Final Fantasy Tactics A2: Grimoire of the Rift Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: School is out for the summer, but mischievous Luso Clemens must first face detention to make up for his misbehavior. Alone in the library, he stumbles upon an ancient book with magical powers that summons him to the mystical land of Ivalice. Warped into the middle of a battlefield, LusoSchool is out for the summer, but mischievous Luso Clemens must first face detention to make up for his misbehavior. Alone in the library, he stumbles upon an ancient book with magical powers that summons him to the mystical land of Ivalice. Warped into the middle of a battlefield, Luso joins Cid and his clan to set off on an adventurous journey looking for a way home. Explore the fantastic world of Ivalice and join forces with famous heroes from FINAL FANTASY XII – Vaan, Penelo and Al-Cid. All-new content and enhancements, including polished game mechanics, new jobs, new classes, and a new clan system that enrich the Ivalice experience for fans and newcomers alike. The North American release will allow players to command characters in battle and navigate through menus all with a tap of the stylus
    Witness vibrant and colorful visuals in dual-screen presentation, made possible by Nintendo DS. Increased replay value with up to 400 available quests, allowing players to immerse themselves in a multi-faceted storyline. [Square Enix]
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It is a great crossover title and has appeal both as an Ivalice adventure and as a full-throttle tactics title.
  2. A great addition to the Final Fantasy Tactics family. Gaming on the go never felt more fun than having an army of sprites fighting on your side.
  3. It's a daunting pospect but there are rewards for the brave here. This is a classy, addictive and sophticated RPG. [Aug 2008, p.78]
  4. Good-class and nice looking fantasy turn-based strategy game with very simple controls, but with a lot of possibilities, missions and tasks. It’s definitely a long-time run. [Aug 2008]
  5. With a whopping 400 quests total, it's amazing that the gameplay never gets stale during the 100+ hours it's going to take you to complete A2.
  6. In fact, games such as these are really losing their style due to the fact that they're sometimes too long—FFTA2 should actually take you 30-40 hours to finish, while taking more than 80 if you intend on finishing every mission and finding every nook and cranny with the job system.
  7. 65
    With a game like FFTA2 it's not really about the why as the how, only it's a bit too simplistic and uninteresting to make a winning formula.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. anb
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Outstanding game. Despite that the main plot is kinda childish, the game in general is soo deep with a lot of quest, skills, jobs etc and Outstanding game. Despite that the main plot is kinda childish, the game in general is soo deep with a lot of quest, skills, jobs etc and with a really great attention to details spiced up with really gorgeous artwork and music. Must have. Collapse
  2. Oct 26, 2014
    10
    Beware the Flowsand Lord! 30-40 battles in you face a rare boss fight. And this one will keep you from continuing the game it's so hardBeware the Flowsand Lord! 30-40 battles in you face a rare boss fight. And this one will keep you from continuing the game it's so hard unless, you play the clan trials. So don't overlook the clan trials. Apart from that the music is good if a little cheery, the graphics are excellently vibrant, the game is a lot more challenging, and deep, than War of the Lions. Expand
  3. BrandonS.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    A step up from both the original Final Fantasy Tactics and Advanced, having the best of both... Except for a few minor flaws. Still a very A step up from both the original Final Fantasy Tactics and Advanced, having the best of both... Except for a few minor flaws. Still a very good game, and it's one of those games for the DS that you cannot go without. Expand
  4. Lev
    Aug 20, 2008
    8
    I think that FFTA2 was an improvement over the FFTA for the gba, and I don't think it should be compared to the original FFT for the I think that FFTA2 was an improvement over the FFTA for the gba, and I don't think it should be compared to the original FFT for the psx, because the two are just totally different despite using a similar system. So why did I like this game? Probably because the fun factor was pretty high. Managing your own little fantasy army of strange creatures while walking around in a lively world doing small quests really brought out the inner child in me. The fact that the game didn't have a normal plot didn't really bother me, because the characters itself had life in them, they were active without being overly happy-happy, (the only one I didn't like was Hurdy) not to mention the many returning side characters during quets who were also fun. And the dialogues were also well written and entertaining. It had no philosophical or whatever kind of depth to it, but I don't think that's a necessity for something to be fun. Expand
  5. May 2, 2014
    8
    Love me some FF Tactics. Gets way too easy after too little of a time, but overall a gem of a strategy game. This sentence is just toLove me some FF Tactics. Gets way too easy after too little of a time, but overall a gem of a strategy game. This sentence is just to stretch the review out to meet the 150 character minimum criteria. Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2014
    5
    Final Fantasy Tactics is my favorite game of all time. Advance was probably my favorite GBA game. After those two, this game is a...Final Fantasy Tactics is my favorite game of all time. Advance was probably my favorite GBA game. After those two, this game is a... disappointment, to say the least. The characters, story, and jobs are all pretty bland, but hey, so were the first Advance's. No big deal. But this entry gets something critically wrong- It's insanely easy. Like, mind-numbingly easy. I played through most of the game on autopilot before finally asking myself "what the f**k am I doing?" and returning it. FFT can kick your ass all day, FFTA's boss battles can make you weep for mercy, but this game hands you victory on a silver platter. Ultimately, the game has nothing particularly WRONG with it, I just couldn't squeeze an ounce of joy out of it. The folks who don't enjoy FFT's difficulty might enjoy this (nothing against you, I had a friend in which this was exactly the case), but I just can't enjoy it. Expand
  7. EricL
    Oct 10, 2009
    0
    This is probably the worst game I've ever played since Onechanbara: Bikini Sammurai Squad. Each character has such a limited number ofThis is probably the worst game I've ever played since Onechanbara: Bikini Sammurai Squad. Each character has such a limited number of attacks, and there is no origionality anywhere. The story is forgettable, but complaining about that would be complaining about a Resident Evil story, so I shouldn't mind that too much, and I THINK the cutscenes are skippable, but I haven't played it in a while (for good reason) so I can't remember. Also, why do I have to pay to do side-quests? Shouldn't it be the other way around? The graphics are okay, but it doesn't save the hypnoticly boring gameplay. Also, WHY does my last name have to be Clemet? Kamacho Clemet. Rolls right off the tongue (sarcasm). Why can't I custimize that to be something else like "Michaels", or "Obama", or "McNugget" or ANYTHING BUT CLEMET!! Expand

See all 24 User Reviews