1 was actually the first FF game I ever played and since then I was hooked on the FF series. The graphics are good, gameplay is similar (don't know why they make it so easy with hit percentages and damage though). The musical score is poor compared to no 1 and the storyline and characters are absolutely terrible compared to no1. The game felt endless, I swear I did hundreds and hundreds of quests and the boss fights were a bit too easy. They made the game too complex with too many jobs and the shop system is stupid. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed DS Game of 2008
#2 Most Shared DS Game of 2008
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Nintendo Power
    70
    As a result, although Grimoire of the Rift is another solid effort that's sure to scratch your tactical itch, the original Tactics remains the pinnacle of the series. [July 2008, p.86]
  2. 80
    With its deep Clan system and 400 missions worth of downright addictive quests, I can't help but recommend it. [July 2008, p.82]
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    70
    It remains worth it for all of the reasons that made the original Tactics so engrossing: Switching between different jobs, mastering new abilities from your gear, and recruiting and building your clan all remain as appealing as ever. [July 2008, p.82]