Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With FINAL FANTASY: THE 4 HEROES OF LIGHT, the FINAL FANTASY series is rendered anew as an epic storybook adventure by the creators of the FINAL FANTASY III and FINAL FANTASY IV Nintendo DS remakes. Players will enter a beautiful fairy-tale world featuring illustrations and character designs by acclaimed character designer Akihiko Yoshida (FINAL FANTASY III for DS, FINAL FANTASY XII). Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light is certainly an interesting experience when it comes to many of its unique gameplay mechanics, but the game's overflowing sense of charm and hardcore level of challenge make it an irresistible experience for seasoned RPG fans.
  2. But Heroes Of Light transcends these hiccups, and its oversimplified nature, to become a vital portable Final Fantasy title.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    If you've been dying for a classic Final Fantasy title that's closer in mechanics to Final Fantasy IV than Final Fantasy XIII, you'll enjoy 4 Heroes of Light. If you despise retro RPG conventions, 4 Heroes is not for you unless you really want to morph into a chicken.
  4. It takes some time to get off the ground, but this traditional-style role-playing game is an enjoyable flight of fancy and fantasy.
  5. For everything the game does right, though, there's the pervasive, underlying whiff of a brand in crisis.
  6. So, maybe this isn't really a Final Fantasy game. It doesn't really matter, because 4 Heroes is supremely challenging and occasionally inventive - and what recent, successful Final Fantasy game can you really say that about?
  7. Dec 19, 2010
    40
    So indebted is dev studio Matrix to the old ways that it seems to have granted a free pass to the old problems. Quest signposting is buried in unclear dialogue snippets, bosses are beaten through trial and error, and grinding is rife. [Dec 2010, p.99]

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    The 4 Heroes of Light is everything you love about old school RPGs, requiring a lot of exploring with a just-big-enough world to explore and a hint of guidance. It comes wrapped in a deceptively cute aesthetic, with lush, painterly graphics which I hope to see more of from Square. Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    This game is a lot of fun. For potential gamers, be forewarned that there is a lot of grinding (fighting tons of battles to boost your level before progressing) HOWEVER the battle system is fun and challenging. If you're an avid RPG player who rarely uses revive,phoenix down, etc. be prepared to change that. Your people will die. The game play and presentation takes me back to old school RPGs which I love. It's without all the added frills of today's games, but with a core of amazing appeal. I have not beaten the game, but from what I have played thus far the story is interesting. You cannot completely choose your target in battle, which is a little frustration and there aren't multiple save slots so if you mess up on one and then save, you cannot revert to a previous save. Those are really my only two "complaints" about the game and those are barely worth mentioning. If you're a Final Fantasy fan or just an RPG fan, buy this game and enjoy. If you haven't previously been into RPGs I would more than likely not recommend this as a starter in the genre, but if you play some more accessible RPGs and love them, then perhaps you can come back to this little gem. As with most games, it will be waiting. Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2010
    9
    This game is not like modern day games whereby it is easy to move through a dungeon.
    This game has complicated dungeons whereby the maps are
    huge and it is hard to move through them.
    The crown system in this game, is truly remarkable as players can try to use many different jobs rather than sticking to one throughout the whole game which many games have these days.
    The graphics of this game is quite appealing too, although some of the major towns and cities are abit messy. For example, players of the game should know the town of Urbeth, which is very messy (the shops are all spread out).
    However, the point where monsters level up as you level up, I feel, is one of the best gifts of this game. This function is not only rarely seen in such games, but is also a function that people can appreciate and not get bored of. Reason being is that players need to grind at certain points of the game. If the monsters levels are not boosted, grinding would be very hard. This function thus enables players to grind easier. However, one thing that I don't like is the lack of space to hold items. (A total of sixty items for four characters; that's pretty little).
    Collapse
  4. Oct 5, 2012
    8
    This game takes almost every note from ff 3 and 4 remakes for the ds, if you liked them you will like this one, people say this game is hard, really it isn't if you manage to finish any of the other ff games u will finish this Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2010
    8
    This game is a surprise to me, as I typically don't find myself drawn to what appears to be a gimmicky RPG, and based on the graphics and advertised anachronistic gameplay, this definitely looked gimmicky. But after a few hours, I find myself engrossed. The story is light, true, but the game play and graphics really shine. Most of the issues that I've read in reviews are in some ways a new way to play for a lot of younger gamers raised on easier RPGs like Pokemon or Paper Mario. I would recommend this game to anyone either seeking some nostalgia or looking for a solid challenge. Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    The style and look of this game is wonderful. As I played through It feels very reminiscent of FF3 (one of my favorite rpgs especially the ds version). It's a nice nod to the classics in terms of mood, but different enough in game play too not feel like your playing the same old game. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    4
    This is huge disappointment for me. When i don´t count terrible music and graphics which hurt my eyes, I still have to hate characters who act completely unreal (and annoying) stupid story and extremely unbalanced difficulty. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews